We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Zahra
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Easy to get to town and very close to the beach. The staff are excellent and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are well appointed and the decor is traditional. For what you pay it is well worth it. We would stay here is we come again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    144
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
168
279
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

What a particularly nice family run this really good little hotel. Not pretentious in any way, just good, clean, comfortable, and excellent value. And an enormous breakfast was included. I asked where I could hire a car and they kindly organized a car to be delivered to hotel which saved a lot of hassle and was good value. The owners were very friendly and the swimming pool is very nice. Two tortoises live in the garden!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Between two kite-surf lessons we wanted to have a proper lunch. although we didn't expect there to be a real restaurant (since it's called a riad), it happened to be one of the best experiences in Essouira (not the cheapses anyway). The view from the restaurant over the ocean (one block away from the beach) is brilliant and the food was delicious and surprising (in a good way). Traditional sea food with a creative twist. By the way: their different home made olive oil variations are definately a add on! If you're on the beach or go watersporting, this restaurant is one to keep in mind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runneeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My friends and I had a fantastic time at Riad Zahra. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Riad was beautiful (I've since been inspired to decorate my own place in a similar style) and very reasonably priced. The rooms were lovely. Location was great too. Close to the surfing area and not too far from the Medina.
The pool area was picturesque - surrounded by brightly coloured flowers. The turtles and tortoises provided hours of amusement. I would recommend it to anyone and would happily stay there again if I returned to Essaouira.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozzie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Riad Zahra, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks Rozzie for your fantastic review and I hope to see you again in Essaouira and in Riad Zahra.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nice familly stay, where we enjoy the place even as we experienced quite unusable bad weather (raining...).
Perfect situation as very close by walking from the beach & kite/winsurfing clubs, enabling the kids to go and come back alone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSuq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Riad for a total of four days and was overwhelmed by the hospitality of the owners and staff from the word go. After our welcome to the Riad, we were offered onsite assistance during our stay, which is always reassuring for foreign travellers.
The Riad is only a mere 20 minute stroll from the medina and tucked only minutes away from the beach. Breakfast every morning was exceptional (and super generous!), the room was clean and comfortable and the constant attention from the friendly staff was such a pleasant surprise and made our stay truly memorable.
The poolside was a welcome retreat from the crazy beachside wind, while the Riad's restaurant offered a fabulous range of fresh, Spanish-inspired food. It's just a shame we weren't there long enough to see the opening of the new restaurant!
What really sealed the deal for us was the constant attention to detail from the owners. The family-run environment made it the perfect place to stay. I highly recommend this Riad for anyone considering a trip to Essaouira - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Found our stay at this Riad to be rather disappointing after staying in wonderful riads in Fez and Marrakech. Foyer area very nice, and the staff were helpful and welcoming. Rooms were dowdy and the shower areas need updating. No flyscreens on the windows, so could not open. Beds extremely hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast was poor and as previously noted lin other reviews eft uncovered. We had dinner in the restaurant upstairs. Two of the meals were extremely poor quality. Reasonable pool area, though can get crowded and insufficient seating around perimeter. Short walk to the beach, Very disappointed with the beach, as it was quite dirty and had a lot of broken glass. Nice walk or cheap taxi ride to town centre. A couple of nice restaurants/cafes on the walk into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyNessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
4.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#4 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zahra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra

Property: Riad Zahra
Address: 90 Amira Lalla Meryem | Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes' walk from the beach and 20 minutes from the Medina and souks, you'll find this family run Riad with its 23 bedrooms has everything you need for a delightful holiday as a family, a couple or with friends. Riad Zahra is in the residential quarter of Essaouira. All its comfortable bedrooms are decorated in traditional Moroccan style and have en suite bath rooms, satellite TV and Wifi. There are family sized rooms, others have balconies and some enjoy a sea view. And you'll enjoy meals in our two restaurants whose great range of Moroccan, Asian and Spanish dishes is enhanced by a wide choice of the Kingdom's wines. Open air swimming pool, terraces and parking. We'll happily help you organize your stay and can recommend places to visit, restaurants, surfing and kitesurf schools, rides on horse or camels, transfers from airports, vehicle hire ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Zahra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing