We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a place!”
Review of Riad Baoussala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Baoussala
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A real gem of a place!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Off the beaten track but well worth it. The Riad comprises of a series of buildings on a secluded plot with a fabulous pool area, courtyard, hidden seating and lounging areas.
The rooms were spacious and cool. One of the most unique places we have ever stayed and we did feel like we were invited into a family home. Dominique, Leah, Rashid and all the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and checked whether we needed anything regularly. Genuinely lovely people who treated all their guests with equal care and attention.
The food was very good and there was plenty of choice including a wide selection of drinks (the cocktails were a treat!
We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    50
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
262
272
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, État de New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a beautiful place to stay - very charming and cozy inside, ultra-romantic if you are looking for that. The owners treat you like you are their family and take care of you completely. We were amazed how helpful they were in sorting out logistics for our travels in and out of Essaouira. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnosovets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights mid July in this riad.
Leah welcomed us and we loved our stay in this beautiful riad.

The location is a bit far from Essaouira, but it's very easy to get to the city. The staff will always get a taxi in no time and/or drive you where you want.

The food is excellent. They accomodate every request. Prices are very reasonable.

We can't say enough good things about how nice the staff was. It is what makes this stay so special.

You can't go wrong by staying in this lovely place !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irwinb776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed eight days and Dominique and Leah and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. And we had some great late nights star gazing and chatting over endless bottles of delicious Moroccan wine. Recommend when hiring a car that you get a 4x4 to reach the more remote parts of the coastline and mountains. Standard hire car procured at Marrakech airport easily survived the stone track (don't let Dominique drive it!) but a 4x4 would have been more fun.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main courtyard where everyone gathers for meals and drinks might appeal more to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maslerdanch
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Four nights in Riad Baoussala and we wished it had been more. We were expertly welcomed by Dominique and Leah and the rest of their team after a long drive from Marrakech.

The drive down the track is fine and we accomplished it in a rather small hire car, the road is bumpy but drivable so don't let it put you off. We were happy to be out of Essaouira (it's only a 20 minute drive to the car park outside the medina) but able to pop into town for shopping, days out or the occasional meal.

The whole riad is beautifully furnished and laid out. Our romm was wonderful and the bathroom lovely. We ate in on one night and wished it had been more beacause it was excellent but had already booked tables in Essaouira on reccommendations from friends.

The pool and the area surrounding is well sheltered out of the wind and a perfect place to relax, either on the sun beds or in one of the hammocks. Lunch, poolside, is cheap and well made with a good choice of salads or barbecued food along with soft and alcoholic drinks. The excellent staff are always on hand to look after you.

Highly reccommended!

Room Tip: We were in the 'red room' which is spacious and beautifully decorated. It is on the main cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maslerdanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We just stayed for 4 nights and had the most wonderful time at this magical beautiful riad. All of the staff are so welcoming and friendly. The swimming pool is fantastic and really sheltered from the wind which is a god send in Essaouira. I just wish we could have stayed for longer and would definitely stay here if I come again to this area. The road to get to the riad is a little bumpy but we managed it in a v small economy Daihatsu hire car so it's really not a problem, don't let that put you off as you will be hard pushed to find anything this lovely with a pool in Essaouira.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My 7 year old daughter and I flew out to Morocco as part of a large 50 person Wedding party staying in multiple locations on the fringes of Essaouira. We were lucky enough to stay at the Riad Baoussala where the Wedding was hosted. Both my young child and I were looked after extremely well, nothing was too much trouble and the staff were exemplary. The owner, a really lovely lady named Dominique was there the whole time to meet, greet and see to her guests. Well supported by her manager Leah who was also superb! The hotel and catering staff did all they were asked to manage the needs and expectations of all guests (including my 7 year old daughter!)

Each day breakfast was served in a soft and friendly manner by the lovely Rachid who was also a dab hand at deflecting any unwanted insects that tried to gate-crash our honey! The breakfast variety suited my daughter as we were offered daily treats such as home-made doughnuts, croissants and pancakes.

The pool area is delightful and a lovely setting to enjoy a freshly cooked lunch whether it be meat kebabs or tagliatelle with home-made pesto. Lot's of menu options to choose from.

All the adult and child guests were well looked after and the Wedding Day itself was 'utterly magical'. Dominique, Leah, Rachid and all the hotel staff co-ordinated and worked tirelessly to give the happy couple a 'special day to remember', but what they also managed to achieve was giving the guests a 'wedding they would remember' forever!

I can't thank Dominique enough for her kindness and thoughtfullness. I can however, recommend this Riad to travellers visiting Essaouira who want 'something special' when visiting an adventurous place like Morocco. Don't be put off by the unkempt road leading to this hidden gem... it's worth every bump!

Room Tip: My young daughter and I stayed in the Hamman Room. It was bright White with beautiful coloured glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
618 reviews
8.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#17 of 74 in Essaouira
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
Domaine de l'Arganeraie
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
512 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
791 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Baoussala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Baoussala

Property: Riad Baoussala
Address: Douar El Ghazoua, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Baoussala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Baoussala is a lovely house situated in the nature, 9 kilometers south of Essaouira, and near by the wild beaches of Sidi Kaouki. This charming hotel is composed of 3 rooms and 3 suites, all differents, comfortables and stylish, they offer a quiet and peacefull atmosphere.From the gardens to the roof terraces, the pool to the Hammam, with your family of just as a couple, the Riad Baoussala is the perfect place to chill out and enjoy a stay near Essaouira.The pool is now heated at 28° all year arround thanks to an ecologique system. We offer a free access to the Hammam and we propose scrubs and massages upon request.Dominique, Leah and their team welcome you in this uncommom place where modernity and tradition are mixed for your pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Baoussala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Baoussala Essaouira
Riad Baoussala Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing