We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“French colonial at it's best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Heure Bleue Palais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Heure Bleue Palais
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“French colonial at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A huge thank you to Francois and his excellent team for a fantastic stay. My wife and I were booked in for four nights. My wife had broken her ankle in Marrakesh the day before we arrived and the room we were to be in only had a bath, seeing that this would be impossible to navigate whilst in plaster we were very graciously given a suite with a walk in shower. The room was fantastic, complete with a fire place which on one evening was very useful, a man with a stack of logs popped up within minutes of asking and a roaring fire was on the go. The room was very quiet for three days then the room above was occupied and the noise from above travelled through the ceiling. The public areas of the Riad are fantastic, with superb internal views from every angle. The roof terrace and pool are a great bonus although the pool was a little too cool for my liking, but hey it was December. Breakfast was really very good, with more than enough variety to satisfy even the choosiest of people. The food on the roof terrace was superb as was the bar menu. Dining in the main restaurant was a bit pricey but nice, not quite Claridges but nice all the same. The big draw to the Riad though are the staff, they really are keen to impress and impress they do, even supplying us with a wheelchair so that my wife could get around. Special thanks to (sorry if they are misspelled ) Mamadou and Librasse , but all the staff were brilliant. We will be returning so my wife can see Essaouira on foot and I can get a break from pushing a wheelchair, once again thank you very much.

Room Tip: room 29 was great, turn up with a broken ankle to get an upgrade ;o) just kidding
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marquisofraspberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are glad that you are home safe, Thank you for your nice comments and feedback, our team is happy to know that you had a nice stay at Heure Bleue Palais.
We wish a quick reestablishment to your wife and hope to having you soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    96
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
92
326
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We loved our 2 night stay here, and would love to return for a longer stay next time.
Staff were really helpful, interiors were well-designed, and we liked the attention to detail and service in the rooms.
We enjoyed relaxing on the roof terrace and watching the sunsets from here.
The breakfasts we had were amazing! We've had to do a lot of surfing since to burn those off!
We stayed here on a Mr and Mrs Smith deal, so for us, the hotel was excellent value as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajctone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding our facilities and service. It is a great pleasure to share your comments with our team. I look forward welcoming you once more to the Heure Bleue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

First -- what happened to the rule that motor bikes were not allowed in the old town??? We have visited Essaouira several times over the years and we really appreciated the pedestrian-only medina, so different from the motor-bike crazy alleys of Marrakech. This time there were bikes everywhere, beeping at pedestrians to get out of the way, blowing nasty fumes at customers in the cafes of the main square, and creating a noisy ruckus tearing up and down the medina at night. Everybody we spoke to is fed up with the bikes. One restaurant (Il Mare) had five of them revving outside its entrance and a whole tour group took one look and decided to eat somewhere else. Our waiter at a cafe in the main square cursed every time a bike went by and told us it gets worse every week. A carpet shop owner was in despair about it. What on earth are the authorities in Essaouira thinking???

Anyway, the hotel. On past visits we usually stayed at the old Sofitel, but as this is no longer a Sofitel we decided to try Heure Bleue, and we are glad we did. The hotel has a calm atmosphere of discreet quality -- for example, there is no big sign outside the hotel proclaiming its name or even that it's a hotel. Inside, the public areas feel more like a rather old fashioned club, especially the spacious, wood panelled lounge and bar area. Even the reception desk isn't what you might expect, instead there is wooden screen and staff pop out from behind it to attend your needs. And very attentive they are too. The service was excellent and the staff very responsive to any question or request.

The hotel is situated just inside the walls of the medina, a short walk from the main square, the beach, and the port. It is organized in the traditional Moroccan style, around an open courtyard. The rooms are a bit compact, but are comfortable and very well equipped with quality bathrooms and fixtures. There is a lovely planted roof terrace with excellent views over the town and the sea. The breakfasts were quite sumptuous. We did not eat in the hotel for other meals, as Essaouira has so many interesting restaurants now. All in all this was a very calm and comfortable stay at one of the very few first class hotels in Essaouira. Compared with other hotels it is definitely rather pricey though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jethro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your review About the atmosphere of our house and service. It is true that the circulation in the medina becomes a problem and I will forward your comments to city authorities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A delightful hotel, well managed with good staff and delicious food. We passes 3 days in this beautiful and well situated.Nice Moroccan atmosphere in a truly pleasant hotel. The room are large enough and nice decorated.
Nice arabic perfume smell inside the hotel. Check- in took some time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment regarding your recent stay at Heure Bleue Palais. It is a great pleasure to receive your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Relais & Chateaux rarely disappoints… and L’Heure Bleue Palais is no exception. We had a lovely three night stay here after doing some travelling around Morocco. Much needed R&R time. It was the perfect place to unwind – and is truly an oasis within the hectic and congested medina.

The service was great. We were upgraded to a suit on the second floor which provided us a nice size room we could read and relax in. The décor is very similar to a Raffles.
The breakfast was great – and we enjoyed being able to sit each morning in the beautiful courtyard while enjoying the buffet and reading the newspaper (a few international papers available.) In the evenings – we enjoyed the library / bar – difficult to capture its elegance in photos, really a very nice room. We also enjoyed the billiards / snooker room. It was a bit chilly for the pool, but we did spend a lot of time on the roof terrace for lunch and just lounging and reading.

I had every intention of tying out the Hamas… but somehow was not able to fit that in during my three days of doing nothing! (Good sign of having some good down time!) Based on the service, décor, cleanliness and overall aesthetics at this hotel – I am sure it is great.

Room Tip: Higher floor have the larger suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Higbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay among us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Luxurious Hotel on the edge of the Medina. Very Expensive but beautiful place to stay. Reception staff welcoming and provided an excellent service. Rooftop terrace wonderful views and great location for breakfast. Service slow at breakfast and not the same high standard as other 5 star hotels I have stayed in. Crepes always arrived cold which was disappointing. I missed having a kettle in the room so that I could make tea or coffee when I wanted rather than having to wait for room service. I would stay again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serendipity47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
we thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comment which may help us make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakbank house hotel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for five nights and for the most part I would say the hotel is great.
The roof top pool and sun deck is probably as good as anything you could wish to find. The room was spacious and well maintained throughout our stay and breakfast served on the roof top is a joy. The staff were very friendly and helpful and created an atmosphere of peace and calm throughout.
The general cleanliness leaves a lot to be desired for a 5 Star Hotel. The floors although swept daily need washing. I used a wet flannel to rub three or four areas of tiling and the dirt lifted with no effort at all. It is a shame because the hotel could be spectacular.
Our biggest disappointment was the complete lack of menu translation available in the restaurant. Now at £40/50 per head I want to know what I am getting and if the hotel cannot see fit to print their menus in English then I, like several other couples I spoke to in the hotel, just go out to one of the many restaurants in town. Given we were there for five nights I would safely say the hotel lost at least £250 income from us alone and judging by the vacant dining tables every night that figure could be multiplied several times over.
I would also expect a better TV choice in the room in a 5 Star hotel. Half a dozen French channels and one English news channel is really poor. Satellite TV is expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OakbankHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
f_laustriat, General Manager at L'Heure Bleue Palais, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your message and your comments, our team is happy to know that you had a nice stay at Heure Bleue Palais.
Our room maids and maintenance staff are doing their utmost to ensure that cleanliness is is irreproachable but I will ensure that their cleaning utensils are also impeccable. I regret that you have had this feeling of abandonment of the English language as we translated the restaurant menu, the breakfast and the restaurant's terrace. It is true that the room service menu is not yet translated but we will do so immediately. For television, you're also right, we are working on a complete renovation of our park broadcasting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
3.1 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#12 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
4.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Heure Bleue Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Heure Bleue Palais

Property: L'Heure Bleue Palais
Address: 2 Rue Ibn Batouta | Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#11 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#23 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Heure Bleue Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A masterpiece of the Essaouira medina...this palace of marvels lies in the heart of this town loved by artists and aventurers alike. The panoramic outdoor pool on the terrasse overlopks the medina and the ocean. the cuisine offers a subtle blend of french and Moroccan influences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Priceline so you can book your L'Heure Bleue Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Heure Bleue Palais Hotel Essaouira
l`Heure Bleue Palais And Spa
l Heure Bleue Palais Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing