We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Watier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Watier
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming and Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and fell in love with Essaouira, its medina was quaint and navigable, unlike those in the larger cities. Inside the riad, fell in love with its owner Jean Gabriel and his spectacular art collection. Everyone here was wonderful and helpful and generous. The food was excellent. The suite was spectacular, they kindly upgrade my friend and I to the "Père Jego" 2-bedroom master suite even though we had booked a smaller suite. The only unpleasant thing encountered during the stay was some dreadful rainy weather, but coming back to such a warm and welcoming riad, and starting a fire in the fireplace was a wonderful way to dry off from the rainy explorations. If I'm ever back in Morocco I would not stay anywhere else. Also, book directly with the riad on their website and I believe you will get the best rate.

Room Tip: The riad's website has photos and detailed descriptions of each suite. There weren't many gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucymagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    43
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
132
229
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast, queensland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

A family group of 11 of us recently stayed here and celebrated my father's 80th birthday. Nothing was too much trouble for Jean and his team and we thoroughly enjoyed the books and art plus Jean's enthusiasm for the final of the U.S. Open. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

The place was situated a little down some windy roads in the center of the old Essaouira, however ariving late with the bus from Marrakesh the owner of the place resolute took his bike and came to welcome us and showed us the way to the riad. It is a riad full of books, charm, stories from the people who work here and an amazing breakfast on the roof overlooking all of Essaouira. The peole working there are fantastic and show you all the best of hospitality of Essaouira. We can easily recommend this amazing place with big rooms and a family feeling in the middle of the old center. The evening meal can also really be recommended, especially to couples where there are served beautiful wine, food and a romantic setting. All in all we'll be back:-)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nordsjaelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

A large family group of adults and children stayed here last year to celebrate a ruby wedding anniversary - we all had a fantastic time and thought the riad was a lovely place to stay, the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive, the large airy rooms were very comfortable and breakfasts on the terrace wonderful.
The riad was in a brilliant position to explore the town and it was only a short distance to walk to the beach and harbour. My husband was very grateful to the staff in organising several fishing trips out to sea.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Jean runs a slick operation with Nisrine, Hayat and Samir his team of folks that really focus on making your stay memorable and pleasant.

Informality pervades dealing with customers as friends and providing ample advice on where to go, what to buy an where to buy it. Essaouira is a gem, and these guys do their part to make it extra special.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jam100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Riad Watier is located in the Medina in a quiet alleyway just off of the main shopping strip but is a nice quiet haven to retreat to when you have had enough of the tourist crush of the medina. The owner, Jean, is a wonderful host who makes you feel welcome as soon as you enter the door of the Riad and alond with his right hand man Samir will attend to all of your needs. Once settled into your room they will give you a map and descriptions of the medina and how to find your way around (which is amazingly simple). Should you want recommendations on restaurants they will help you out in this matter as well. The Riad is well located when wanting to get and see the sights of the medina but once back in the Riad is a nice quiet peaceful haven in which to relax. The rooms are very spacious and equipped with the only TV located downstairs in the library so great to have abreak from the problems of the world aka didnt bother with TV at all. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is great and again just adds to the whole relaxed atmosphere. I fully recommend Riad Watier and hosts Jean and Samir.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiflemanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed with my wife at Ryad Watier in July 2011. For the price paid the ryad is an excellent choice. It is not the most luxurious available in Essaouira but what really puts it above the rest is its owner Jean Gabriel and the staff. They are kind, generous and charming people that are always available to help you. The ryad in itself is beautiful and well located. The room are magnificient. Only setback is maybe the beds that are nice but nothing extraordinary. If you are looking for a beautiful riad in the 80-100 euros range per night, Ryad Watier is really worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
5.6 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riad Baoussala
Riad Baoussala
#2 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Watier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Watier

Property: Riad Watier
Address: 16 Rue Ceuta | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#5 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Watier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Watier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Watier Essaouira
Riad Watier Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing