We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth finding”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Emeraude Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emeraude Hotel
Ranked #38 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Shropshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Although it's right on the edge of the medina, the Emeraude is worth the effort. The staff are friendly, the rooms are small but clean with adequate bathrooms and plenty of hot water. A good breakfast is included and is served on the terrace.

Room Tip: There are three rooms that open directly on to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    53
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
71
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

It's important to read the review before you book this hotel as it's not worth the price !!! very cold rooms, wet stairs and the view from the terrace is awful .....very hard to find in the first place and the French owner was very rude ...I will.not go back there nor recommend it!!!!!!

Room Tip: No rooms to recommend nor it's worth the price they are charging
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sue529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Beautifully decorated, clean and peaceful. This comfortable riad was a great find. It's a little more expensive than others but worth it. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely. Thanks for a lovely stay.
Oh ps only a little point but I had nowhere to put my toothbrush. Other than that brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaRabbit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

we had a bit of trouble finding the riad when we arrived, however it is well signed so once we got our bearings we had no trouble spotting it. Breakfast included delicous pancakes and fruit which was more than we expected. The room was on the small side- however it was cosy and clean.
The Riad is located along a narrow dim alley so it may be a bit scarey at night for solo travellers- but i think you'll find this is typical of many riads in town away from the main streets.
Lovely rooftop terrace!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is ok, standard, adequate. The only reason I stayed here is because I was a solo traveller and wanted to taken advantage of the lower cost single rooms. But if I had my time again I would find a friend, split the cost and stay somewhere much nicer.

The rooms are ok, kind of small, look like they do in the photos. The breakfast is standard, the roof terrace is ok. I had a room on the roof terrace with a little table outside of it but I never got to use it as the other guests kept sitting out there. (not sure why given there was about 8 other tables to choose from!) Breakfast times were quite annoying as the other guest kept moving the table directly in front of my door to catch the sun which meant had to interrupt people's breakfast and make them move the table to get in and out of my room. Although this hotel can't be responsible for other people's stupidity they could have moved this table to somewhere else on the terrace that was more appropriate for everyone.

The room security could be improved, the door can only lock with a padlock or a flimsy bolt whilst inside and felt like it could have easily been broken into with any kind of force. There is no backage hold and if you want to leave bags there for the day you have to leave them in reception which is not always staffed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonjanep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just completed a 1700 mile tour round Morocco in a 4WD and this hotel was easily the best stay of our trip. The welcome is warm, the decor is tasteful and the rates are reasonable. Some people may find the rooms a little small but if you want en-suite facilities it will take up some space. This is the only hotel we stayed in that managed to hit every single criteria in the bathroom - hot water, toilet paper, soap, and towels all present and cleaned daily. The beds were comfy and the bed linen was clean, the breakfast was extensive and catered to individual needs and the roof terrace was very pleasant. If you want a great hotel inside the medina, look no further!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbxprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This Riad was at the outer edges of the Medina and was on a street that had low foot traffic and felt a bit scary at night. The price was quite low but I was expecting something nicer based on the photos posted here. In reality, it is very dim, dank and my room was incredibly small and felt dirty. The door felt like a closet door and I was concerned about the safety of my belongings. I would have paid a bit more for something a bit more comfortable. I did not look forward to coming back to the room at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fujiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caverne d'Ali Baba
Caverne d'Ali Baba
#37 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#14 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#36 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emeraude Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emeraude Hotel

Property: Emeraude Hotel
Address: 228 Rue Chbanate | Petite Porte Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Emeraude Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Hotel Emeraude is a traditional riad in the 18th century.Our 10 rooms are arranged around a patio. The rooms are beautifull decorated and have every comfort, excellent beds, private bathroom, dressing, hair dryer, and quiet.The breakfast included in the price, is served on the terrace, panoramic views of the medina, lounger, sofa. Free Wi-Fi. We arrange airport transfert and have a public car park 24/24 h. Next to Supratours Bus Compagie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emeraude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing