We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic riad”
Review of La Casa del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa del Mar
Ranked #88 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic riad”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were so happy we stayed at La Casa del Mar, our room was perfectly spacious, clean, light, airy and comfortable. The riad was relaxed and the roof terrace was just gorgeous. We spent 3 nights here during our honeymoon and would certainly return. Great value and Mouna was very hospitable and friendly. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RHyllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    7
    9
    8
See reviews for
13
32
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Oh wow. What a place!! the interior decoration gives a very pleasant and comforting mood. The full white concept is the closest comparison to Santorini! :) The service is just wonderful...and the best part: they have a great terrace on the roof, which is just next to the beach!! so u wake up on the sound of waves...and feel the water breeze during breakfast!
on my second night I had to wake up at 6am to take pics of the beach at the first moments of sun rise from the roof... u should be able to see those on PICS! I went back to sleep right after to build up the energy to another long day in this wonderful city!

Room Tip: Only problem with our room was that the toilet was technically IN the room.. no door.. no window! th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lebanese_discoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzymaroc, Owner at La Casa del Mar, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your thoughts about your stay in my little Riad. Great to hear you had such a good time and found everything to your liking. Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

There's such an array of opinions, I felt I should put in my two cents. The riad is pretty much exactly how it looks in the pictures. Not more. Not less. I didn't have any problems with odd smells from the drain, and I was there during a rainstorm. If you enjoy listening to the sound of the waves, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DS646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana Parish, Andorra
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2011

The moment I stepped inside the door and sat down to a welcoming mint tea, I felt totally at home. The Riad was spotlessly clean. The staff very friendly and helpful. I had one of the best night's sleep in ages in a very comfortable bed. Bathrooms are modern and beautifully tiled in the Morrocan style. The top floor is a surprise for despite the hotel being in the heart of the Medina with all its character, suddenly you find yourself overlooking the ocean.

Room Tip: Not many rooms, essential to book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieba3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Located just on top of the Ocean and in the middle of the Medina at the same time, not very expensive, this place is absolutely great for staying in Essaouira, especially if you are travelling in a group.
The service was great, the rooms are very well and originally decorated (each one is different from the other) and the terrace on the last floor is awesome. In some of the top rooms you can hear the sound of the waves!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luisrcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Very warm and cosy, loved the fireplace and the dinner. Great hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatAM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Riad inside the medina, in the center of Essaouira, with a lovely terasse for breakfast with Ocean views.
Inside, large rooms with nice decor.
Very friendly staff. Special thanks to Mouna for the wonderful Couscous and Tagine in a dinner for 11 !
Will come back , definately :-)

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Soares_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#28 of 74 in Essaouira
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#14 of 74 in Essaouira
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 74 in Essaouira
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Mar

Property: La Casa del Mar
Address: 35 Rue Oujda | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in this old fishing port's medina, our traditional riad has been carefully restored keeping all its' colourful Moroccan charm and cosiness. 6 bedrooms each with their own ensuite shower room and sitting area; ground floor living area with fireplace for cooler evenings; and roof terrace for enjoying meals with stunning views over the rocky coastline. Our manageress Mouna will take full care of you, providing advice and delicious Moroccan evening meals on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Casa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing