We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
218
107
21
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
218
107
21
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop terrace excellent location third floor the owner enjoyed our stay guest house cleaned daily every morning the main square visiting essaouira stayed for nights breakfast was delicious pancakes clement riad medina windsurf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 357 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

I’m very disappointed with riad al zahia. The bed was infected with bugs and there was blood on the sheets! Dont know if it was coming from me or from the bugs. I had to literally sleep on the floor until the sun came up. Everywhere I looked I could see a bug ! So disgusting and horrible! The owner had my comment deleted on their official facebook page so I hope it doesn't get deleted here as well.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Rajaa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riadzahia, Gerente at Riad Al Zahia, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Hi Rajaa,

First of all, we regret the damage and that you have had such an unpleasant experience, be sure that we are taking all possible measures to solve the problem, we are the first ones interested in solving it asap...

However, I would like to inform you that the bed bugs are like tics; they jump on an individual's clothing, suitcase etc and are TRANSPORTED. There is nothing we can do to prevent bed bugs. Ask a pest control specialist. We can only react when guests have transported bed bugs to our property at which point, like any other insect or animal, the bugs will procreate. Bed bugs bite and leave itchy marks. They are not fun, and they can be difficult to get rid of without a pest control specialist. But demonizing our Riad that are unfortunate enough to have guests bring bed bugs to our establishment is not very correct. These things are found not only in hotels, but taxis, buses and any other public places... It doesn't matter if it is a good or a bad place! They just jump on one of us to be transported, we have been unlucky at this time...

We would also like to make it very clear that bed bugs have nothing to do with the cleanliness of a hotel, business or even a person.

We apologize again and hope you reconsider this publication.

Thanks in advance and best regards,

Riad Al Zahia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2019

The Riad Al Zaina is a very charming and quiet Riad with a cozy inside space and a beautiful rooftop terrace. The room (suite Soukaina) was a two bedroom suite on the third floor just under the rooftop was spacious. We are a couple with 2 children (3 and 6 years). The bathroom functional and clean. The suite was cleaned daily. We very much enjoyed the breakfast fast every morning on tue rooftop terrace. It was plentiful and varied. The location of the Riad was perfect, very central, close to the shops amd to a lot of restaurants. Yet it was in a quiet alleyway away from the hustle and bustle of the main shops.

Room tip: Suite Soukaina is a two bedroom suite on the third floor just under the rooftop is spacious
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed staying 3 nights here in this Riad, loved the overall design, each room has a different design yet all have that traditional Moroccan feel. Breakfast every morning at the rooftop was very nice; we also spent lovely afternoon on the rooftop with traditional Moroccan mint tea served. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The location of the Riad is superb, is in the medina and is within walking distance to the main square, but then again, Essaouira is a tiny town so everything is close. Overall, it’s a lovely Riad that I highly recommend if you are visiting Essaouira.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank fionavirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Perfect experience in that place! Clean, very well located and the people so nice! Even they recommended best places for surf and windsurf out of Essaouira depending on the forecast. We will be back soon!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Journey820368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Everything about the riad was wonderful: every room is unique and beautifully decorated, very well located in a very calm street in the medina, the breakfast is delicious and most importantly the staff are so friendly and helpful ! I recommand it to everyone who is visiting essaouira.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Camelia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews