We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riad to stay”
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Me and my mom spent three nights in this beautiful hotel. The design of the place is very nice, it has an inner patio and a wonderful terrace with a sea view. The staff was very good. We received even more beautiful room then we booked with a small balcony with a view to the small garden. it was very nice. The location of the hotel is also very good, because it is placed in the quite part of the medina with very beautiful souks and it is very close to the sea and the ramparts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 727anna_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Riad Watier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 523 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

One of the place to experience on the planet if you are tired of hotels, even of good quality.
The owner makes the place authentically friendly, and THIS IS THE PLACE YOU WILL WANT TO COME BACK TO. We stayed a week in one of the suite. The place is of good taste, calm, clean, and above all, make you feel rapidly in a state of weelbeing, thanks to the gentleness of the people you will meet there. Obviously JG (the owner) is the catalist, but also the staff contributes to that, and rapidly even the other guests will become people to remind of, after a few dinners to be shared with them. Thumbs up, and thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked this very last minute and it was a wonderful place to stay. The riad was beautiful, the room was a gorgeous 2-story place and the owner was very friendly and knowledgeable. This was a great place to stay for a night over in Essaouira and we would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting this quiet little town on the Atlantic coast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djmaharaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

A very unique riad hidden in a great location in the middle of a busy medina. Beautiful spacious interior with amazing architecture. A quiet oasis managed by the owner Jean Gabriel in such a caring and personal way. Filled with antiques and beautiful art work with large rooms that offer most everything you may want. Breakfasts offered on the roof top garden feature homemade yogurts, marmalade, breads, fresh orange juice and a fantastic view of the medina and the surrounding ocean. The owner and staff seem always available to help you plan your excursions and may even personally take you to local places you might never find yourself. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank wm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was our first visit to Essaouira. This riad ticked all the right boxes for us. It had a lovely traditional feel to it and all the rooms were large with wonderful toiletries. There was the added luxury of a fire in the room for the cold nights - needed in January. The riad is situated in the heart of Essaouira so is in a good location for walking as everything is to hand. Jean Gabriel could not have been more helpful and recommended restaurants, even walking us to one of them so we didn't get lost. They provide a map of the town so you know where everything is and the staff go out of the way to make you feel welcome. They have a small roof terrace where you have breakfast. The breakfast is plentiful and freshly prepared. Would recommend this riad if it is your first time to Essaoiura.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliH_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Whenever possible I choose a Riad with the owner in residence. Jean Gabriel lives on the top floor and is always available for advice, or just an enjoyable chat. His team were also delightful, Samir and Hyat in particular but also the receptionist. My room - Cornut- was ideal for a longer stay of 9 nights, spacious, warm -radiator and option of open fire - good bed, good bathroom facilites, very hot water and excellent pressure. Jean Gabriel´s art collection throughout the building is fascinating. The Riad is excellently located, a well-lit alleyway to get to it,- as a grandmother travelling on her own, at no time did I feel anxious. I did miss a cosy place with a good reading light to read downstairs in the evening - pity the open fire was not open on all sides instead of just in the front .I enjoyed the formula of dinner at a communal table. I should have appreciated an alterntive breakfast venue as it happened to be pretty cold on the roof terrace. But these are details, I certainly plan to go back.....

Room Tip: Cornut with large double bed, sitting area. The one next door is ideal for a family with beds also...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoë O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Host was great, pictures on web are accurate. Good location, nice breakfast,best massage. High Greco mend. Great english service.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1234ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
256 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
641 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
0.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $117 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing