We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The friendliest hotel in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Ranked #19 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The friendliest hotel in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our fourth visit to this little riad hotel was just as enjoyable as the rest. The staff do their utmost to make your stay comfortable and relaxing, and the hotel is kept spotlessly clean every day. It is super-convenient for all the sights of the town and the staff can give you helpful advice and info on anything you want to see or do. Excellent value for money and a relaxing, intimate holiday break.

Room Tip: Single or doubles are available downstairs plus a family size suite, more doubles on the top sun ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    120
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
92
192
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We loved hanging out both on the terrace during the day and in the well-decorated inside area on the main floor (complete with music of your choice at night). Most importantly, the staff was incredibly friendly and genuinely nice. Apparently we're not the first to notice. We ran into a couple who had been coming here for years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fobodysnault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The place was in a great location in the Medina. Staff was Super friendly. And every day the room was cleaned & straightened up. We had a great stay, so much my father inlaw is moving to this hotel for the next 2 weeks from his previous riad.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duanestunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A good place to stay for the price. Rooms and amenities are basic, but clean. Location is central in Essaouira's medina and very easy to find based on the map on their website. Best part of this place is the staff. It's run by the young family members who are personable and ready to help you out with any questions. Breakfast is served on the terrace and is lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaimebien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I loved Les Matins Bleus! The atmosphere is incredible. Its more than charming. Its like a hidden treasure. The first floor has an open dining area, but then several smaller lounge-like rooms that are very cozy at night. I enjoyed time at night just drawing and drinking mint tea (delivered by a friendly and extremely helpful staff). I had the smallest room, which had a bathroom outside the door, but it was perfect. The room was very comfortable, and even though it was warm, they offered an extra heater just in case. Breakfast staff was attentive, offering me more coffee as needed. Desk staff was also very helpful. The decor was beautiful--every detail considered. I wish I lived there! Also, it was an incredible value. Highly, highly, recommended!

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure any room is a good room. I had the smallest, and it was still great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 2 nights in March 2013, and it was lovely. It was well located and not too hard to find with a map. The staff were very friendly and gave us recommendations for places to eat. The included breakfast was good. It’s worth asking for a room on the top floor as you’ll have a very nice sight when you wake and these will have natural daylight. The website pictures definitely don't do it justice...!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I staid for 1 week in feb 2013 in this lovely little old family house. We understood from the young familymembers who run the place that it used to be a primaryschool and that they lived for several generations in it. It is situated in the heart of the old Medina: so an excellent location to discover the beautiful city. And surprisingly tranquil. The personel is unbeleavably friendly, modern / liberal (they say themselves: 'Muslim light') and speak many languages excellent! They make time for you, every contactmoment they have a friendly word and make a short chat. They serve a lovely breakfast, fresh orangejuice every morning and fresh bread! The rooms are just perfect, not very spacious but clean and charming, with a hot shower! They managed a taxy from the airport for us and one of the brothers even accompanied us to the house of a painter and negotiated for us. Essaouira is a pearl to discover and my girlfriend and I are very happy that we picked this place to stay. So highly recommended!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#9 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#22 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#36 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
5.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#42 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Matins Bleus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Matins Bleus

Property: Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Address: 22 rue Draa, Essaouira 44100, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Essaouira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#13 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Matins Bleus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Les Matins Bleus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Matins Bleus Essaouira
Les Matins Bleus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing