We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palazzo? Don't think so!”
Review of Palazzo Desdemona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Desdemona
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Palazzo? Don't think so!”
Reviewed March 28, 2009

This hotel is well situated, and the common areas are beautifully appointed. However, the welcome we received was less impressive. Despite the fact that the ground floor is a Salon de Thé, we were not offered any refreshment on arrival after our three hour trip from Marrakech. In fact, we were not even offered a seat while we filled out the tourist forms. This was in direct contrast to our experience at the riad in Marrakech, where we had just spent three days, and we were quite shocked.

Our room was equally disappointing. The hotel prides itself in having open views, yet our room overlooked a brick wall of a building being renovated eight feet away on the other side of a back alley. The shower room was particularly shabby and was in dire need of renovation, which would not cost the earth in Morocco. We were, in fact, shown three rooms, all at the back of the hotel and all of an equally poor standard.

We asked if we could upgrade to a room at the front of the hotel, but were told they only had suites left. The rate we were quoted was Dh 1700 a night, ie Dh 1000 more than we were paying. We subsequently discovered, by looking at the list of rooms and prices displayed at reception – by law all Moroccan hotels have to display current prices at reception - that the dearest suite in the hotel was Dh 1400 a night. When we pointed out to our host that one of the rooms at Dh 900 a night would be ideal for us, he maintained that they were all booked. Yet the hotel seemed very empty.

We were made to feel very unwelcome by our host, and while the situation of the hotel made up for this to some extent, the substandard room was another negative.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LovetotravelDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    85
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
46
121
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2009

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was good, with the typical fresh orange juice, coffee and pancakes.

Unfortunately on both mornings, there was no hot water for a shower. This was dissappointing when we were paying the equivalent of 90 pounds a night for a double room.

The location was excellent however. It is just inside the medina walls, with a carpark very nearby on the outside of the wall.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 36mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich, suisse
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2008

walking around in search of a nice place to stay, we found this palazzo by accident. the rooms are all unique and spacey, the terrasse is awesome (we had the whole place to ourselves), you can see the ocean and the harbor and don't really need to go to the beach if it's too windy.
the staff was very very nice, friendly and helpful.
we had 9 great days and would recommend it anytime.
greetings from switzerland!

  • Liked — the uniquness of our room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lgazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Not having booked anywhere in advance of arriving in Essaouira we wandered around, had a look at a few places then settled on Palazzo Desdemona - after securing a bit of a discount! The location is good and the interior and rooms are done out very well, the larger rooms are especially nice. Overall we had a good stay there, although it did feel very empty and it's a real shame that they haven't made more of their roof terrace. Staff were very nice.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank emp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#22 of 74 in Essaouira
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#14 of 74 in Essaouira
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Desdemona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Desdemona

Property: Palazzo Desdemona
Address: 12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Desdemona 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Palazzo Desdemona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Desdemona Essaouira
Palazzo Desdemona Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing