We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maison du Sud - Fabulous Riad in central Essaouira”
Review of Maison du Sud

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison du Sud
Ranked #23 of 181 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Maison du Sud is a friendly, 24-bed riad on one of the main streets within the medina. Staff are friendly and helpful. Basic but tasty breakfast is made up of coffee/tea, fresh orange juice, bread, croissant, crepes. Evening meals are delicious - if the sardine meatball tagine (made with freshly caught sardines) is on the menu, it's thoroughly recommended! Shutters can be opened to get light in to rooms, but it's best if they're kept closed as it keeps the rooms nice and cool. Fabulous, central, great value riad.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the terrace - 23 and 24 are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kilmisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 355 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

This Hotel is really 2 riads joined together which were in slightly different styles. It is very central in the Medina with access to all attractions including the port and beach. We went as a family of four and had 2 rooms, one in each part of the riad. Our room was nicely decorated and faced the outside of the riad. The downside was the noise from the street - particularly from the mosque early in the morning, but I think that this is part of the experience. Our children shared a room with 2 beds on 2 levels, this had windows only to the inside so did not suffer quite so much from noise.

Breakfast was Ok but was the same each day and no choice. Staff were excellent.

Overall this was better than I had expected.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GKac179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Based on its website, we expected the Maison du Sud to be a romantic riad. In reality, it's quite a big hotel. The rooms are enormous, but the atmosphere is a bit daunting because of the cathedral-like dark wooden ceilings. Some rooms don't have windows; those that do are still very dark because of the blinds and curtains. What bothered us most, were the damp sheets and humid air. Also, it's quite dusty.
Although these disadvantages, the staff at reception was very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LC8519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This riad is located within the medina and is thus an excellent base to explore. As others have mentioned you need to walk to it as no taxi or cars are allowed in the medina but this is not a problem. The riad is on par with a 3 star hotel. Our room had a seating area separate to the bedroom. There was no TV. Lighting is fairly low in the rooms. Breakfast includes a toasted baguette, crepe and croissant, with tea/coffee & freshly squeezed orange juice. The nearest mosque is only 4 doors away thus we were woken up by the early morning prayer call at 05.00, but this is an issue everywhere in the medina (our friend wore earplugs & was not woken). The other issue was street noise. They have installed double glazing but this had little effect. Would recommend taking ear plugs as all the streets are busy in the medina until at least 23.30.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street as more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nit2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Maison du Sud is located within the Medina, which means that you have to approach it on foot. Barrow boys (mostly old men in reality) are available, who will take your stuff on a cart for only 20 Dh.

Don't believe the location that Google Maps gives for the Riad - it is in the correct street, but much nearer to the port area than Google indicates.

The staff were welcoming & the decor of both the public areas & our room were very nice.

Breakfast was good - although, only a fixed menu.

Our room smelt a little - it had not external windows, only ones onto the covered courtyard, which meant that it was hard to ventilate fully - I noticed many other rooms had external windows though.

On our last day, we had to leave early - 06:30 & there was no one at the reception area & no lights there - then we discovered that the door was bolted & locked. At this point, a rather sleepy looking guy appeared from a back room to let us out. I'm not sure what times they lock the door from - it could be a problem for people going out late in the evenings, although Essaouira does not have much in the way of late night bars, so it is not as much of a problem here as it would be in some other places.

overall, it was very good value for money, with a great feel to it & a central location within easy reach of all the main sights.

Room Tip: If you want good ventilation, ask for one that has windows to the outside, not to the covered courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat8iou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We recently stayed at this Raid during our one night in Essouira during our holiday with Real Morocco Tours.

The riad is centrally located, right along one of the main streets in the old medina - which has its advantages and disadvantages.

On the plus side, the riad is accessible to all of the old medina, cafes, ice-cream shops, retail shops, restaurants, the old city wall and the port. The atmosphere in the streets is very laid back and coastal - much different to the rest of Morocco.

The negative side - we found - was that it was quite noisy. Perhaps because we were in the corner room on the first floor, wedged between the main street and a side alley which had people coming and going all during the night. The other thing we found was that with such thin curtains, the lights lighting up the internal terrace and stairwell shone right into where our bed was until quite late.

The staff were very friendly, although oddly, we had to pay for our Moroccan Tea we requested while sitting in the courtyard playing on our iPad. It wasn’t expensive - so that’s not the point - rather, every other Riad we stayed had stayed at would often offer us complementary tea.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimTownPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Riads are seemingly always located behind the medina walls, where cars aren't permitted (streets/alleys too narrow) so you must walk to them from outside the walls. This was no exception and it took a fair amount of steps with luggage to reach it. Twice, however, we were able to find a "porter" along the way who had a cart to take our luggage in for a small price. It was worth that and more. Maison du Sud is a beautiful riad, big enough to be classified a hotel, but like the riads has a beautiful interior courtyard. Many local artists are featured with the paintings hanging on their walls, one of which we almost purchased. There were three drawbacks to this place: (1) there was a sewer line malfunction down the road which made it unpleasant to be walking around there, (2) the beds were as hard as rock, and (3) they served no fruit at breakfast. Otherwise, it was a very nice stay with courteous and helpful staff. One of their recommendations for dinner at El Mare, however, didn't pan out; at most, the dinner was "average" in quality. Do your own research for restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Casa Lila
Riad Casa Lila
#24 of 75 in Essaouira
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#1 of 181 in Essaouira
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mumtaz Mahal
Riad Mumtaz Mahal
#41 of 181 in Essaouira
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#19 of 181 in Essaouira
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison du Sud

Address: 29 Avenue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $48 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison du Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 300 m from the sea, Riad Maison du Sud is a beautifully restored 18th-century hotel set at the heart of Essaouira’s bustling medina. Luxuriously renovated in Moorish style, the 24 room Riad offers an authentic mix of Moroccan and Andalusian architecture, design and style, making it the perfect boutique residence. The Riad has many quiet salons to relax in as well as two large rooftop terraces with sea views to enjoy breakfast on whilst the service at the Riad is attentive yet understated in the long tradition of Morocco’s finest establishments. At Riad Maison du Sud we endeavor to offer a friendly personalised service and our staff speak several languages. Although there are some direct flights from Europe most clients arrive by private taxi transfer and we can arrange this from any city or airport in Morocco if we have your flight details in advance. Alternatively if you’re arriving with your own transport we can assist with parking and bringing your luggage to the hotel for a small charge. Services offered at Maison du Sud include:- Downstairs wifi - A laundry service - 24 hr room service - Private taxi transfer - The booking of activities in Essaouira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison du Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Du Sud Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing