We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place, lovely owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place, lovely owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked this very last minute and it was a wonderful place to stay. The riad was beautiful, the room was a gorgeous 2-story place and the owner was very friendly and knowledgeable. This was a great place to stay for a night over in Essaouira and we would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting this quiet little town on the Atlantic coast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djmaharaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    41
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
118
203
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wm m
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

A very unique riad hidden in a great location in the middle of a busy medina. Beautiful spacious interior with amazing architecture. A quiet oasis managed by the owner Jean Gabriel in such a caring and personal way. Filled with antiques and beautiful art work with large rooms that offer most everything you may want. Breakfasts offered on the roof top garden feature homemade yogurts, marmalade, breads, fresh orange juice and a fantastic view of the medina and the surrounding ocean. The owner and staff seem always available to help you plan your excursions and may even personally take you to local places you might never find yourself. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank wm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This was our first visit to Essaouira. This riad ticked all the right boxes for us. It had a lovely traditional feel to it and all the rooms were large with wonderful toiletries. There was the added luxury of a fire in the room for the cold nights - needed in January. The riad is situated in the heart of Essaouira so is in a good location for walking as everything is to hand. Jean Gabriel could not have been more helpful and recommended restaurants, even walking us to one of them so we didn't get lost. They provide a map of the town so you know where everything is and the staff go out of the way to make you feel welcome. They have a small roof terrace where you have breakfast. The breakfast is plentiful and freshly prepared. Would recommend this riad if it is your first time to Essaoiura.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliH_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarifa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Whenever possible I choose a Riad with the owner in residence. Jean Gabriel lives on the top floor and is always available for advice, or just an enjoyable chat. His team were also delightful, Samir and Hyat in particular but also the receptionist. My room - Cornut- was ideal for a longer stay of 9 nights, spacious, warm -radiator and option of open fire - good bed, good bathroom facilites, very hot water and excellent pressure. Jean Gabriel´s art collection throughout the building is fascinating. The Riad is excellently located, a well-lit alleyway to get to it,- as a grandmother travelling on her own, at no time did I feel anxious. I did miss a cosy place with a good reading light to read downstairs in the evening - pity the open fire was not open on all sides instead of just in the front .I enjoyed the formula of dinner at a communal table. I should have appreciated an alterntive breakfast venue as it happened to be pretty cold on the roof terrace. But these are details, I certainly plan to go back.....

Room Tip: Cornut with large double bed, sitting area. The one next door is ideal for a family with beds also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid-Tarifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Host was great, pictures on web are accurate. Good location, nice breakfast,best massage. High Greco mend. Great english service.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I spent four days here as a single traveller and it was the most pleasant four days I have had in a long while. Jean Gabriel and his staff are so helpful and friendly and I had a lovely room. The breakfasts on the roof top where nice and I had two lovely evening meals and it was a welcoming atmosphere. It is in a good location in the Medina and very quiet. I booked online and everything met my expectations totally.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doraduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My husband and I spent nearly a week at Riad Watier in November 2011. We booked it with Jean-Gabriel on the spot (we were unhappy with our intended accoms) and we could not have been happier. Since it was the off-season he gave us a great deal. The room (Watier) was spacious, quiet and we had our own little private deck, the breakfasts on the terrace were wonderful, the service was excellent, the decor was very charming (there is a lot of wonderful art dotted about), Jean-Gabriel (the owner) was lovely. It was the most relaxed and enjoyable part of our trip and we were sad to bid adieu to JG.

It is located right in the media so very convenient to everything. Jean-Gabriel gave us recommendations of places to go see live music and where to get our laundry done (he even offered to take it there for us) and was always friendly and helpful. There is no wi-fi in the rooms but it's available down by the office. This was actually great as it stopped us from spending too much time on our handhelds :)

The great thing about Essaouira is that it's medina is smaller and more mellow than Fes or Marrakech but it still has everything you would want. We found the shopkeepers to be much less aggressive as well. Also, the beach is fabulous for walking along (particularly at sunset!) and the boats are fun to look at.

Room Tip: Watier is the only one with a private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloebrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#3 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#8 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
5.1 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Property: Riad Watier
Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing