We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly must the best hotel of its type in Essaouira”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Truly must the best hotel of its type in Essaouira”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just spent nine nights there...fab little place...just inside the medina so easy to find, get to. Staff really excellent...as they said, please treat this place as your home. Fab ground floor courtyard for b'fast, drinks, with bar (old English drawing room feel) and upmarket restaurant...you wouldn't want to eat here every night, which is fine as loads of great restaurants within walking distance. Essaouira is a calmer, gentler, medina type city than say Marrakech and easy to find your way. Weather great, but quite windy as it is on the Atlantic Coast. Room 29 (and that side) is quieter than the opposite side. We were upgraded to a junior suite, but the classic rooms looked fine. Pool terrace on 4th floor...bit too cold to swim, but it guess in the summer would have been fine. Also great little cinema/screening room (holds 15 pax) and watched....Casablanca ...of course!

Room Tip: Room 29 and that side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    117
    40
    20
    11
See reviews for
106
369
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in the Medina of Essaouira, the room was very comfortable and pretty and the service was amazing, all personnel was extremely nice. We spent only one night and felt very sorry to leave, we would have wanted to stay forever. We also visited the spa and it was incredible. This hotel was the highlight of Essaouira since we didn't find the city particularly interesting so it was worth to stay in the best hotel in town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AzzRaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a beautiful riad in an ideal location just within the Medina walls. Close to everything, and just a short walk to all the main sights and attractions. The stunning palmed central courtyard is a lovely setting for breakfast- the only meal we ate in.

Our room was very nice- small, but nice and delightfully decorated. My negatives about it- only one place for a suitcase and no air-con. You could open a window but no screens and lots of noise from outside in the courtyard. As 2 singles I would have preferred beds to be a bit more apart from each other not jammed together so closely.

Service at breakfast was not great- this definately needs attention.

Enjoyed a drink in the piano room with its dark, seductive atmosphere. Though at $AUD23 the one drink I had was one too many- ridiculous! The sitting area just off reception was also a lovely space. Too cold for us to swim in the rooftop pool but I can imagine it would be wonderful on warmer days as would lounging on one of the many chairs provided.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherjanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This deluxe, character hotel is in an ideal location just within the Medina walls, close to the harbour, beach and souk. Absolutely loved the colonial style and atmosphere of the place, felt as if we had been transported back to a bygone era... expected Poirot to shuffle in at any moment.
Service was excellent, staff were attentive and polite, the lovely smiley doorman in particularly provided a great first impression.
The spotlessly clean rooms were fantastic, we were given an upgrade to the most fabulous huge suite furnished in rich dark woods and fabrics. The entrance opened into a small lobby area with a fridge, desk and chair . This led into the large main room which was divided into two by a central fireplace. To the one side a lounge area with window seat and chairs and table and to the other side was a bedroom area with huge comfy bed, lots of storage, safe, moveable tv. Off the bedroom was the fantastic opulent marble bathroom, huge tub, separate shower, twin basins, separate private loo, thick fluffy towels & robes and locally made gorgeous toiletries. Supplies of bottled water, fresh fruit & dates were replenished daily.
Breakfasts were a very enjoyable start to the day. Orange juice freshly squeezed as you were being seated in the central courtyard, surrounded by the exotic plants. A superb buffet selection including fresh fruits, breads, patisseries, cheeses, meat, smoked salmon etc. etc. etc.. and a selection a hot pancakes and coffee etc. served at the table. Omelettes and egg dishes could be ordered.
Great roof top pool & lovely spacious terrace area with plenty of sun beds & efficient bar and food service.
We stayed here as part of a tailor made package, so are unsure of the individual hotel charges. We felt we got good value for money, as we were upgraded in every hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireMand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

A beautiful Riad on the edge of the Medina. Beautiful accommodations, excellent food and pleasant and helpful staff. The roof top pool and views are really nice. Not an intimate Riad, but certainly a top notch hotel. Dinners are superb, but also very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights there relaxing after the hustle & bustle of Marrakech. From the moment we arrived we loved heure bleue - it is absolutely beautiful and full of character, a total oasis! The staff were very friendly & welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The room was gorgeous. The only small downside was the air con wasn't v effective but it wasn't a huge problem. Breakfast was fabulous, great selection plus omelettes etc... Location was excellent just inside the medina. We really couldn't fault it at all and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After a few bad experiences in the last couple of days it was time for lunch at L'heure bleue. We arrived and the staff immediately started taking care of its guests. We were seated in the shadow on the fantastic roof terras for an aperitive which was served with all kinds of nice food. After that we ordered the sardines and Maroccan hamburgers and again all great quality and served with delicious vegetables. A great experience that I can recommend to everybody and therewith the best in town!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisetteH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Property: L'Heure Bleue Palais
Address: 2 Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing