We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Absolutely loved this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Jardin des Douars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Jardin des Douars
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Right from the start, this place exceeded our expectations. We were given the warmest welcome, and were made to feel genuinely valued. All of the staff were very attentive and friendly. The chef was brilliant, producing absolutely outstanding food. My wife was unwell for a couple of days (nothing to do with the hotel I might add!) and they really went out of their way for her; to try and help in any way they could. The breakfast was generous, very tasty and fresh. The setting of this hotel/riad is amazing, so tranquil and beautiful. We really couldn't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandBethWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Steve & Beth,

Thank you for your nice feedback! It was a pleasure to welcome you warmly.
We hope you went back home with good memories, and we wait for your next visit in our little paradise!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    81
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
275
253
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

A week in a different world: we had a week traveling with 3 kids (10 and 8 yr+a baby of 3 months) and needed sun. This place was clean, nicely located and is having a friendly staff. Breakfast simple but great. Lunch and dinner French / Moroccan orientated. On demand huttle busses can be organized to Essaouira or environment (as well as taxi's to airport in Marrakesh). Room we had was large (Mogidor), with 2 bedrooms, living and bathroom. Older girls had a great beach horse ride (can also be organized via staff)! We had a wonderful week!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaapjanboelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review! We were very happy to welcome your family here in Essaouira, end we're glad you had a good time.
Have a good trip back home, and see you soon in Morocco.

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Le Jardin des Douars for a week with a group of 75 friends and we loved it. Friendly people and stunning surroundings. Easy access to the golf and beach. Our room (14) was a bit dark and beds are hard, but I talked to the owner and he told me that most rooms will be soon redecorated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLou68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to welcome your 75 friends during this amazing week! There was such a good atmosphere, even on that very rainy day.
We wish you a good trip back home, and we hope to see again pretty soon the most of you.

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for nearly two weeks and loved it. The architecture is just beautiful, all curves and rough edges and very atmospheric. And the gardens are gorgeous - full of hidden spaces, fragrant and loaded with fruits. The two pools are lovely and relaxing, if a little cold in October.

We had a small baby with us and found everyone really helpful about arranging cots and car seats - and the waiters were always available for a tickle!

We ate at the hotel every night. The food was almost always fantastic, and sometimes really exceptional. Even when it wasn't fantastic it was still very good, and the staff were friendly and really helpful. There is little English spoken on the hotel, which gets by mostly in French. But we saw that as an opportunity to practise what little we know.

Dinner time is a fixed menu affair which we felt helped the chef to maintain quality. It did however mean that there were occasions when we had a 3 courses meal when a bowl of soup would have been enough.

Prices were ok.

The only real disappointment for us was our bed which was not hugely comfortable - springy, not very padded and with poor quality linen and hard pillows. We didn't sleep all that well and heard similar grumbles from others.

I would also suggest that a non-smoking area in the restaurant would be a good idea. There were loads of children and babies when we were there so it seemed strange that the occasional chain smoker could happily pollute our dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sdsteinhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for this nice feedback!
We were very happy to share those moments with you.

About the pool, as the weather is getting a little bit colder now, we've just start the heating system.

And for the bed, you right it is a point that we have to improve. That's why we ordered at the beginning of October new mattresses, linens, pillows and bases for all our rooms. We chose a very nice quality. We will receive everything by the end of november, so you will have to come back to try!

We wish you a good trip back home!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nothing was too much for the Le Jardin team including locating my lost engagement ring! For which I will be forever grateful. One memory which will stick in my mind is arriving late at night and walking up passed reception and being overwhelmed by the wonderful smell of all the flowers in the beautiful gardens. I think the only slight downside is the temperature of the children's pool which left our two year boys' teeth chattering.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to help you with your engagement ring! And your right, nothing is too much if we can help our guests enjoying their holidays here.

We wish you a good trip back home with your two very cute little boys!

Toute l'équipe du Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

We took a taxi from Marrakech and were delighted to arrive after our 2 hour journey at this stunning location. The mature gardens with cascades of blossoms and exotic plants make it a mini Kew Gardens! We stayed at one of the little houses away from the main house which was quiet and private. Although there were lots of families staying which I think is to be expected anywhere in the school holidays, the 2 swimming pools is a great idea - one for families and children and one for adults meant that we could swim in peace. Our stay was memorable, and have every intention of returning. The staff are delightful and helpful, the food is fantastic and our visits to the surrounding area and countryside were well worth the hire of a car. The beaches took my breath away. I will remember our stay with a smile on my face for a long time to come, especially in the depths of the English winter.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastien L, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Jane,

Thank yo very much for your nice review! We're glad that you had great moments hear at Essaouira and especially at Le Jardin des Douars. We will welcome you again with pleasure during English winter, the Moroccan one is way more softer of course :-)!

King regards,

The whole team of Le Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The owners were very welcoming and hospitable when we arrived and continued to be so throughout our stay. The surroundings were nothing short of beautiful, and the choice of two gorgeous pools was a welcome surprise! We were given a room upgrade for free when we arrived which was also very kind. Breakfast was very generous and was the best we'd had throughout our stay. The room was brilliant and the shower was one of the best I've used. The hotel is very easy to find and is only a short 15 min drive away from Essaouria. Whilst the food was delicious it seemed expensive, but that's the only negative point I can raise from our experience at this hotel!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Temps4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Le Jardin des Douars, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your nice review!
It was a pleasure to have you here during those days!
We always try to uprgade our guests when it's possible... in ordre to be as generous as our breakfast.

We wish you a good trip back to home, and we hope to see you soon in Essaouira!

The whole team of Le Jardin des Douars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
3.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.4 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#7 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Baoussala
Riad Baoussala
#1 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
5.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#22 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.6 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Jardin des Douars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin des Douars

Property: Le Jardin des Douars
Address: Douar Sidi Yassine - Ida Oueguerd, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#6 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Jardin des Douars 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Essaouira hills, sheltered from the high winds in a magnificent natural setting formed over millennia by the Ksob Oued (river), the Jardin des Douars is a beautiful guest ksar (palace) dedicated to lovers of nature, authenticity, simplicity and kindness. A guesthouse of charm in voluptuous forms, constructed in accordance with Moroccan traditions and materials, combining a subtle refinement of decoration with the luxuriance of a garden for real relaxation and simplicity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Le Jardin des Douars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Jardin Des Douars Hotel Essaouira
Le Jardin Des Douars Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing