We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it will definitely go back!”
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #22 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a gorgeous meal here,. It happened to be my birthday as well and the staff arranged champagne, dessert with birthday candles and all came out of the kitchen to sing happy birthday. A beautiful setting, fabulous food and reasonable priced.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank am S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 408 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Once you enter Essaouira you will fall in love with the charm and beauty of the city and Riad Dar L'oussia made my holiday even more memorable and it was just like a home away from home.
Great location, only 5 minutes walk from the port and the Old Medina.
Gorgeous and well appointed rooms , beautiful lobby, and beautiful interior of the restaurant and i love most the roof top breakfast area which commands a great view of the Atlantic coast & the port . Watch out for the wonderful seagulls , they may join you for breakfast too!

Great place to relax and i have decided to let my group stay for 2 nights instead of 1 night just
because of Dar L'oussia. Staffs are friendly and always giving you full attention and do not hesitate to book a room there.

Room Tip: The higher floors you go, the lesser steps you have to take for breakfast as it's located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank afifahShahAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel, excellent kitchen, very friendly and helpful staff.
Everything we had wished for.
Staff went beyond their duties in returning my phone back to my home address when I found out I had left it there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hods73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I had a lovely stay before new year with friends. I am originally from Essaouira and took my English friends to Dar L'Oussia and they were very happy with the choice. The position is wonderful, the rooms were excellent - warm and comfortable - and only two minutes walk from the car park outside the walls.

Rajaa, the manager, was welcoming and looked after us very professionally, and the service throughout was first class.

Essaid

Room Tip: All rooms seemed very comfortable. More sun on upper floors if you are ok with the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essaid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A group of us spent a happy three days at Dar L'Oussia at the end of 2012. Normally, riads in Essaouira can be damp but this one was warm and welcoming. The riad has been rebuilt within an ancient building and even has under-floor heating; very nice on winter nights in this windy resort. Adequate breakfasts on the roof terrace, nice when its sunny, but can be a bit windswept, and four flights up: not so good for the infirm.

Rooms comfortable, service and welcome warm, spa and hammam good value. Bar very pleasant although we took space by the logfire in the salon/dining room. The riad is wonderfully positioned, just inside one of the main gates to the medina, near the main square and virtually overlooking the sea and the port. Everything within walking distance.

All in all a good find, comfort paired with tradition. The whole experience represented good value and we will definitely return. Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed there for about two weeks with two kids. The people working there were very friendly. The rooms service was good. The room and bathroom were cleaned everyday.

The restaurant situated in Riad was very nice. The meals very delicious and sphere and decoration was very authentic.

The Riad is situated in a very nice location, next to the beach and close to medina. I will recommend this place not only for singles but also for families with kids.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TwaalfJuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at Riad Dar L'Oussia with My Mum on a Groupon deal. We were very pleasantly surprised as the Riad is beautiful and set around a light, airy courtyard. Our room was a little dark inside as there were no windows to the exterior, just the door and window into the central courtyard. But it was well furnished with a simple yet stylish adjoining bathroom. We had breakfast on the roof terrace every morning, which afforded stunning views across the harbour, beach and town. The Riad is well situated just inside one of the entrances to the Medina, so it's only a 5 minute walk to the markets, harbour or beach. The staff were all very friendly and knowledgable and I'd definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: If there are rooms with external windows, these are probably lighter than those with only courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 75 in Essaouira
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
772 reviews
0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $79 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing