We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in a perfect location”
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madada Mogador
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed in Essaouira as the 'beach part' of our honeymoon sandwiched inbetween two stays in Marrakech, and we're glad we chose the Madada Mogador. Unlike a lot of the boutique hotels/houses/riads in Morocco, the owners of this house spoke excellent English which instantly puts you at ease in a VERY French-orientated country.

The rooms were fresh and clean and really nicely done, and the roof-top sitting/sunbathing area was just what we needed after the hussle and bustle of the Marrakech medina. The beach is literally a 30 second walk from the front door, and is very close to all the main restaurants. We didn't eat at the Madada, but I believe it is very good and has an excellent reputation.

I'd definitely recommend this to friends. We were 21 at the time on our honeymoon, but I'm sure old and young alike would enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShawyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 496 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2009

stayed at riad madada in january 2009 for 2 nights..in one word - PERFECT.
We booked the Sabra room - it was lovely........especially the bath tub. The room is beautifully decorated with subtle colours and attention to detail. The best part was breakfast on the terrace which faces the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank happypeopleAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Only one night here, excellent location, staff are really on the ball and very helpful. The view from the terrace is magic... be sure to have your breakfast up there. To be honest out of all the riads/hotels we stayed in it was the most expensive for what was on offer. The rooms are nice and clean tho.
Maybe offer a little more for breakfast too for the hungry traveller!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Boshack01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2008

It is the third time that we have spent our holiday in Morocco.
Madada Mogador is not worth the money. You can get a room in a riad which is much more beautiful and far less expensive than Madada Mogador.

We stayed in the room Sabra and were much disappointed.
There was a terrible strong smell of effluents which could not be covered with the incense sticks that we bought the day after.
The room is not furnished as you would expect at a "boutique hotel", hair-dryer was lacking even promised on the website.

The only real advantage is the beautiful terrace overlooking the sea and the walls of the medina.

Go for a riad in the medina for less than £ 50 rather than to stay at Madada Mogador.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Wiseadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights and the place can be described in one word: astonishing. The beauty of the room, the terrace, the breakfast, the kindness of the staff ... everything is outstanding. But, there is one problem: we slept in the Assala-room, wich is situated just above the restaurant "After five". The first night it seemed that it was the owner of the restaurant's birthday. The basslines stopped at 4 o'clock in te morning, we tought we were in Ibiza instead of peaceful Essaouira. The second night there was no party, and still we could clearly hear the music from the lounge/restaurant.
Concluding: a liitle gem, but if you have the choice: don't go for the Assala-room. I hope that the owner of the ryad can come to some kind of understanding with the restaurant-owner to keep the noise down.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank twixelien1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Great location with views from the terrace over the bay and harbour. Entered through a fantastic old door up a flight of stone steps – an unpretentious but “cool” place to stay. Good restaurant underneath. Alcohol available to watch the sun go down. The rooms on top floor – probably the best choice – enjoyed the views, and sun lounging ambience. Big and comfortable with a great bath! The toilet brush could be a bit more discreet! Room safe and a/c.

Breakfast – fine but perhaps not special. However, you could have it served pretty well wherever and whenever you wanted it - which was huge bonus!

Crystelle, the owner, was always smiling (and seemingly on the computer!) was very friendly and helpful. As in Essaouira generally, helps if you speak a bit of French and credit card not accepted. Overall, a great place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

Madada Mogador is a gem of a boutique hotel. Located in the medina of Essaouira it boasts wonderful sea views from it's roof terrace and most of the guest rooms. Christelle and her team run a top notch operation delivering the highest levels of service with an impressive attention to detail. The rooms are beautifully decorated in a minimalist style very much in keeping with the local traditions and the food is also excellent. This really is the best place to stay in Essaouira.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank esurpless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
744 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Address: 5 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $119 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madada Mogador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing