We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this place great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Desdemona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Desdemona
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The staff make this place great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here after a few days in Marrakech. After a long bus journey and a couple of us having come down with a bug en route from Marrakesh left us drained and tired by the time we came through the doors of Palazzo Desdemona.

The friendly welcome that we recieved immediately set us st ease and a welcoming glass of mint tea hit the spot immediately.

Palazzo Desdemona is a family run hotelset over five floors and the rooms occupy a warren of staircases and landings all of which are beautifully furnished with carved mirrors and bookcases creating quiet light and airy lounge areas. A roof terrace provides a great place to read and get some sun with good views towards the port and the beach.

Our room set on the fourth floor overlooked the medina with the mosque just across the road. I've read the reviews complaining about the noise but I'm not sure what people expect, you'll always hear the muezzin calls if you're staying in a Muslim country and with such a central location, you're bound to get a bit of noise, we however didn't find it a problem at all and I stayed here with my wife and nine year old twin daughters so we're hardly looking for party central.

The suite we stayed in comprised of two double bedrooms sharing a large bathroom. Spotlessly clean and again, beautifully furnished. The housekeeping staff deserve a special mention, particularly in light of the aforementioned stomach bug that came with us from Marrakech, enough said on that subject but they looked after our group extremely well.

Breakfast at Palazzo Desdemona is the usual bread, cake and pancake type, typical in Morocco, served with fruit juice and very good coffee. As with everything here it's beautifully prepared and served with a genuine friendly smile.

We ate at Palazzo Desdemona on two nights of our stay, the food being well prepared from good ingredients, not a wide choice on the menu but made according to seasonal availability. This limited menu means that the individual dishes are made to order and were both excellently prepared and well presented.

In summary, if you're looking for a well located hotel close to the beach, port and the souks in the Medina of Essaouira this place pretty much hits the mark.

Just a note on accessibility, the hotel is only about 100m from the main gate into the Medina from the port and only a five minute walk from the Supratours bus stop, there are always guys who will offer their services to carry your bags and take you to your destination but if you don't want that just turn left out of the Supratours office and head across what could appear to be waste ground but is in fact a car park and gardens. Keep the outer wall of the medina to your right, the single story Agence building and nightclub to your left and in about 200m you'll see the Bab Aha gate into the medina. Head through this gate and go straight up the avenue to the T junction with the wider avenue, turn left and you'll see Palazzo Desdemona on your left between the bank and the art gallery. It is easier to locate than I've just described:-)

bit bit

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brynglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    69
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
42
97
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Morocco. This hotel was ideal in setting for medina and beach. The staff were lovely and helpful. We did have to ask room though as we personally found that the 'charm' room looking out into medina was too noisy at night and moved to the room on top with a terrace. This was perfect and much preferred the space it had inside and out. Overall a good value hotel. Although be aware there is no safe deposit box or hairdryer in room, but these were just minor points.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VESPY74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Everything inside this hotel looks the part - really rustic and authentic. Location is fabulous, just inside the walls a few steps from a fairly laid back medina (certainly compared with where we arrived from - Marrakech), and two minutes from the lovely beach. Staff lovely.

The clock tower opposite (and another not too far away) chime every quarter hour and there is no air con - so if you sleep with the windows open due to the heat and you are a light sleeper, this could be a problem. If the chimes don't get you, the seagulls will - noisiest ever, starting at daybreak right outside the windows - incredible volume!!

If you have a higher floor room, the stairs seem to go on forever in the heat - you won't want to have forgotten anything when you get down to the reception!

All in all it was a great experience - and superb free wifi too - very strong signal all over. Glad to have chosen this hotel but maybe better out of season, when you could sleep with the windows shut!!

Agree with Robyn C's comment (below) about not having a fitness centre. Not that there isn't one, but that booking sites claim there is...

On Booking.com it lists many facilities that the hotel simply does not have. No problem to us, we don't want a fitness centre - but there is a huge list on Booking.com. No mini-golf or tennis court either!! Just honest, simple, authentic Morocco - lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScunnerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

It's not one of the best, the room was quite clean, well decorated and all, but I didn't like the fact that the reception and dining area were in the same space, the staff were friendly, and the breakfast food was alright.

The Room-
As I said, it was kept clean, but I didn't have a great night sleep, as of the seagulls and the stuffiness of the room. (should have air-conditioning!!!) The bathroom was nice, but was quite cramped, and there was no TV etc.
Dining Area- Not the best, a bit small, lack of seating, but the staff were helpful.
The Staff- kind and cheerful, did everything they could to help :-)
The Food- very french style cuisine, tasty.
The Hotel Itself- It is very hidden, in the walls, and kept away from everything. But at night it is very loud.
Wouldn't stay here again. (They don't have a Fitness Centre!)

Room Tip: Try to go for a middle floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We love staying here. The rooms are so beautiful and the hotel is right in the medina (the old town where the culture is). The restaurant downstairs is lovely and breakfast is plentiful and traditional. The staff will always look after you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RBowDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very well located and easy to find within the medina. Close enough to the suprabus terminal to walk with our backpacks. The family room was huge and comfortable. Service varied from great to not really caring dependant on who was working on the desk. I found the keys to all the rooms on a table that apparently the cleaner forgot. Mistakes happen and hopefully this was a one off. There are quite a few good accommodation options in this town and I would stay here again if the room rate was less.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barefoot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is indeed a charming hotel in a great location unfortunately our ten day stay there was marred by a very unprofessional and unfair decision. We were offered an upgrade for an extra charge to which we agreed. After 3 nights in our upgrade room we were asked to move out for just one night to accommodate a " family " ( we discovered it was 4 girls ) When we asked to move back into our room as they had promised, we were told it was no longer available. Be careful and do not oblige by moving room as a favour.

Room Tip: Be aware that the clock tower opposite the front of the hotel chimes every quarter of the hour !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geraldine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#33 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#22 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#13 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#37 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Casa Lila
Riad Casa Lila
#24 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Desdemona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Desdemona

Property: Palazzo Desdemona
Address: 12-14 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Desdemona 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Palazzo Desdemona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Desdemona Essaouira
Palazzo Desdemona Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing