We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, friendly staff”
Review of Riad Al Zahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Al Zahia
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault this riad. Absolutely beautiful with friendly staff right in the centre of the town. Only stayed for one evening but wish we could have been there for longer. Beautiful roof terrace for breakfast too! Amazing riad. Amazing essouira

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank hestablueburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    90
    21
    1
    6
See reviews for
56
107
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you get here after staying at another riad, you will find that this is more of a hotel or B&B place. Notwithstanding, is really nice, well kept and in a nice and secure place, close to really nice restaurants.

The owners were very nice to us when we had to interact, and by chance we got an upgrade to one of the suites that I guess the person who reserved it didn’t want since it is on the 4 or 5th floor and there is no elevator… and our original room was in the 2nd floor =D

Daily breakfast was nice, fulfilling and fresh… nothing incredible but what a breakfast should be, it was served on the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eli_Per_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed with our 2 children in the Zuleica Suite and it is a great room for a family (nice bathroom by the way...). Breakfast on the roof is a treat and the ladies serve nice things like pancakes, fresh orange juice, bread etcetera
We also had a meal downstairs the day we arrived and we loved it. Tajine au poulet..mmm. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We strongly recommend this stylish Riad!

Room Tip: Zuleica Suite is nice for a family with kids, because you have a second bedroom divided by a door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henkjantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This riad is very well decorated, clean and in an excellent location in a nice and quiet side street, whilst being close enough to good restaurants and the beach.
But there were downsides; we didn't feel completely welcome, all the staff were very pleasant when spoken to but it felt like a generic hotel, they were just there to do their job. We didn't receive any introduction welcome like in some riads (with mint tea, introduction to area etc) and one night we stayed for dinner and the service we received was rushed and awkward, we just did not feel like they wanted us there. Not once were we asked how our meal was and the person seemed more interested in talking to his friends outside then serving his guests. if we wanted a drink we had to find someone to ask them and when we found them we had the impression it was a chore.
The breakfast was lovely each day on the roof terrace but it was the same thing each morning, in another riad we stayed in they varied it each day which was really nice.
These issues were a big disappointment for us because if they were addressed it would receive top marks.

Room Tip: We upgraded our room to the zahia suite which I would recommend as our first room 'Leila' ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyfejournies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1,386 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at Riad Al Zahia with our 5 kids based on a recommendation from a friend. It was an excellent choice, centrally located in the medina. Not too expensive and a terrific roof deck for breakfast…you can also catch the sunset from up there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misopiso88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The riad is very nice but... Some service people were quite accidental and were uncapable of helping in anything. We did not feel welcome. The others fortunately were better. The room was spacious but with specific smell that we were not too comfortable with. Overall clean but without that focus to details that gives a place a sense of unforgettable experience. I felt more as a client than as a guest. Hospitality on a similar level to all inclusive hotels and i would expect more in case of riad. Fortunately the owner helped us in solving some issues with the booking and girl from the staff to organize a nice trip outside of the town. In my opinion the owner should pay more attention to the place and employees because it has a great potential.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawelek777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Well located. A very beautiful riad, peaceful and cosy.
Spotlessly clean. Wonderful welcoming, helpful staff. The rooftop terrace is a great place to chill and an ideal breakfast spot.
I had a fantastic stay and I will be back in Essaouira
and this very riad, Insh'alla. Big thanks to the staff,
in particular Sara, Abdullah and the breakfast lady. I would also highly recommend the restaurant next door, M'riste Jouhar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meerkatjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Zahia

Property: Riad Al Zahia
Address: 4 Rue Mohamed El Bakkal | Medina, Essaouira 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Zahia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Zahia is one of the best places to spend a few days in Essaouira, with friends, on family or in couple Essaouira has lots to offer, to visit and to see, and Riad AL Zahia has the best location to explore it all.We have all kind of rooms for everybody doubles, triples, twins and family rooms, all rooms are different styled, cossy and very confortable, average big and high roof with its private bathrooms.We have a lovely terrasse where you can have your breakfast admiring the beautifull Ocean and the wonderful roofs of the medina, like a tale!!Book your tickets now, Essaouira is waiting for you, be very welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Al Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing