We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely peaceful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Desdemona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Desdemona
Ranked #31 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We arrived here from Marakesh and I have to say it was great - we had room 5 - which was very spacious with high ceilings, sofas, really comfortable bed with cotton sheets. The room was painted white - spotless, open the windows look over the square to the sea - really lovely and the bathroom had a window ! Breakfast was served downstairs and again was good and very tranquil The girl we met, who I think was the owner's wife was very welcoming and the location couldn't be better - away from the hustle of the medina a very short walk to everything - a lovely peaceful place to stay - would highly recommend it.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EMWDorset_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    69
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
96
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed 3 nights here in one of the upper level "suites" with massive private terrace.

The location of the hotel is excellent, located right on the edge of the venerable and picturesque, whitewashed & blue, Essaouira medina. A 30 second walk from the main square with all its cafes, restaurants and the winding laneways of the medina beyond.

The room had lots of windows and direct access to the private terrace, with an unobstructed view of the harbourfront, clocktower and charming surrounding buildings. Other than the many birds (including a noisy rooster next door), it was very quiet.

The service was excellent-excellent from the manager to the cleaning crew to the wait-staff, it was really professional and friendly.

The restaurant on the main floor is home to a local wifi hotspot and guests get free useage 24 hours a day.

I only had breakfasts here and they were pretty good...Not exceptional but decent.

On the downside, the hotel needs a retro-fit in a pretty major way: The paint is crumbling on the exterior, and the 61 steps up to the top floor are fine for a young, strapping buck like me, but would be a major problem for those with mobility issues.

The finish and decor in the room itself was very dated and a bit worn out. Opening and closing the doors was an exercise in slamming and yanking-hard, and it wasn't just my room with this problem: I could hear other doors slamming around the hotel as well, so they must have all had the same problem. While there were lots of sheets and blankets on the bed, they too had seen better days.

The bathroom was functional, but dated and worn as well, and water temperature regulation was a nuissance at best; a burn or freeze experience at worst. The towels looked like they could have actually been used by Jimi Hendrix himself on his last visit to Essaouira, sometime in 1968.

The room's terrace was massive and clean, but there was only 1 wooden table and ancient chairs present. Given the exposure to ample sunlight, a couple of loungers would have made it a very, very nice place to spend the day.

Listen, I know it sounds like I'm bashing the place, but I really DID enjoy my stay as a solo traveller, as I'm pretty easy-going. With a bit of new paint and some investment in some new ammenities, this place could easily be something really, really special. I paid 75EU/ night incl breakfast and it was worth it for that amazing view and terrace but overall, I would only give it 3 out of 5. I WOULD stay here again however, if that means anything to you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

This small hotel is located inside the walls of the old city. Very friendly and helpfull staff (helped carrying luggage to the car parked far from the hotel).
Amazing rooms with very nice local design. The lobby is the "must see" place : each summer, the owner invites an artist to present its work for free. The lobby is then converted to an art gallery. This summer the artist was "Azzedine Abassi". Not only did he present his work, but he used to come to the lobby each morning at 9.00 and work there until 3.00pm (Very nice and affordable painting by the way). Almost forgot : breakfast is served in the lobby :)
And should you need to stay in touch with work or relatives, you have free access to wifi connection.
we spent 6 nights in this hotel and we'll surely go back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerbouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

This hotel is well situated, and the common areas are beautifully appointed. However, the welcome we received was less impressive. Despite the fact that the ground floor is a Salon de Thé, we were not offered any refreshment on arrival after our three hour trip from Marrakech. In fact, we were not even offered a seat while we filled out the tourist forms. This was in direct contrast to our experience at the riad in Marrakech, where we had just spent three days, and we were quite shocked.

Our room was equally disappointing. The hotel prides itself in having open views, yet our room overlooked a brick wall of a building being renovated eight feet away on the other side of a back alley. The shower room was particularly shabby and was in dire need of renovation, which would not cost the earth in Morocco. We were, in fact, shown three rooms, all at the back of the hotel and all of an equally poor standard.

We asked if we could upgrade to a room at the front of the hotel, but were told they only had suites left. The rate we were quoted was Dh 1700 a night, ie Dh 1000 more than we were paying. We subsequently discovered, by looking at the list of rooms and prices displayed at reception – by law all Moroccan hotels have to display current prices at reception - that the dearest suite in the hotel was Dh 1400 a night. When we pointed out to our host that one of the rooms at Dh 900 a night would be ideal for us, he maintained that they were all booked. Yet the hotel seemed very empty.

We were made to feel very unwelcome by our host, and while the situation of the hotel made up for this to some extent, the substandard room was another negative.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank LovetotravelDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I spent 2 nights in this hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was good, with the typical fresh orange juice, coffee and pancakes.

Unfortunately on both mornings, there was no hot water for a shower. This was dissappointing when we were paying the equivalent of 90 pounds a night for a double room.

The location was excellent however. It is just inside the medina walls, with a carpark very nearby on the outside of the wall.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 36mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich, suisse
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

walking around in search of a nice place to stay, we found this palazzo by accident. the rooms are all unique and spacey, the terrasse is awesome (we had the whole place to ourselves), you can see the ocean and the harbor and don't really need to go to the beach if it's too windy.
the staff was very very nice, friendly and helpful.
we had 9 great days and would recommend it anytime.
greetings from switzerland!

  • Liked — the uniquness of our room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lgazelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Not having booked anywhere in advance of arriving in Essaouira we wandered around, had a look at a few places then settled on Palazzo Desdemona - after securing a bit of a discount! The location is good and the interior and rooms are done out very well, the larger rooms are especially nice. Overall we had a good stay there, although it did feel very empty and it's a real shame that they haven't made more of their roof terrace. Staff were very nice.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank emp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#32 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#13 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#22 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#37 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Desdemona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Desdemona

Property: Palazzo Desdemona
Address: 12-14 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Desdemona 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Desdemona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Desdemona Essaouira
Palazzo Desdemona Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing