We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hostel in essaouria”
Review of Woodstock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodstock Hostel
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A very comfortable and relaxing hostel with a budget price.... They serve a good breakfast with a little extra cost ... staff is friendly.. roof is beatiful.. Location of the hostel is very easy to find and at the centre of medina..

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Ayşe y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

clean, tidy, well run. Great roof terrace, even got a bongo lesson from a chap i think worked there? very happy man anyway. Rooms are clean, staff helpful and its right in the middle of the action but down a backstreet so its peaceful. Great base.

Room Tip: we were in the building directly opposite and i think it was quieter if you want that kind of evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Highly recommend staying at the woodstock. The owners were EXTREMELY helpful in every aspect. The place has a cozy comfortable vibe and we always felt welcome! The facilities were impeccable, breakfast was great and with a great location it's a must for travellers seeking a real taste of Morocco. Really can't say enough good things about this place. Definitely will be coming back to the woodstock!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petra z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

What a fantastic Hostel in the center of Essaouira City! All the complete new, modern and clean facilities, the awesome Staff and the very friendly and welcoming atmosphere were just gorgeous In my opinion, this place is exactly what a perfect hostel needs to be like!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ella f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The folks working there were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good i got enough to eat. Super chill beyond words. The terrace on the roof in superb and the staff is super friendly . If you're looking to relax and take it easy, this is the place to be. DO IT

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone coming to visit Essaouira. It is located in the heart of the medina, next to the markets and within walking distance to the seaside. The dorms were some of the most spacious I have ever been to. The view from the terrace is breath-taking! The staff are pretty cool. One of them took us to the fish market, bought fish for a very good price, and we barbecued it on the terrace. Now THAT'S warm welcome!

However, I did not like that there are too many additional costs for things that would normally be free, such as coffee, tea, and use of kitchen for self catering. Although these cost only about 10 MAD, that amount will go a long way--10 pieces of bread and half a kilo of olives, for instance. Also, there is no WiFi in the rooms, only in the foyer. Moroccan plumbing is terrible and running water often gets cut off on the upper floors of buildings--which is where all the hostel rooms are. I was also a little annoyed that breakfast was two hours late. But these are small inconveniences. If you can live with these, you're in for a lovely time in Essaouira!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Porporina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hostel was fantastically clean and lovely, nice staff, our room was nice and bright, the kitchen was well equipped and the terrace was beautiful. Had a great stay and would definitely stay again! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0 mi away
White and Blue
White and Blue
#16 of 63 in Essaouira
15 reviews
0 mi away
Essaouira Youth Hostel & Social Travel
0 mi away
Atlantic Hostel
Atlantic Hostel
#2 of 63 in Essaouira
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
675 reviews
0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodstock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodstock Hostel

Address: 24 Rue Ellabbana, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing