We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
Ranked #12 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

L'Heure Bleue was the first of our stops in Morocco. We could not have been made more welcome if they tried. The hotel is situated just inside one of the gates to the Medina and the outside, just a door in the wall with a small plaque displaying the hotel name, belies what is actually inside. The decor is fabulous and service superb. Our only complaint and the only reason for not giving a 5 star rating, is the quality of the one main meal we had there. We knew meals were expensive here, but as with all good hotels we did expect good quality. Unfortunately we did not find this the case. The one meal was about 400% more expensive than anywhere else we ate and the quality was less than other meals we had in some of the smaller restaurants scattered about the Medina and fishing harbour. That being said the waiter service was excellent. I would not let this experience prevent us from visiting the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    115
    39
    18
    11
See reviews for
105
364
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bertem, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Planning on seeing something of the Atlantic coast during our trip, we booked in at L'Heure Bleue to pamper ourselves for a few days... however, i'd fallen ill before we got there and boy, was I glad we'd chosen L'Heure Bleue - so much so, we cancelled our next hotel up the coast and let the hotel and the walled town be our home for a few extra days. Wonderful experience, we were even upgraded (though our original room was more than adequate), breakfast was a treat and dining in the open riad of the hotel a wonderful memory; the staff had the knack of making us feel we were the only guests there! If I'd felt better I'd never have left!
Essaouria with its fishing port, has the advantage of a medina you can't get lost in and shop and restaurant owners who leave you alone, unlike further inland and... there's even an airport nearby. Though most people speak French and quite good English, learn a few basic words in Arabic (we did), it'll open even more doors! Essouaria and L'heure Bleue, if not a marriage made in heaven, at least on the Atlantic coast! Anna & Simon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just came back from a week here and really enjoyed it. It's a special property, beautifully renovated, and the hotel has a whole has quite an exclusive and peaceful feel. Customer service is very good - Management are very visible, reception staff in particular are very warm and friendly, and housekeeping are very quiet and respectful. Roof terrace with the pool was a real highlight for me - it has a sort of Ibiza chill-out atmosphere, and there's a great view over the town and all the way to the sea, and wasn't too windy (in late September) as I'd feared. We stayed in the African Suite, which felt very plush and indulgent - e.g. large bathtub and a long window seat. Breakfast was fantastic - a great selection of Moroccan and French options!

My only suggestions would be:

Food is expensive - generally seemed higher than even London prices. I didn't mind so much in the evening restaurant (quality of food, music and service make this reasonably justifiable), but it felt pretty steep when looking for a light lunch on the roof terrace, or for room service (which from memory, came to about £40 for a couple of plates of pasta, water and a salad). I understand that it's a 4*, it's just a shame there isn't a bit more flexibility with dining options.

It might be nice when the sun is out to do breakfast on the roof terrace.

Spa treatment was generally good, but we were kept waiting before the appointment and intermittently during it (not all of which I think could be justified as 'a pause for relaxation'), and could hear the therapists talking quite loudly, mobile phones ringing outside on Reception, which felt a bit unprofessional!

Wi-fi speed in the room is very slow.

All in all, would strongly recommend it and would like to thank Francois Laustriat and the team for their hard work.

Room Tip: African Suite was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This property is situated just inside the medina walls ideally located for exploring the old town of Essaouira. The rooms are all set around a central courtyard offering a peaceful and cool haven from the outside world. Not large in size, they are all adequate and tastefully decorated. The property also has a sizeable rooftop terrace to relax on or have a quiet lunch. Service by the Hotel staff was excellent.

What stops the overall 5 star rating is the restaurant. The food is way overpriced when compared to what is available elsewhere in the town. Coupled with that, the appalling lack of and surly service from the restaurant staff made this an experience to be missed. We had not booked as we were staying there but were shoved in a corner and virtually forgotten about. We waited over an hour for one course when the restaurant was not busy and had to serve our own wine and water though clearly this was not intended as it was left on an adjacent table. Do not eat here it is not worth it.

Overall, an experience that could have been vastly improved by simple curteous service

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

One of the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff made you welcome and could not do enough to make your stay relaxing and stress free. We spent a week in Essaouria and the hotel just made our stay perfect. The meeals we had was out of this world and served in the most beoutiful setting of the inner court yard. Our room for sumptous and the staff were efficient and discriete. Our bathroom as beautiful and relaxing. We used the treatment rooms I had a Hammam and it was perfect. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful stay in an amazing hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just the most beautiful, relaxing hotel with some of the best service we’ve experienced. We spent a week here as a basis for exploring Essaouira having been to Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains.

From our first day, we were greeted with such warmth from the doorman and staff at reception – this persisted throughout our 7-night stay and reflects the nature of all the staff at Heure Bleue; personal, warm, attentive and ever professional.

We were allocated suites on the third floor and they were nothing short of beautiful; luxuriously spacious and full of character without being ostentatious. The maids, who came twice daily, lit candles in the room in the evening which provided a lovely touch if you wanted to have an indulgent bath in the stunning bathroom either before or after heading out to the hectic medina.

The pool area was windy but this was no surprise to us and also very welcome given the hot temperatures at this time of year. The staff members, again, were very attentive and the drinks always came with some delicious patisserie bites.

The breakfasts were a wonderful start to our day – served in the spacious atrium of the colonial palace, the luscious greenery made the dining experience feel surprisingly intimate. The food was delicious and provided a wide spread of choices: cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit (the avocadoes and figs were our personal favourites) nuts, raisins and muesli as well as smoked salmon, cheeses and meats, not forgetting the buns and patisseries. In fact, on one of the days we asked if there were any pain au chocolats (as none were out that particular day) and the chef freshly presented a selection for us – this epitomizes the personal touch of the whole hotel.

The restaurant was also beautiful - much more ornate than the rest of the hotel but very fitting for it. We ate there on the last night of our stay and we weren’t disappointed. The food was melt-in-the-mouth and full of flavour and the service, again, impeccable. The sitar player added to the intimate atmosphere.

Overall, we couldn’t rate our experience highly enough and are wondering when we can return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 931R_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a belated review: we came here for some of our honeymoon in March 2013 & it was one of the highlights of our trip. The staff are kind & proactive, the rooftop is fantastic - the restaurant up there is delicious, the swimming pool is sweet and the joint sunloungers are romantic and absurdly comfortable. The waiter handing round titbits mid-afternoon was a welcome & generous touch.
Inside, the rooms and the public spaces are glorious: dark-wood, high ceilings, draping palms and velvet loungers - like an Agatha Christie film.
It's immaculately clean, breakfast is extensive and the dvd selection at Reception is high-class. I'd go back at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidnightMoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
7.6 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Property: L'Heure Bleue Palais
Address: 2 Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing