We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wonderful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madada Mogador
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Essaouira
Bolton
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“wonderful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

What a great place to stop for a relaxing break - fantastic location on the ramparts. Reading on the roof terrace is pure pleasure. We had the Madada room, which was a choice we did not regret - staff were happy to serve breakfast on the private terrace whenever you were ready for it, making for a great start to the day. Staff were very helpful, spoke fantastic english and gave a very useful orientation session on arrival. Within easy walking distance of everything in the medina, beach and harbour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    87
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
47
274
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
316 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

A great boutique hotel within easy walking of everything. From the staff to the views & the resident cats who knocked on our door . . . everything added up to a great stay. We were there for 4 nights. Breakfast was served on the terrace which sports a wonderful view of the beach & it was a good way to start every day. The rooms are quiet & well-appointed. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were very impressed by this small hotel. On arrival (first floor) reception we were struck by the small 'bijou' nature of the hotel. Our room (5) was upstairs leading off the main terrace so with sea view - but not overly large. Our room was very good (no TV or phone) and well appointed. However, what elevates this property is the excellent service and the link to the simply outstanding La Table restuarant downstairs (owned by the Madada M's brother). The staff at MM were always friendly, helpful and extremely accommodating. The hotel is constrained by the sheer size of this old property so the most is made out of the limited space and it's very well done, but congrats to all the staff for making this a really great stay - would definitely recommend and return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I got to spend 3 lovely days at the Madada Mogador in Essaouira. This stylish retreat is in a wonderful location in the Medina. The room was wonderful and had its own private balcony. Great for a refreshing Moroccan mint tea. The staff were friendly and helpful. They made tea whenever needed. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on and they booked them for us each time. The restaurant downstairs is spectacular and we had a wonderful 1st dinner there.

I would highly recommend getting the Madada staff to book you into the cooking class downstairs as it was an excellent experience! They even take you on a tour of the spice market!

Overall superb place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Madada room which was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 81andyb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madada, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I recently spent a truly romantic and delectable evening at this hotel with my husband.

We ate dinner in the La Table restaurant located beneath the hotel - this restaurant is a "must" even for those not staying at the hotel.

With a comtemporary, yet relaxed and elegant style this restaurant positvely induces one to kick -back and indulge all the senses; quite a feat of decoration and thought as it is a very large space and yet invites a wonderful sense of warmth & intimacy; the orange embers of the fire in the corner beautifully mirroring the touches of orange accessories scattered about the room.

I dwell a little on the aesthetic of this restaurant as it is crucial to the experience of eating here and extends to the food and service - which was impeccable from first to last. Fresh and delicious food served with a sincere and welcoming smile on the part of all the staff. "Mabruk" to the sibling team and staff who run this show !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Faty and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villiers-sous-Grez
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Two glorious weeks at Madada Mogador: the perfect room with breakfast on our terrace in the morning and a cosy log fire in the evening. Meals at La Table, just next door were delicious, so the perfect combination. Run by brother and sister, Christine and a great team: Pauline, Wafaa, Mohammed and Aziz. Nowhere else to stay in Essaouira!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently spent three nights here in one of the suites.

The location is perfect, in the ramparts of the town, and the riad itself is very stylish. Style sometimes triumphs over substance (a beautiful stone bath with a hand shower, but no wall fixing so you have to hold the shower rather than having the option to stand under it), but it's no more than a minor annoyance.

The restaurant is also very good.

I'm sure we'll be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Property: Madada Mogador
Address: 5 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madada Mogador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing