We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place in the Medina for a choosy family”
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

My family and I have just stayed for 4 nights (22 -25) at the Riad Watier. This was not only our first time in Essaouira but our first time in Morocco and the very first place in which we stayed. I have no hesitation in recommending Essaouira and this property to anyone especially as a place to ease yourself into Morocco. It´s a cosy, welcoming hotel with the owner Jean Gabriel and his assistant, Hiyat, making certain that you are well taken care of and that you´re well informed about the town. Being right in the heart of the medina, you only have to step out of the front door and all of the colour, sounds and smells of Essaouira hit you. Similarly, at the end of a busy day in the town the Riad is a calm and peaceful place to return to. I have to say that Essaouira is pretty much hassle free as far as medina goes. No aggressive selling or bothering of tourists here. It´s very safe. Our room at the riad was a duplex room with sitting room including working fireplace and double bedroom downstairs and upstairs a twin bedroom. Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace and was tasty (fruit salad, homemade yogurt, fresh bread, Moroccan crepe, eggs to order, jams and honey, fresh orange juice, coffee, tea). Jean & Hiyat were particularly helpful sorting out a reliable doctor when our daughter fell ill and our insurance company let us down badly with the doctor they had sent us who was terrible. You can´t drive to the riad as the medina is car free. I suggest parking by Bab Marrakesh (Marrakesh Gate) and from there one of the locals who offer a porterage service will wheel your bags in their mini trailor to the hotel for 20 - 30 dirhams ( 2 - 3 euros). While in Essaouira be sure to dine at the Caravan Club. Wonderfully entertaining riad restaurant with live music, a magician and loads of character and atmosphere. Food is good but the experience is even better. And should you wish to have an orientation tour of the city, go shopping or a cooking class I highly recommend contacting an interesting and charming young American woman living in Essaouria whose name is Mahatara Youssef and her email is mahatarah@gmail.com

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 527 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and were given a warm welcome by Jean-Gabriel and his manager, Hayat. Both are exceedingly helpful and give great tips on thing to do and places to eat. The riad is centrally located and is very conveniently located to explore all of the Medina. It's roof terrace has only a partial view of the sea but you will not miss it as there are plenty of seagulls to keep you company while you eat or relax :)
The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable, although we found our duplex a trifle too cold - hearing could be better.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdhilaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Riad Watier is absolutely fantastic! The owner is a great source of information and the girls working in the riad are super friendly, warm and helpful. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is served every day on the roof terrace, a great way to start the day.

Don't forget to say hello to Tajine and Couscous, the turtles living in the patio!

We had an amazing time in Essaouira, a place to relax and unwind after Marrakech.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mvandoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 days in the Ryad Watier and we were completely excited about this experience. The riad is located in the middle of the Medina and to find it, a porter showed us the way and also took our luggage – very easy. Jean-Gabriel, owner and director together with his assistant Hayat were phantastic hosts. We felt very welcome and quite at home in their hotel. The entire house is really tastfully decorated, in warm colors and with very nice furniture, very clean and well maintained. Our hosts recommended to us excellent restaurants.The price per night was well below of what we expected and would have been prepared to pay. The hotel can be classified in the highest range and can be highly recommended to every one who wants to experience a few nice days of rest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our stay at The Riad Watier was fantastic from start to finish. The welcome was very warm and thorough and we were shown to our lovely bedroom. The whole Riad has been very tastefully and sympathetically renovated by Jean-Gabriel the owner, whose home this is.
Everything at the Riad was great, from the room, to the breakfast, the meal we had there one evening and the general courtesy and hospitality of the staff who went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant one. So if you want to have a really nice time, in a well placed location in Essaouira, the Riad Watier is definitely the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having arrived in Essaouira via coach we were greeted by porter ready to transport us and our luggage to the riad. We were greeted by Jean-Gabriel and shown to our bright and extremely large room on the first floor. Leaving the bags in the room we were taken to the roof terrace to enjoy a much appreciated cold beer and some fabulous olives. The room was extremely clean with a large and comfortable bed and a wonderful shower room with gallons of hot water. The riad is perfectly positioned to explore the lovely beach and town. The weather was extremely good so we were lucky enough to be able to enjoy our delicious breakfasts on the roof terrace. Every one in the riad were very helpful, suggesting restaurants for lunch and dinner, and supplying endless mint tea. Riad Watier has a very relaxed atmosphere and was a lovely place to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flika2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

When we first arrived in Essaouira someone was sent to meet us off the coach, I don't know how we would had found the riad if we didn't have someone guiding us, but after 3 nights there we knew exactly where it was and loved it's location right in the middle of town and with Essaouira old town being so small you are very unlikely to ever really get lost!

When we first arrived we had such a warm welcome and were made to feel at home. The riad has some real great interesting art and artefacts. We were given a room on the ground floor with was spacious with a lounge area and and a bedroom on the upper floor. The room was great, cool and much quieter than expected. On the second night we were given a free upgrade and offered a room on the first floor, another huge room and this time with windows which faced out into the street and offered more light.

Each morning we were served a huge breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking all the rooftops with the view if the sea in the background.

All the help and advice we were given was fantastic and we got some great tips for restaurants - you have to try Chez Sams!

All in all a clean characterful Riad in a fantastic location with a hugely helpful friendly owner, a great homely feel. I would recommend this Riad, but pay the extra for a room on the upper floors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bertieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
837 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $122 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing