We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodstock Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Essaouira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodstock Hostel
Save
You added Woodstock Hostel to your Saves list
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hostel in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Awesome place to stay while in Essaouira, best staff ever with many wise words about Morocco and everything really. Constant music being played on bongo's, guitar etc. The location is awesome in an area a little more local with tons of fresh fruit etc being sold everyday. Many thanks to the team here for an awesome 4 days in Essaouira. Clean, comfortable and everything you really need if your backpacking through the town or just want somewhere to laze around.

Room Tip: Two buildings with good private rooms or dorms for a little less. We stayed in the dorms and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9LittleBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goreme, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A very comfortable and relaxing hostel with a budget price.... They serve a good breakfast with a little extra cost ... staff is friendly.. roof is beatiful.. Location of the hostel is very easy to find and at the centre of medina..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayşe y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

clean, tidy, well run. Great roof terrace, even got a bongo lesson from a chap i think worked there? very happy man anyway. Rooms are clean, staff helpful and its right in the middle of the action but down a backstreet so its peaceful. Great base.

Room Tip: we were in the building directly opposite and i think it was quieter if you want that kind of evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Highly recommend staying at the woodstock. The owners were EXTREMELY helpful in every aspect. The place has a cozy comfortable vibe and we always felt welcome! The facilities were impeccable, breakfast was great and with a great location it's a must for travellers seeking a real taste of Morocco. Really can't say enough good things about this place. Definitely will be coming back to the woodstock!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petra z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a fantastic Hostel in the center of Essaouira City! All the complete new, modern and clean facilities, the awesome Staff and the very friendly and welcoming atmosphere were just gorgeous In my opinion, this place is exactly what a perfect hostel needs to be like!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ella f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The folks working there were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good i got enough to eat. Super chill beyond words. The terrace on the roof in superb and the staff is super friendly . If you're looking to relax and take it easy, this is the place to be. DO IT

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone coming to visit Essaouira. It is located in the heart of the medina, next to the markets and within walking distance to the seaside. The dorms were some of the most spacious I have ever been to. The view from the terrace is breath-taking! The staff are pretty cool. One of them took us to the fish market, bought fish for a very good price, and we barbecued it on the terrace. Now THAT'S warm welcome!

However, I did not like that there are too many additional costs for things that would normally be free, such as coffee, tea, and use of kitchen for self catering. Although these cost only about 10 MAD, that amount will go a long way--10 pieces of bread and half a kilo of olives, for instance. Also, there is no WiFi in the rooms, only in the foyer. Moroccan plumbing is terrible and running water often gets cut off on the upper floors of buildings--which is where all the hostel rooms are. I was also a little annoyed that breakfast was two hours late. But these are small inconveniences. If you can live with these, you're in for a lovely time in Essaouira!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porporina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Cloud Nine
Hostel Cloud Nine
#4 of 50 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hostel
Atlantic Hostel
#6 of 50 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
White and Blue
White and Blue
#22 of 50 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surf and Chill House
Surf and Chill House
#7 of 50 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Hostel

Property: Woodstock Hostel
Address: 24, rue Ellabbana, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing