We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“2 mins walk to beach, 20 mins walk to Medina or a very cheap taxi ride.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zahra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Zahra
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“2 mins walk to beach, 20 mins walk to Medina or a very cheap taxi ride.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Riad Zahra and really enjoyed our stay.
The Riad staff are very welcoming, a special mention to Jeffrey, who always had a smile on his face and was eager to please. The food in the upstairs restaurant is amazing, the chef is a great chef with a fab sense of humour. The food in the downstairs restaurant, could've been better. Breakfast was ok but the same thing every day got a bit much, could've done with an option and maybe some fruit. The tables were set up with the food ready for people to come to breakfast and the flies got there before the clientele each time as food was left uncovered. Was a bit unclean too, we ate downstairs one evening and there were still crumbs left on the seats and floor from breakfast.
The rooms were very dark and in need of a bit of a spruce up and the beds were too hard and uncomfortable. As no air conditioning became very hot too, struggled with keeping windows open because of the Mosquitos. Had a couple of cockroaches too.
Essaouira Medina is a good place for a wander and food and we felt quite safe there and unhassled by the locals. In all it was a good trip.
The Riad itself was lovely on the inside and if these things could be rectified, I would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room as people who were upstairs suffered with the heat even more than we did i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    144
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
168
279
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Riad Zahra is a beautiful property and very authentic. We spent 6 nights here. All of the staff were very polite and efficient. The room was very comfortable. We ate in both restaurants and the food was superb. The Riad Zahra is perfect if you are in Essaouira for kite surfing as it is across the road from the main beach (a two minute walk). The Riad provides weather information for those that need the wind for their holiday!

It is an enjoyable 20 min stroll from the main town or you can take a taxi for around 80p.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Riad Zahra is a wonderful Riad with a perfect location less than 100m to the beach and a short 15 min walk (or 5 min taxi) into the Medina. Riad Zahra is not only great for singles but couples and families. It has a wonderful welcoming feel and a very friendly atmosphere with staff being able to speak a number of languages. Rooms are large and perfectly adequete for everyone's needs. Great range of food can be bought through out the day not only in the pool side restaurant, but upstairs in their new tapas and grill restaurant. Would recommend this Riad to anyone travelling to Essaouria and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiec23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location of the riad is graet. it is in front of the seaside and not far from the medina (20 minutes by feet, 5 by taxi,car or touristic train)
The rooms are clean, and quite big, We had three beds, even if we are a couple. The breakfast is very good and plenty of delicious food : there are the crepes too. There are also two restaurants: one traditional one and a spanish one. We had dinner at the spanish one. It was very good. During the night there is no noise, the temperature is fine. We slept very well.
There is also a little swimming pool. and the possibility to rent surf and kite-surf equipment , or to book some surf and kite-surf lessons.( no wind-surf lessons and equipment)
The owners are a family of spanish . They are very kind and they speaks italian too. They helped us have a great vacation . I would recommend this structure

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Patrizia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Riad Zahra definitely is one of the place you should consider to stay when in Essaouira. Even when it is slightly out of town, the atmosphere is great. The owners are really nice - Spanish/French - and will go out of their way to help you out with tips and advice. The two restaurants are great. We did not try the tapas, but this is available. The pool is superb and the two turtles swimming in there add a spark to it all. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Who ever designed the web page for this riad should be shot. It is very decieving. It is not right on the beach and the walk to the madina is probably 20 minutes, plus. The owners are delightful but we had booked through an agent and were expecting twin beds (was travelling with a girlfriend) and as two women we wanted our own beds. It is very dark and didn't look clean. The owners helped us find other accommodation which was much more to our liking as we were a five minute walk to the madina. Shopping in Essaouira far surpassed Marrakesh not only in price but in choice as well. I would definitely go back to Essaouira but wouldn't stay at Riad Zahra.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BermudaBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The Riad Zahra is a wonderfull budget hotel with a great location 30 seconds from the beach and about 15 minutes beachfront walk to the centre of town. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, genuinely felt that everybody wanted you to have the best time possible. Room was cleaned every day and had everything you required to a good standard. Both restaurants served good food for a good price. Going to the upstairs restaurant for a beer and freshly cooked tapas looking out over the beach at the setting sun, after an afternoon on the water was a perfect end to the day!

hotel is located right next door to a brilliant kitesurf/watersports school which made it easy for renting equipment and arranging lessons. Staff were equaly as helpfull and also arranged twice weekly client meals. excellent way to meet new friends and get to know all the staff whilst being shown some great eating spots around the town

The outdoor pool was clean and refreshingly cold and even included a pair of sunbathing turtles. there was also plently of pool side seating and sun loungers.

would definately recommend the Riad Zahra and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
4.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#20 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zahra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zahra

Property: Riad Zahra
Address: 90 Amira Lalla Meryem | Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zahra 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just two minutes' walk from the beach and 20 minutes from the Medina and souks, you'll find this family run Riad with its 23 bedrooms has everything you need for a delightful holiday as a family, a couple or with friends. Riad Zahra is in the residential quarter of Essaouira. All its comfortable bedrooms are decorated in traditional Moroccan style and have en suite bath rooms, satellite TV and Wifi. There are family sized rooms, others have balconies and some enjoy a sea view. And you'll enjoy meals in our two restaurants whose great range of Moroccan, Asian and Spanish dishes is enhanced by a wide choice of the Kingdom's wines. Open air swimming pool, terraces and parking. We'll happily help you organize your stay and can recommend places to visit, restaurants, surfing and kitesurf schools, rides on horse or camels, transfers from airports, vehicle hire ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Zahra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zahra Mogador Essaouira
Riad Zahra Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing