We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to relax”
Review of Riad Al Zahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Al Zahia
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona
1 review
“Excellent place to relax”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

After 5-6 days of travelling around Morocco is always nice to make a stop at Essaouira to relax a little from all the frenzy of Morocco.. Essaouira is a beautiful place where you can relax at the beach and yet it also has the Morocco charm as it has its own medina with its markets and shops, yet in a more civilized way that the other more caothic medinas of Morocco. There are a couple of very good restaurants (I specially recommend Chez Sam) a restaurant made out of wood located at the sea port.. really nice. Essaouira is also very attractive for Windsurfers and the dessert and other activities are accesible from there. Very attrractive place for couples and familes.

Within Essaouira, Riad Al Zahia is definetely one of the best places to stay. Every single detail of the decoration of the hotel is very well thought, with attractive colors and nice paintings. So are the rooms which are decorated differently with very good taste. Needless to say the rooms and everything is very clean. The best is the breakfast, amazing breakfast! You are offered Thé and Coffe plus bread with different mermelades. Yet if you want some eggs it is possible and they are delicious, served with spices on the top. Clemente and Sara are great hosts, speak different languages and they can guide you on what to do in Essaouira and can arrange trips around for you. I would highly recommended this hotel couples as the place is calm and charming.

I hope to come back one day..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio Emilio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    94
    21
    2
    6
See reviews for
56
110
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Refurbished Riad in the medina of this nice medieval town. Although they owners had done their best to bring it up to standard, they had forgotten certain elements. For instance our bathroom was very damp, smelly, torn down. Please bring these up to standard and you will have a wonderful riad!

Room Tip: Choose your room as high up as possible (unless you travel during the very hot season) to get more l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvodbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nrw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2012

amazing hotel: the doors open to a beautifully decorated house with lovely details, excellent staff, clean and spacious rooms, sunny roof top for breakfast or tanning - sounds and views of the ocean included.
stepping out of the hotel around the next corner, we were right in the middle of the oriental business of the colorful medina of Essaouira. we should have stayed longer .....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safranundzimt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Four of us enjoyed our stay at the riad. Our hosts, Clemente and his girlfriend, were helpful in providing us local dining and hamam recommendations. Overall the riad is a good value for its price. The rooms smelled a little musty and the windows of most of the rooms open up onto the inner courtyard landings, so we didn't keep them open when we weren't there for safety reasons (although we never heard/saw anything that would make us believe it to be unsafe). While in Morocco, we stayed at several different price points with this riad being the least expensive and we all thought it was a wonderful place, but don't expect the same amenities that come with more expensive locations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window that is over the courtyard and not overlooking a landing to ensure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rj9friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Riad Al Zahia in October 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The riad was initially a little tricky to find but the locals were very helpful in directing us, and then we learned the Riad was central to both the souks and the beach. We booked an offer for bed, breakfast and evening meal which caused some confusion as the staff were not aware and tried to charge again for dinner, but the manager was really helpful and the misunderstanding was easily sorted out. (It turns out we could have had dinner in the riad every night for the same price - so check out the details on arrival of any offers like this!) The meal we did have was a delicious tagine, and the riad has a lovely reading and dining room where you can relax with a glass of wine. The rooms in the riad are beautiful and add to the seaside atmosphere - we stayed in the 'Ilham' room which had a lovely 4-poster bed.

All in all, Riad Al Zahia is a lovely riad in a good location if you are staying in Essaouira and we would recommend it highly to other visitors.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I have to admit we really enjoyed our stay in this wonderful riad.

It's very well located close to the Medina but, at the same time, We could sleep peacefully and quietly.

The rooms are clean and very comfortable and you can really feel the Moroccan essence. The terrace is just amazing... You can relax and sunbathe and feel a gentle breeze all the time.

But the best of all is its generous breakfast... mouth-watering crêpes, pastries and so on.

I fully recommend it !!!!! :))

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green_power_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

A lovely riad smack bang in the centre of the medina, ideally located for the delights of this wonderful town. Rooms were basic but nicely furnished and clean.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrLSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#37 of 74 in Essaouira
263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#15 of 74 in Essaouira
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Zahia

Property: Riad Al Zahia
Address: 4 Rue Mohammed Diouri | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Zahia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Zahia is one of the best places to spend a few days in Essaouira, with friends, on family or in couple Essaouira has lots to offer, to visit and to see, and Riad AL Zahia has the best location to explore it all.We have all kind of rooms for everybody doubles, triples, twins and family rooms, all rooms are different styled, cossy and very confortable, average big and high roof with its private bathrooms.We have a lovely terrasse where you can have your breakfast admiring the beautifull Ocean and the wonderful roofs of the medina, like a tale!!Book your tickets now, Essaouira is waiting for you, be very welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Al Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing