We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A precious secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madada Mogador
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Villiers-sous-Grez
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A precious secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Two glorious weeks at Madada Mogador: the perfect room with breakfast on our terrace in the morning and a cosy log fire in the evening. Meals at La Table, just next door were delicious, so the perfect combination. Run by brother and sister, Christine and a great team: Pauline, Wafaa, Mohammed and Aziz. Nowhere else to stay in Essaouira!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    85
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
262
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently spent three nights here in one of the suites.

The location is perfect, in the ramparts of the town, and the riad itself is very stylish. Style sometimes triumphs over substance (a beautiful stone bath with a hand shower, but no wall fixing so you have to hold the shower rather than having the option to stand under it), but it's no more than a minor annoyance.

The restaurant is also very good.

I'm sure we'll be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
359 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

They first organized transportation for us from Marrakech. The minibus driver was waiting for us. Going there was smooth as silk. Our luggage was brought to the riad.
Very warm welcome upon arrival with a freshly squeezed OJ and minth tea. My companion and I had booked the Madada room and we're glad we did. Well appointed, with it's own small terrace.
The bathroom is fantastic with it's old Morrocan tub.
Breakfast served on the rooftop terrace is made with local products and traditional dishes.
It's perfectly located within the medina and across from the beach and the harbour.
The service is outstanding. We're really sorry that we only spent three nights there.
Merci pour tout.

Room Tip: Go on the website and select your room. If you're lucky enough (I doubt) that there is some prem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A great hotel, in a perfect location just on the median wall with a fantastic roof terrace over looking the ocean. The rooms are a high standard, with lovely linen and comfortable beds. The staff are also wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful. The person on reception even upgraded our room so that we were facing the ocean. I highly recommend this hotel, for a lovely relaxing break... you will find it hard to leave!

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bongoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, General Manager at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
It was a pleasure to having you at Madada Mogador. Thank you very much indeed for your Comment

We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A delightful small hotel just within the medina walls, making it a great location close to the souks, harbour and ramparts. We had a lovely large room (Madada room) with its own private terrace with a sea view, and a super bathroom with huge tub which my husband really enjoyed. A good breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace. Do make sure to have a meal at the restaurant downstairs Le Table, and also at one in the main street called Eliza I think. We had excellent meals at both of them. Wafaa and Pauline were very welcoming and helpful with suggestions on what to see and do. Highly recommended as a place to relax at the end of a holiay in Morocco.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Front Office Manager at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and

look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv,, Ukraine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice small hotel with perfect location just behind medina walls with fantastic terrace overlooking the ocean. Everything is up to the level from the very first step to the riad. First we were welcomed by Pouline and Wafaa and offered tea/coffee. After we left out things and got ready for the walk in Medina, Pouline made an informative presentation on the main sights/restaurants/things to do in Essaouira. Staff in general was very friendly and helpful all our stay long. Breakfasts were fresh ans tasty and we enjoyed them spending morning hours on the terrace. We decided to have a horse riding and it was ordered for us by Pouline at short notice. All we had to do is just be ready the next morning in time. We liked also interior of the hotel - even small details are considered: pictures on the walls, delicate arome in the rooms. Although we took a standard room (Sabra) it was spacious and comfortable. Windows of the room faced the passway in the Medina, but we didn't hear any noise from outside. Worth to say that there are plenty of thing to do in the hotel (if you're tired of walking outside and want to relax). In the hall you can find nice variety of books: novels, art books, guides and magazines. We also saw a chest full of board games for a company of friends. For us it was nice to meet Sultan, a huge cat - essential member of the hotel's family :)
I would recommend to take a cooking course in l'Atelier Madada and visit the restaurant Le Table - these will make the stay even better.
So I think that Madada Mogador is the perfect place to stay in Essaouira for those who are looking for romance, want to relax and spend enjoyable days!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Vira,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property and for your kind words. We think our staff is pretty awesome as well and we appreciate your saying so!

We hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great location on the edge of the medina, with small balconies facing the sea. Very nice breakfast on the rooftop, with a sea view. Very friendly service. Helped to make Essaouira the highlight of our nine days in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirconditionedNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Responsable réception at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on our property. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and

look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warmest regards from Wafaa and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#25 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#3 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Property: Madada Mogador
Address: 5 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madada Mogador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing