We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil riad in great location”
Review of Dar Ness

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Ness
Ranked #38 of 176 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil riad in great location”
Reviewed March 13, 2010

We stayed at Dar Ness for four nights and negotiated a reasonable off-season rate for a room on the second floor, which has its own small terrace area. It's a beautiful quiet place, simply and elegantly furnished - the open fire in the small lounge in the evenings was a lovely cosy touch at this time of year. We found the staff very friendly and efficient and they took the extra trouble to arrange a 6.30am breakfast for our early departure on the last day.

The riad is excellently located up a small alley off a square near the harbour and there are some excellent small shops and boutiques tucked away in the side streets further up this alley (not immediately the direction you might venture in) for a more hassle free shopping experience than the main tourist market.

Really good food seemed a little hard to find in Essaouira, particularly in the tourist orientated restaurants on the aforementioned square - avoid them at all costs. The best we found were the local eateries/cafes off the main market street for fried fish and wonderful meat & veg stews - all for about 15-20 dh. The best restaurant we found for a more leisurely authentic Moroccan dining experience was Restaurant Ferdaous (mentioned in Lonely Planet), which was excellent - strongly recommended.

Dar Ness made our stay in Essaouira a very pleasant and comfortable one.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    35
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
59
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We slept at Dar Ness only one night. I wish we could stay there longer. The house is lovely decorated and centrally located, right at the main square. It is very quiet though. There is a common living room with a fireplace which was working when we were there. I spent some hours in that room listening to classical music and reading a book, lovely. We had a very big room with all comforts. The staff is very nice and breakfast delicious. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Our room was damp. The atmosphere is completely soulless and cold. Absolutely nothing charming about it at all. But the worst part was that we were asked for a deposit to book our room , yet when we checked out the next morning in a hurry to catch our plane home we were charged in full. Neither my husband nor I remembered but given our error as the customer-in-a-rush you'd hope that the place you were staying in had a) the organisation and b) the honesty to not make you feel like you were part of another Moroccan scam everyone's in on but you. Hotels log what payments they take so sorry i don't believe it was a "mistake" on their part. Just the trick to leave you feeling very sore on your return ....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesdesforges, Propriétaire at Dar Ness, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I am the owner of Dar Ness guest house in Essaouira, listed on Tripadvisor Essaouira list of guesthouses. I once in a while surf on Tripadvisor web site to enquire about comments of guests staying at Dar Ness, which are extremely important to us and help us to correct the way we are handling our business. We are aware of the impact and popularity of Tripadvisor on possible guests who are planning their trip to Essaouira.

Its has been a long time I did not surf on Tripadvisor and based on your comment dated october 23rd, 2009, you let everyone know you stayed at Dar Ness in october 2009 and your deposit was not returned.

I am sorry for your bad experience in Essaouira but I am in no way connected to it and please, let me take a few moments of your time to let you know my view :

1) It seems you have mistaken Dar Ness with another property because a) the picture displayed after your visit is not matching any place at Dar Ness, b) after close to 8 complete years of operation, I am proud to let you know we never ever had incidents about settlements of a guest’s stay at Dar Ness and we will keep it that way.
2) You are aware it takes years to build up a reputation and months or comments like yours to ruin it. Would it have been the case, I have personnally invested lots of money to build this property and would you reasonably think I would take the risk of receiving a comment like yours to ruin my investment? Do you really think it is a wise decision for a businessman to ruin his reputation for not returning a deposit worth maybe 50.00 EUR deposit or less ? By the way, when we receive downpayments to mobilize the reservation, it is an in-house rule to issue a receipt and I would be curious to have a look at your receipt issued by Dar Ness.
3) For information purposes, Dar Ness used to be rated Nr 1 guest house in Essaouira from 2007 to 2008 by Tripadvisor then competition did its job !

In consideration of the above, I would kindly ask you to contact Tripadvisor and ask them to withdraw your comment which is extremely detrimental to our business.

Thank you for your attention.

Yours Sincerely,

James DESFORGES, Owner

DAR NESS
B.P 640
1, Rue Khalid Ben Walid
44 100 – ESSAOUIRA
MAROC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We have stayed there for a couple of days on our honeymoon... Super place, i will come back. Very comfortable, quiet, with very very friendly stuff. Great location (not far from the bech and just near the square). It has very comfortable beds and quilt. You will sleep very very sweet) Good luck to their business)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Hi,

Agree with some of the previous points made. Dar Ness is a stunning riad in a superb location, but doens't have the same 'home away from home' feeling that I got from our riad in Marakesh.

Did have more of a hotel feeling to it. Our room was on the 2nd floor and was large and airy - though we were woken each morning by the tables and chairs being dragged across the terrace above.

Breakfast was nice but once again I think we were spoilt by our previous riad as it didn't quite live up to it. Also, had to chase breakfast each morning as there was no one around to see if anyone was waiting.

All in all I would reccomend staying here as is a great place but at 75euros a night there is perhaps a slightly cheaper alternative.

Verity

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slightly cool atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank VerityK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

My partner and I have just returned from a four night stay at Dar Ness in Essaouria. We really enjoyed our stay and had a great room within the Riad on the first floor. The staff are very friendly and helped us out with basic queries and travel information. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace which is sheltered from the wind (it is 'Wind City Afrika' after all!).

The central courtyard area which is typical of these types of Riads was very beautiful with candles lit up at night and a snug to sit in if the weather is less pleasant of an evening. Drinks (non-alcoholic) are also available at any time during the day and are between 10 and 20 dirhams each.

There are rooms on the first and second floors, the second floor opens out directly on to a terrace. As with the majority of riads, there is only stair access so worth bearing in mind if you're feeling a little unfit or struggle with stairs!

The room that we had was very clean and well ventiliated - there is a permenant opening into the central courtyard from high level vents. This also means that you are aware of other guests, but certainly not something to detract from picking this Riad. The worst part of the experience was that the pillows were a little hard and the matress had a plastic sheet protecting it which meant sleeping could get a little warm - but again, hardly show-stoppers!

Dar Ness in our opinion was really well located. You can just about see the sea from the roof terrace and the passage-way that the Riad is off opens out on the central square with restaurants and the port immediately available.

We would certainly recommend this Riad. There were approx 8 rooms so it's a reasonable size and certainly felt slightly more 'hotel-like' that other Riads that we've stayed in. It's location was definately the selling point for us.

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Disliked — Hard pillows!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

I'd echo leighbaz's review almost entirely for Dar Ness.

It is a nice riad in the middle of Essaoiura - not far from the port and the beach, so you can get both these plus the medina no problem. The rooms and the riad are nicely furnished, but there is no sea view and the terrace could do with a bit more pizzazz!

Compared to our marrakesh riad (dar vedra) this definitely felt more like a hotel - staff were friendly when asked for help but not more, and it definitely felt like a business

At 85e it is expensive but fairish value - it just won't be one of the most memorable places we stayed in morocco....

PS they make you pay in cash - so a lastminute trip to cashpoint was required!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#25 of 74 in Essaouira
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
#18 of 74 in Essaouira
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#29 of 74 in Essaouira
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#22 of 176 in Essaouira
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Perle d'Eau
Riad Perle d'Eau
#4 of 176 in Essaouira
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ness

Property: Dar Ness
Address: 1 Rue Khalib Ben Walid | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Ness 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dar Ness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing