We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near Perfect for the Price. Totally delightful.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Near Perfect for the Price. Totally delightful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

An excellent hotel which I doubt could be beaten for value, friendliness, location or service. We were given a surprise upgrade from the €39 double room to the larger, very attractive, first floor "suite" which usually costs €79 (a bargain even at that price) consisting of a bedroom, salon, bathroom, extra sleeping space on a mezzanine + free breakfast. The upgrade may have been due to us being in Essaouira "out of season" (a perfectly sunny Winter!) but there seemed to be a constant stream of guests so popular is this hotel - I guess we were lucky. My wife and I were very impressed by the young staff members who were extremely polite and genuinely kind. The rooms are spotless, heating was provided and the Riad is beautifully kept. The management of this hotel seems to be very serious about maintaining its well deserved reputation. The hotel is located in the medina in a quiet lane way - could be hard to find on your own. We were met at the Bab Shabab gate and guided to the hotel upon our arrival. Les Matins Bleus is up there with some of the best small, economical hotels we have stayed at anywhere in the world. Congratulations - near perfect for the price. Totally delightful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dalpob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    124
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
97
210
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Leonards on sea, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at Les Matins Bleus for 2 weeks and had a wonderful relaxing stay. The Raid is perfectly located in the Medina.
The hosts genuinely want to please and help you have a nice stay, and are so respectful and pleasant it is very heartwarming.
Everything is very clean and the decor beautiful.
Breakfast served daily on the patio or dining room, all at your convenience. We had dinner 3 evenings, 3 course meal for 90 dirhams and any special meals would be cooked, what ever you fancy!!
I would recommend this hotel , and will defiantly return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor with easy access to the patio and roof terrace. Wi fi was still ok up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stleonardsonsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oeiras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

nice/good:
nice suite for 4 inc. 2 bathrooms
simple and cosy small riad, nice ambient music
silence, good to rest
nice "continental" breakfast served

to improve:
access through a not obvious dead-end street (hard to find)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicasOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very charming hotel right in the middle of the medina. I stayed in the single room and I loved it. The decor was so cute. Staff was very nice and friendly, breakfast was simple but good. I would definately recommand this place for single travelers and families.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

First the residence of a caïd , then a primary school and now a family run Riad. It became our home port and first stop always when visiting Morocco. Fresh orange juice, Moroccan pancakes with honey on the terrace in the morning sun. We love it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wimAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Best location and quiet area, beautiful family house, typical. A little noisy if you want to rest... The hosts are very nice (a whole family) and have the house for generations... An artist house ! The deco is great and so typical.

Room Tip: Finally the most quiet rooms are the cheapest on the terrace/roof, I hardly recommand... The suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dupont N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our fourth visit to this little riad hotel was just as enjoyable as the rest. The staff do their utmost to make your stay comfortable and relaxing, and the hotel is kept spotlessly clean every day. It is super-convenient for all the sights of the town and the staff can give you helpful advice and info on anything you want to see or do. Excellent value for money and a relaxing, intimate holiday break.

Room Tip: Single or doubles are available downstairs plus a family size suite, more doubles on the top sun ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#13 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Matins Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Property: Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Address: 22 rue Draa, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#13 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Matins Bleus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Les Matins Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Matins Bleus Essaouira
Les Matins Bleus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing