We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Jean Gabriel makes Essaouira great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Watier to your Saves list
Riad Watier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Jean Gabriel makes Essaouira great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of some friends who stayed at the same time, and we couldn't have been happier about our choice. Jean Gabriel, the proprietor, is the consummate hotelier, and runs his riad in a way that makes you feel like you're visiting a friend rather than staying at a hotel. The building is impeccably decorated and the rooftop terraces for sunning and taking breakfast are airy and peaceful, with sea breezes and a few sneak peaks of the ocean. Our room was wonderful and all the little touches like wood for the fireplace, tea and cookies on arrival, and an incredibly well-stocked library made the visit a treat. Would definitely come back and suggest to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhensarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    40
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
113
198
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a brief trip to Essaouira, a place we had long wanted to see. We found the town charming and the Riad Watier a very agreeable place to stay. It is very quirky and characterful with an attractive courtyard. Our suite on the first floor was spacious, clean and comfortable. Unfortunately my husband became ill with a stomach upset ( nothing to do with the Riad Watier!) and we weren't able to eat out as planned. I was able to eat at the Riad at rather short notice and was served a very tasty meal in our room, even though room service is not generally provided. I was very struck by how well it was dealt with which made a difficult situation much better than it might have been.
The following morning I had a very good breakfast served on the delightful roof terrace, although anyone breakfasting up there alone as I did, needs to make sure not to leave food unattended for even a few seconds. When I went to fetch a spoon I was gone for less than 30 seconds during which time the resident seagulls had cleared a plate of pastries and a dish of butter. They didn't approach whilst I was actually there on the roof just sat at a distance looking hopeful. True opportunists they saw their opening and took it!
So all in all we would recommend the Riad for its location, it's amenities and the warmth of its hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My sister and I had the pleasure of staying at Riad Watier. The location was perfect just off one of the many shopping streets and easy to find our way back at night. Our room was spacious, we had the 2 bedroom suite. I came down with a cold and didn't make it to breakfast one morning, so a plate of breakfast food and chocolates were sent to my room. Such a sweet touch. We had dinner one night at Riad Watier, the food was great! The riad had a porter meet us at the bus station and return us at the station at 6.00 am. It made the journey worry free!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silkdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were met at the bus station - thank goodness, would never have found it otherwise. Through the usual anonymous door, the riad has a fine courtyard and is airy and spacious. Our room was large and very comfortable with a good shower. Breakfast was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lachlan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Watier for a full week and were very happy with our choice (which we made based on trip advisor reviews). Great central location yet very quiet. The rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones) were very big - perfect for a young family with a toddler! - and tastefully decorated. Books everywhere and interesting artwork on every wall as well as two very cute tortoises. Jean-Gabrielle and his staff - especially Hyatt who was a natural with our little girl - were simply brilliant. There to help and to go beyond the call of duty if needed, but also giving you space and privacy if preferred. Breakfasts on the rooftop were lovely. In fact the only reason I'm not giving Watier 5 stars were the dinners - we chose to eat in quite often and whilst the portions were very generous, the meals weren't always to our liking (but we did get to have wine which was a nice plus!). Highly recommended nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elledeebee_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you look for clean spacious rooms beautifully decorated, sunny rooftop terraces, friendly people and above all a felling as if you are just at home where every single detail is thought over, that's the place! We even had our own fireplace (working!) and aroma-lamps filled with oils :) The super hospitable and charming French owner - Jean Gabriel really cares for his guests creating a relaxing welcoming atmosphere. Me and my friends enjoyed immensely our 4-night stay. Definitely the best Riad among those we visited (Fes, Marrakech, Essaouira). Would love to come back again and will recommend it to my friends traveling to Morocco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaBellaValentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed 5 nights . Lovely rooms, great artwork everywhere and relaxed atmosphere - rooftop dinning and sunbathing terraces sunny and sheltered even when windy!The photos just don't do the place justice. Clean spacious bedrooms, quality linen and endless hot water. Exceptional staff, friendly and helpful in so many ways - lighting fires in bedrooms , lending us bikes restaurant and shopping recommendations and a particular highlight for us was time with the cheerful cook preparing our delicious dinner - Moroccan chicken with fruits - a house speciality!
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Room above above reception has wireless coverage
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#4 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#8 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#10 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Property: Riad Watier
Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing