We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casablanca, Marrakech, Fez and Essaouira.”
Review of La Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa del Mar
Ranked #85 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Casablanca, Marrakech, Fez and Essaouira.”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

There were highlights in each city but the most relaxing stint of my holiday was La Casa del Mar and its proximity to the water.

I stayed in the Ibiza Room, but no parties here, just the sound of the ocean. The terrace, just one flight up from my room overlooked the coastline and was the PERFECT place for breakfast and to sit and read in the sunshine.
This quaint whitewashed riad is somewhere that I could picture myself living; its charming downstairs area with its cosy couches, open fireplace and fresh flowers.... what was not to love.

DubaiAmanda (previous review) what a wonderful and special way to spend your 40th birthday.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
13
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked the entire beach house for my 40th birthday.

When we arrived we couldn't believe how beautiful the communal area was in the ground floor. Open fire, vases of fresh roses, lovely chill out space ... We were so impressed.

Then we saw the rooms and we truly felt like we were in a beautiful beach house.

All the rooms were fabulous and full of character. Especially the family room with the mezzanine level...the boys loved sleeping in their special bunk bed!

Some of the rooms had sea views too :-)

The roof terrace was amazing ... The weather was very windy when we were there and watching the huge waves from the roof was breathtaking.

The breakfasts were delicious .. The lady cooked fresh bread and pancakes and they were just soooo tasty.

All the staff were extremely friendly and we want to come back again. The perfect place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golant
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at La Casa. We were lucky to have the top room - Mallorca, with the sound of the sea lulling us to sleep. The room was beautiful - enormous bed, and everything very - and a hot shower! (not everywhere can manage that) . The ladies who looked after us were so attentive, but quietly in the background. We were told to come and go as we pleased and to treat it as our home, and that's how it felt. Many thanks to Mouna and the ladies for making our stay so special. We wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully decorated, but the higher up the house, the nearer the sound of the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A small hotel maintained to a good standard located not far from the centre of Essaouira and with a view at the top overlooking the Atlantic sea. The staff are very helpful. I visited it for one night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What's not to love about Casa del Mar!!, which provided us with wonderful hospitality, superb location and exceptional value. We arrived with upset stomachs after being on the road for a while, and the owner Su and her manager, Mouna, prepared us a special cleansing dinner. We really appreciated a few days in the Casa's calm and relaxed atmosphere, the beautiful retreat on the roof-top terrace while listening to the surf crashing outside the walls, and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: We were in the Mallorca room, just below the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterandMary241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Beautiful interiors to the rooms and communal areas here. The roof terrace has a sea view. The staff were good but did not really offer any local tips or pointers. Also, some of the neighboring properties were a bit noisy at night which woke us up a couple of times. Would recommend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Claphamluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, in old town Essaouira just beside the wall overlooking the sea. Narrow streets just off the main walking street with all the merchants. Little Beautiful view watching waves breaking while having breakfast on the roof terrace. Very friendly and personal atmosphere. Each room a little different touch, clean and tidy. Hotel service super, recommend to book traditional Moroccan dinner home cooked in the hotel's open kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StockholmTravelsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
669 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
803 reviews
5.6 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mar

Property: La Casa del Mar
Address: 35 Rue Oujda | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in this old fishing port's medina, our traditional riad has been carefully restored keeping all its' colourful Moroccan charm and cosiness. 6 bedrooms each with their own ensuite shower room and sitting area; ground floor living area with fireplace for cooler evenings; and roof terrace for enjoying meals with stunning views over the rocky coastline. Our manageress Mouna will take full care of you, providing advice and delicious Moroccan evening meals on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing