We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay in the centre of Essaouira” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Loulema

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Loulema
Ranked #61 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the centre of Essaouira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Spent two nights in May at Dar Loulema, second time we've stayed there. Loved it! Right in the medina, very convenient for restaurants etc. Wonderful welcome from the French owner and the lovely staff, who do everything possible to make your stay a success. We stayed in Mogador, which is decorated in blue and white and suited us perfectly. Delicious breakfast on the roof, which has wonderful views over the sea. Recommend it very highly.

Room Tip: Each room is different, we enjoyed the simplicity and decorative theme of Mogador.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

After the hustle & bustle of Marrakech, Dar Loulema was a wonderful tranquil place to relax at the end of our holiday. We had a quirky well appointed room & enjoyed excellent breakfasts served on the lower roof terrace. On our final evening we enjoyed a delicious evening meal served in a ground floor room by a log fire. Fantastic views of sunsets and of the waves crashing on the rocks from the upper roof terrace. Altogether, a brilliantly situated riad that we would love to revisit on a future trip to Morocco.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent 2 nights there in a double + side bed on the second floor. Excellent everything, with special mention for breakfast in the ground floor room by the fire (it was raining and on the cold side during our stay). Location is perfect, the riad is beautifully built and appointed, staff and management helfpful and friendly, so another good experience to finish our first Moroccan week ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nathalie and her staff are lovely and welcoming to all their guests. The riad is beautifully decorated and the views from the roof are amazing. The location is great.

When I arrived I wandered through the Medina, but then I discovered if you just follow the road to the end by the fishing docks, you can easily walk to the Dar and to everything.

I put the picture of the sunset from the roof of the Dar Loulema on my Facebook page so I could look at it everyday because it's so beautiful. I would return tomorrow if I could.
Lucky you if you go for a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

A warm welcome from Nathalie and her charming staff awaited us. The location is certainly brilliant for exploring, and we found Essaouira very easy to get around without getting lost, unlike Marrakech! Great place to shop till you drop too! We bought from the wood co-operative, although you can buy cheaper from some of the little independents. We liked the idea of the fair trade thing, and the prices were still really good. The riad itself is spotless, with comfy bed, lovely breakfast, and mint tea on tap if you need it. Unfortunately the weather was not on our side, with lots of rain, but we felt we'd experienced a side of this resort that others hadn't, by seeing it like this! We loved the breakfasts, with the fresh pastries and jams-yummy. The riad is a peaceful, pretty retreat from the hustle and bustle. Many thanks for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pris0nbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights after staying 4 nights in Marrakech. Our room was on the 3rd floor so we had plenty of stairs to climb. However it was convenient for breakfast on the roof terrace.
The bedroom was fine and had a kettle for tea/coffee, but no safe. Free WiFi was available on the 1st floor. There was no A/C in the bedroom but with the Atlantic breeze that was not a problem in September. I don't know about value because it was part of a holiday deal.
There is a good restaurant next door that we visited a couple of times.
Essaouira is a small town so one can walk everywhere from the Dar Loulema which makes for a very relaxing holiday. The fishing harbour is incredible.

Room Tip: This is a tall riad so if you have a problem with stairs ask for a room low down. Our room had a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongGable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This riad was in an amazingly central location and was both beautiful and inviting. The view of the town and the Atlantic Ocean from the terrace was unforgettable. Breakfast was just fine. We cannot recommend this riad enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#24 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#31 of 76 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#9 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Riad Dar L'Oussia
#15 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#28 of 76 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Ness
Dar Ness
#25 of 177 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Loulema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Loulema

Property: Dar Loulema
Address: 2 Rue Souss, Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Loulema 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Loulema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing