We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dar loulema”
Review of Dar Loulema

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dar Loulema
Ranked #59 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dar loulema”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This riad was in an amazingly central location and was both beautiful and inviting. The view of the town and the Atlantic Ocean from the terrace was unforgettable. Breakfast was just fine. We cannot recommend this riad enough!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were a party of seven and virtually took over the riad. Madame and her team were charming and helpful, the rooms were enchanting and having breakfast on the rooftop was very special. We had a very delicious dinner on our last evening. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We were after a relaxing holiday with style and Dar Loulema provided just that. From the moment we were greeted at the front door of this exquisite paradise to the morning we left, service was first class yet discreet.

Essaouira can be windy (being on the Atlantic coast) and the day we arrived was no exception so, after an evening's stroll along the town's massive sandy beach, the hot water bottle at the foot of our bed was very much apppreciated.

Fresh bread and pastries for breakfast on the sheltered roof terrace was accompanied by fesh fruit and lots of lovely coffee. In the warm morning sun the setting reminds you that you are somewhere very special—not a bog-standard American-style hotel that could be anywhere (you can stay in one of those if you have to) but in an historic building that is presented with more elegance and lasting social purpose than any of those modern homogeneous, faceless places will ever aquire.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Dar Loulema is a lovely Riad in the heart of the old town of Essaouira. It was welcoming, with rose petals in the fountain, and the most gorgeous terrace at the top of the building with views over the roof tops and the sea. It was a perfect calm retreat from the bustle of Essaouira (which is frankly not that bad). The Riad served the most delicious breakfasts up on the terrace. The rooms are each highly individual, making the most of the sometimes quite cramped rooms, with each window looking in to the central court. They welcomed us with our 4 boys, and ensured that our stay was just perfect. Merci beaucoup! Letitia and Nick et les garcons.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hantsfamilyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Dar Loulema is a beautifull-restored and elegantly furnished small riad in the medina of Essaouira. Staff are eager to help, breakfast on the terrace is excellent, and rooms are very comfortable. White is the predominant color in this riad, and it was an excellent choice, imprting as it odes a feeling of openness and spaciousness and setting off to advantage the Moroccan furnishings and handicrafts both in the riad's public areas and the rooms. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about Dar Loulema, and recommend it enthusiastically.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Fabulous rooms, with beautiful moroccan tiling, and high ceilings. The hotel has a central courtyard that all of the rooms open onto. There are fantastic views from the rooftop, and loads of seating for sunbathing or reading books. On the downside, all of these great attributes create an echo-like chamber. Every noise is amplified, and there is no access to the incredible outside breezes. Your only option is to button yourself in the stiflling room, and maybe add some ear plugs. It really is a shame, because everything else about Dar Loulema is a 10. Download some ocean wave music on your ipod, and prepare to sleep with your headphones on. A noisy ceiling fan would be a godsend!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandovation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This place was recommended to me by my mother, and what a gem! Right in inside the ramparts of Essaouira, the roof terrace alone made staying here worth it. Overall:
- The rooms are good value and pretty (each decorated in the style of a different area in Morocco)
- Breakfasts were abs (big teapots, lots of different kinds of bread, homemade jam, homemade yogurts, and a different freshly baked cake every morning)
- Staff were overall fairly nice
Dar Loulema is quite hard to find, and at the end of a fairly dark alleyway which may appear as dangerous - in reality it is perfectly safe and we had no issues. The only real con is Taros Cafe' with their (AWFUL) live music every night right next door... But as Essaouira tends to be fairly chilly we slept with the windows closed, so in the end this wasn't really an issue.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebonbongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#25 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad de la Mer
Riad de la Mer
#87 of 173 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Ness
Dar Ness
#32 of 173 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jack's Apartments & Spa
Jack's Apartments & Spa
#26 of 173 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Lazuli
Dar Lazuli
#25 of 173 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Loulema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Loulema

Property: Dar Loulema
Address: 2 Rue Souss, Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Loulema 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dar Loulema reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing