We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for the town.”
Review of Palazzo Desdemona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Desdemona
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very helpful staff. We felt cold in the evening in December and they immediately put a heater in our room so it was cosy when we came back from a meal out. The cheaper rooms are inside which is quite good as far as street noise goes. The hot water was a bit erratic and slow but it did work eventually. The pillows were overstuffed and hard but that seems a bit of a Moroccan thing as we found the same elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephandAlan60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 258 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is located in an idea position. Very easy to find. The owners are friendly and accommodating. The faults we found were the shower head broke as soon as we got there. Also, we were promised a balcony room but ended up in a room with windows that overlooked other rooms in the hotel, but also did not shut properly so we could hear people come in and out. The main room is very quirky and fun and it is a pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nozomik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel.
Our room has a big window and small balcony. So the room was sunny,bright room.
That feel really nice.

But taking shower sodden with washroom is a bit of a pity.

Anyway I was very satisfied with your services.
Thank you so much:D

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuki.Sai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel with charm and character. All the rooms are different and i enjoyed walking around and look at them all.
The location is perfect! Right between the busy shopping streets in the medina, the harbor and the big square with all the cafees and restaurants. No dark alleys to get there at nights, big plus for me as a female solo traveller!
Staff is nice and breakfast is good with orangejuice, coffee, 2 kinds of bread, butter, honey and 3 kinds of jam.
And it´s clean! (unlike most of other places in essaouira..)

Hope to come back someday!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank JoWi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

A beautiful hotel, lovingly restored. It's not your bland Ibis, it has character and a few cracks but in our view all the better. Breakfast is included and a really good start to the day.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris_UK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We arrived here from Marakesh and I have to say it was great - we had room 5 - which was very spacious with high ceilings, sofas, really comfortable bed with cotton sheets. The room was painted white - spotless, open the windows look over the square to the sea - really lovely and the bathroom had a window ! Breakfast was served downstairs and again was good and very tranquil The girl we met, who I think was the owner's wife was very welcoming and the location couldn't be better - away from the hustle of the medina a very short walk to everything - a lovely peaceful place to stay - would highly recommend it.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EMWDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed 3 nights here in one of the upper level "suites" with massive private terrace.

The location of the hotel is excellent, located right on the edge of the venerable and picturesque, whitewashed & blue, Essaouira medina. A 30 second walk from the main square with all its cafes, restaurants and the winding laneways of the medina beyond.

The room had lots of windows and direct access to the private terrace, with an unobstructed view of the harbourfront, clocktower and charming surrounding buildings. Other than the many birds (including a noisy rooster next door), it was very quiet.

The service was excellent-excellent from the manager to the cleaning crew to the wait-staff, it was really professional and friendly.

The restaurant on the main floor is home to a local wifi hotspot and guests get free useage 24 hours a day.

I only had breakfasts here and they were pretty good...Not exceptional but decent.

On the downside, the hotel needs a retro-fit in a pretty major way: The paint is crumbling on the exterior, and the 61 steps up to the top floor are fine for a young, strapping buck like me, but would be a major problem for those with mobility issues.

The finish and decor in the room itself was very dated and a bit worn out. Opening and closing the doors was an exercise in slamming and yanking-hard, and it wasn't just my room with this problem: I could hear other doors slamming around the hotel as well, so they must have all had the same problem. While there were lots of sheets and blankets on the bed, they too had seen better days.

The bathroom was functional, but dated and worn as well, and water temperature regulation was a nuissance at best; a burn or freeze experience at worst. The towels looked like they could have actually been used by Jimi Hendrix himself on his last visit to Essaouira, sometime in 1968.

The room's terrace was massive and clean, but there was only 1 wooden table and ancient chairs present. Given the exposure to ample sunlight, a couple of loungers would have made it a very, very nice place to spend the day.

Listen, I know it sounds like I'm bashing the place, but I really DID enjoy my stay as a solo traveller, as I'm pretty easy-going. With a bit of new paint and some investment in some new ammenities, this place could easily be something really, really special. I paid 75EU/ night incl breakfast and it was worth it for that amazing view and terrace but overall, I would only give it 3 out of 5. I WOULD stay here again however, if that means anything to you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#28 of 75 in Essaouira
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 75 in Essaouira
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 75 in Essaouira
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Desdemona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Desdemona

Address: 12-14 rue Youssef el Fassi, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $49 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Desdemona 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Desdemona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Desdemona Essaouira
Palazzo Desdemona Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing