We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Ranked #37 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is ok, standard, adequate. The only reason I stayed here is because I was a solo traveller and wanted to taken advantage of the lower cost single rooms. But if I had my time again I would find a friend, split the cost and stay somewhere much nicer.

The rooms are ok, kind of small, look like they do in the photos. The breakfast is standard, the roof terrace is ok. I had a room on the roof terrace with a little table outside of it but I never got to use it as the other guests kept sitting out there. (not sure why given there was about 8 other tables to choose from!) Breakfast times were quite annoying as the other guest kept moving the table directly in front of my door to catch the sun which meant had to interrupt people's breakfast and make them move the table to get in and out of my room. Although this hotel can't be responsible for other people's stupidity they could have moved this table to somewhere else on the terrace that was more appropriate for everyone.

The room security could be improved, the door can only lock with a padlock or a flimsy bolt whilst inside and felt like it could have easily been broken into with any kind of force. There is no backage hold and if you want to leave bags there for the day you have to leave them in reception which is not always staffed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonjanep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    56
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
19
73
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just completed a 1700 mile tour round Morocco in a 4WD and this hotel was easily the best stay of our trip. The welcome is warm, the decor is tasteful and the rates are reasonable. Some people may find the rooms a little small but if you want en-suite facilities it will take up some space. This is the only hotel we stayed in that managed to hit every single criteria in the bathroom - hot water, toilet paper, soap, and towels all present and cleaned daily. The beds were comfy and the bed linen was clean, the breakfast was extensive and catered to individual needs and the roof terrace was very pleasant. If you want a great hotel inside the medina, look no further!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbxprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This Riad was at the outer edges of the Medina and was on a street that had low foot traffic and felt a bit scary at night. The price was quite low but I was expecting something nicer based on the photos posted here. In reality, it is very dim, dank and my room was incredibly small and felt dirty. The door felt like a closet door and I was concerned about the safety of my belongings. I would have paid a bit more for something a bit more comfortable. I did not look forward to coming back to the room at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fujiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

I loved this riad! Great location and easy to find! Room are good size and clean! Breakfast was fresh and great to eat up on the terrace! Staff were friendly and helpful.

I didnt expect such great quality for the price! Would 100% recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisauk84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2012

My husband and I just came back from Morocco and although he has been here before, it was my first experience in a real medina. We arrived in Essaouira close to midnight, hungry and tired. The man who greeted us, Brahim gave us some local currency (we did not have the time to exchange) so that my husband could get some food.
The hotel was nice and quaint and the staff was super nice and patient with my broken french :) Everyone was helpful for information about renting a car, local eateries, and merchandise. I suppose I enjoyed my stay here because I felt like I was staying in someone's home. It was nice and quiet during the night and the medina is enjoyable during the day. Although a couple of the rooms were small, they are clean, and well decorated with paintings and local art.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdstejn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Sept 2011 and had a pretty good experience ; rooms are nice and well decorated also a little small ; the pictures on the website might be misleading , some parts of the hotel are a bit tired - breakfast on the roof top is enjoyable ; staff is friendly and gives good advise ....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a great little hotel/riad near the south east walls of the Medina. Only a few minutes walk from the Supratours bus depot and a 5 minute walk to the souks and to the beach where there are plenty of cafes/resturants to suit every budget.
Our room was situated on the roof terrace, and although small (particuarlly the bathroom) it was perfectly adequate. The breakfast of bread, jam and croissants were huge and one was plenty for 2 persons.
My only complaint was that the local children all seemed to congregate under my bedroom window to play football at the end of fast (as it was Ramadam) and we were kept awake til 2-3am every night by thier noise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Etto
Riad Dar Etto
#2 of 2 in Ghazoua
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#38 of 74 in Essaouira
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#32 of 74 in Essaouira
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riad Nakhla
Hotel Riad Nakhla
#42 of 74 in Essaouira
149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#44 of 74 in Essaouira
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hotel Emeraude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hotel Emeraude

Property: Riad Hotel Emeraude
Address: 228 Rue Chbanate | Petite Porte Bab Marrakech, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#26 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Hotel Emeraude 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Hotel Emeraude is a traditional riad in the 18th century.Our 10 rooms are arranged around a patio. The rooms are beautifull decorated and have every comfort, excellent beds, private bathroom, dressing, hair dryer, and quiet.The breakfast included in the price, is served on the terrace, panoramic views of the medina, lounger, sofa. Free Wi-Fi. We arrange airport transfert and have a public car park 24/24 h. Next to Supratours Bus Compagie ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Hotel Emeraude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emeraude Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing