We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bed bugs”
Review of Dar El Qdima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar El Qdima
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights with an Intrepid group- woke after the first night here covered in what appears to be bed bug bites. Staff was notified, and nothing done- I was told no other rooms available due to the current music festival, and no other options considered. Fortunately, there was a spare bed in another room with someone else in my group. I informed staff that I wanted funds to wash all the clothing in my backpack, which they refused. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: avoid room 10 at all costs- has bed bugs and faces a noisy street
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lbrooklynlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Dar El Qdima
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

It seems that the staff has taken the feedback in because my stay was seamless. The staff couldn't have been any nicer and helpful and we thought the place was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My usual Riad was full due to the festival (the excellent Maison du Sud) so we stayed in the next one down the list in the Rough Guide. A BIG mistake and let down. There were two of us, and I had to beg for a towel at 6pm, and was only given one despite being promised that another would be on the way. When I came down for breakfast at 10am on the Sunday, I was told that it had finished at 10am (I wasn't told this early finishing time at check-in) and then this mysterious 50dh tax appeared when we checked out, which I think had more to do with the kitchen hand not having the right change for my 200dh note (I have never paid such a tax after travelling in Morocco many times). The shower plumbing was so bad that you ended up bathing in the shower, lights didn't work and I warn anybody from staying here; it's really bad value for money at 450dh per night and they are anti-service minded.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel like the plague.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdamSpreadbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed here for two nights. No frills accommodation. Everything is very very damp. The bed sheets seemed wet to the touch and when we left all of our clothes were damp. No air con and minimal air circulation. Our room had a small window high up near the ceiling.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrysonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

we had a room on the roof which was very pleasantly situated. But very basic and smelling of damp. The main problem was the scam perpetuated by the reception at the hotel. When we enquired by calling at the hotel what the price for this room would be, we were told 350 per night per person. When, three days later, we came to pay, the reception person insisted it was 450 dirhams and when we questioned this, threatened to call the police to sort it out. We were rushing to catch a bus so felt we had to make the payment she demanded. However, both my partner and myself clearly heard her say 350 dirhams per night and I paid a deposit on that basis. So beware of this unpleasant scam!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivingstoneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ALBANO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cahet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 74 in Essaouira
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
#21 of 74 in Essaouira
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
Riad Etoile d'Essaouira
#43 of 74 in Essaouira
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Qdima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Qdima

Address: 4 rue Malek Ben Rahal, Avenue de l_Istiqlal | Medina, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: $51 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dar El Qdima 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar El Qdima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing