We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Thoroughly Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Jardin des Douars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Jardin des Douars
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We pulled up in a taxi (10 minutes from Essaouira and 300 dhm!, we subsequently found out that we could have the shuttle bus return for 175 dhm) and all we could say was 'Wow!' The gardens were just beautiful. We were met by Khalid and Nani, both spoke very good English. We (2 couples) had been upgraded to the Mogador Suite, which was a lovely surprise. We were shown around inside and out and we all agreed that it was a special place. Evening meal is either a set menu (you give notice that you want to eat that evening by putting your room number on a blackboard) or a la carte. Food was reasonably priced, alcohol isn't cheap in Morroco, so no different here. The suite had 2 double bedrooms, a lounge and a huge bathroom. It was wonderful to take a shower with the french doors open and the breeze coming in without being overlooked. Quick mention here that it is very windy at this time of year, nice during the heat of the day though.

Le Jardin des Douars has such a relaxing atmosphere, we instantly felt like we were on holiday. I would definately come back to stay and would recommend it for couples/adults (children may get bored as there isn't anything to do apart from the pool). I thought it was a nice touch that everyone had an equal share in any gratuities left, from the front of house staff to the cleaners and gardeners.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you had such a good time here at Le Jardin des Douars. We were very pleased to host you during those days. And we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    81
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
275
253
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely place, beautiful gardens, clean rooms, amazing food and friendly, helpful staff. Extremely relaxing, nothing is too much trouble for the staff and it all feels rather luxurious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hrhjgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We were glad to welcome you in our little paradise! We hope that yo had a good trip back to home, and that we'll see you soon again.

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed on our Honeymoon and had an absolutely amazing time. The Gardens are beautifully kept and provide a welcome oasis for the weary explorer and from intensity of the Medina's.

The food was superb, a blend of fine Moroccan and French cuisine. What made it extra special for us were the fantastic staff who were charming, patient with our poor 'French'! and clearly very proud of their workplace.

Here are our top tips which seem to be the main hang ups for the unhappy visitors.

• Location and transfers:

It is a 10 minute trip out of town in the countryside, as one would expect such a gorgeous site to be, therefore if you are of the exploring type bring a car. JDD do offer a pre-book shuttle town transfer which is cheaper and more comfortable than using a petit taxi.

• Book to suit a family or peace seekers:

JDD is absolutely perfect for families, the gardens provide great entertainment for little explorers being enclosed and safe & secure. The service is consistently good which is why families return. There ARE separate accommodation, restaurants and room options for those who want seclusion, but DO be sympathetic that is hard for JDD to keep both families and peace seeking couples 100% happy and separate, especially during peak periods and the (Belgium?) school holidays. Therefore book outside these periods if peace and silence is of upmost importance to you.

• Wi-Fi & the internet:

There is Wi-Fi but don't expect blisteringly fast speeds, dial-up at best, it will probably improve with future technologies however be sympathetic... you are in Africa and in the countryside. Perhaps appreciate the break from work and the internet - you are on holiday after all!

• French & Arabic speaking?

If you speak poor French (like us). Work on some of your keywords, bring or download a translator, particularly useful for menus. The senior and checking staff speak good English, however the service staff have a limited vocabulary but are keen to work on their English and happy to help you with your French. Respect that you are in another country. Have fun with it... gestures go a long way :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We really want to thank you for your nice review and support! It seems that you have been won over by the Jardin des Douars spirit and atmosphere. Nothing to add except : congratulations for your engagement with your wife!

We hope to see you soon around here!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Peaceful and relaxing stay. Amazing food and very friendly helpful staff. Spa on site. About 20 minutes drive from the beach for those wishing to do water sports. Stayed in a luxe room which was spacious and had a very large bath. Recommended for a relaxing break!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review! We were very happy to welcome you for your honeymoon.
We send you some Souiri sun in case Leeds is a bit cloudy!
And we hope to see you soon in our little paradise...

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

In my opinion this is what luxury is about: charming and well kept premises, friendly and efficient service, attention to detail, reasonably sized. Highlights were: massages at the spa, 25m swimming pool besides a smaller family friendly one, Moroccan pancakes at breakfast, fireplaces in the "douaria" apartments, and staff friendliness.
We stayed on a special occasion and everyone at Jardin des Douars strived to make it a success.
Rarely have I so much looked forward to staying somewhere again as I am at JdD.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petitdobrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review!
We also think that this is how luxury should be, so we're glad you liked it.
We wish you a good trip back home, and hope to see you soon in Essaouira.

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Right from the start, this place exceeded our expectations. We were given the warmest welcome, and were made to feel genuinely valued. All of the staff were very attentive and friendly. The chef was brilliant, producing absolutely outstanding food. My wife was unwell for a couple of days (nothing to do with the hotel I might add!) and they really went out of their way for her; to try and help in any way they could. The breakfast was generous, very tasty and fresh. The setting of this hotel/riad is amazing, so tranquil and beautiful. We really couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandBethWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Steve & Beth,

Thank you for your nice feedback! It was a pleasure to welcome you warmly.
We hope you went back home with good memories, and we wait for your next visit in our little paradise!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

A week in a different world: we had a week traveling with 3 kids (10 and 8 yr+a baby of 3 months) and needed sun. This place was clean, nicely located and is having a friendly staff. Breakfast simple but great. Lunch and dinner French / Moroccan orientated. On demand huttle busses can be organized to Essaouira or environment (as well as taxi's to airport in Marrakesh). Room we had was large (Mogidor), with 2 bedrooms, living and bathroom. Older girls had a great beach horse ride (can also be organized via staff)! We had a wonderful week!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaapjanboelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review! We were very happy to welcome your family here in Essaouira, end we're glad you had a good time.
Have a good trip back home, and see you soon in Morocco.

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.4 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Baoussala
Riad Baoussala
#1 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
5.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#22 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin des Douars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin des Douars

Property: Le Jardin des Douars
Address: Douar Sidi Yassine - Ida Oueguerd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Jardin des Douars 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Essaouira hills, sheltered from the high winds in a magnificent natural setting formed over millennia by the Ksob Oued (river), the Jardin des Douars is a beautiful guest ksar (palace) dedicated to lovers of nature, authenticity, simplicity and kindness. A guesthouse of charm in voluptuous forms, constructed in accordance with Moroccan traditions and materials, combining a subtle refinement of decoration with the luxuriance of a garden for real relaxation and simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Le Jardin des Douars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Des Douars Hotel Essaouira
Le Jardin Des Douars Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing