We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay for the view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madada Mogador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madada Mogador
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stay for the view!”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Didn't originally mean to stay here, fairly last-minute decision after abandoning the thought of visiting Agadir. Very stylish, looks like a huge loft apartment. Not typical of the riad style. Highlight is definitely the sun-trap terrace with fantastic views of the bay on one side and the medina on the other. Rooms spotlessly clean, spacious and good service. Alcohol served. Associated restaurant 'After 5' had great cocktails, starters and desserts, if lacklustre main courses. Would highly recommend. More expensive than other riad/dar type set-ups but worth it for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omarhadeedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Owner at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear Omar,

It was a pleasure to having you at Madada. Thank you very much indeed for your comment

We are glad you had a nice stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Christine and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    90
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
48
276
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I can't say enough about how perfect this hotel is; from the staff and management to the decor and comfort of the rooms. I loved it and highly recommend it to anyone. Its location is perfect also: a stone's throw from the beach but inside the medina. We had a room with a balcony and I could have taken an entire day shuttling between our room's balcony and the rooftop deck. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherbeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Owner at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dearest guests,

It is always a pleasure to read our guest's comment, we thank you very much indeed.

We are glad you had a nice stay at Madada and are loking forward to welcoming you next time.

Warmest regards from Christine and Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My girlfriend and I just had a wonderfull second time at Madada Mogador... People and atmosphere are just as kind and sweet as they were in our souvenirs... I'm quite amazed when i'm reading what people post just before us... They were probably just a tiny bit less lucky than us, but not that much because they apparently had their money back right away, with the owner's apologies and a round of drinks on the house...
Anyway, we recommend all of our friends to stop by Madada Mogador in Essaouira when they're planning their morocan trip...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Owner at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dearest guests,

We thank you for your comment and are looking forward to welcoming you a third time then!!!

Warmest regards from all Madada's staff.

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The Madada Mogador is a beautifully furnished modern boutique-style hotel. Located on the end of the old city - literally in the city walls - with fantastic views over the sea, particularly from the incredible roof terrace with the big white sofas to relax in with a sun-downer.

The decor is minamlist, chic and tasteful and definitely encourages you to relax. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortably furnished. The staff are also wonderfully friendly and helpful, with plenty of suggestions for what to do and where to eat. The breakfasts on the roof terrace are also fantastic!

The only reason I'm giving 4 stars rather than 5 is because of a couple of minor points - they'd recently re-varnished all the dark wooden furniture in our room, so the fumes were a little overpowering and everything was sticky and marked our hands; also, it was never possible to fill the beautiful stone bath tub in our room as the hot water would always run out when it was about 1/4 full; finally, the service wasn't *quite* as attentive as the other places we stayed in in Morroco.

But - given the still great service, the fantastic location and the chic stylings, I'd recommend this as place to stay and relax and soak up Moroccon seaside life!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Front Office Manager at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Dear Simon,

Thank you for choosing Madada Mogador for your stay in Essaouira and posted your comments on Tripadvisor .

We take consideration your notice this morning and repaired the hot water in Mogador suite and apologize for this inconvenience.

We really hope your next stay with us will be as perfect as possible.
With kind regards and looking forward to welcome you again,

Gwenaelle and all Madada's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Second and last time I will stay at this hotel. First time 4/5 years ago was really good. This time I couldn't wait to leave. The one time we left our suitcase unlocked, a chambermaid took money from it. The receptionist reacted and called the owner. I was left with a day of angst wondering if anything else had been taken. The owner confirmed that the maid admitted the theft, had been dismissed and the money was replaced. That is not really the point. My holiday was no longer relaxing or enjoyable. You need to feel that your belongings are safe in your room. Madada Mogador has not really changed since my first visit. Everything about it just seems older...like it really needs some money spent on it...It is starting to smell like an old hotel as well.. though the smell is masked slightly by the jasmine fragrance coming from the Mahal Mumtaz Spa next door. Breakfasts have liitle variation. Last time we had different types of tasty and interesting local breads and fruits etc..now it is just your standard continental offering. The street outside is unkempt, dirty and unrepaired, a bit like the rest of Essaouira which really does appear to be falling down due to lack of maitenace or investment
Next time we will stay in Marrakech.

Room Tip: If you want a good room..... choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Propriétaire at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Geoffroy,

Your comment regarding our establishment, as well as the city of Essaouira, is not very enthusiastic.

We can understand your disappointment after a cleaning lady stole the sum of 25€.

We did our best; in other words, we obtained her confession and her resignation and reimbursed the money the very same day.

That evening, along with an aperitif on the house, I also explained my disappointment to you, and commented on the incident without excusing it, saying that this individual was new at Madada, having been there for one month.

The safes available to clients in each one of our rooms allow for avoiding such problems with the personnel, and we highly regret that you did not use one.

Insofar as our hotel’s upkeep is concerned, as highlighted by the 132 excellent comments from Tripadvisor travellers and 37 very good, we make an effort on a daily basis to improve the quality and comfort of our hotel.

Madada Mogador’s soul has been forged over the years, which is what gives it its charm, as per our last clients highlighted in their comments.

We understand your preference for cities such as Marrakech, far from the authenticity and charm of old Mogador.

We would have liked to have been aware of your unhappiness the day of check out at reception, when we could have most certainly found a solution together so that you could have forgotten your dissatisfaction.

In short, being aware of your opinions regarding the city’s restaurants, we are given to understand that the city of Essaouira was not for you.

My kindest regards,

Christine Dadda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I started our Moroccan vacation in Essaouira and stayed at Madada Mogador.

What a lovely experience.

The location is perfect, the decor is chic and intimate, the staff is absolutely wonderful....and breakfast is something we looked forward to every morning.

If you're looking for romantic and simple luxury accommodations, Madada Mogador is perfect.

If you're looking for something plush and full of amenities, and/or business-/kid-friendly, Madada Mogador is not for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Madada Suite. It's off the main/common room and appeared to have one of the lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Owner at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Dearest guest,

It's always a pleasure to receive your nice comment.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Madada and appreciate our breakfast!!!

Hoping to have the pleasure welcoming you next time.

Best regards from all Madada's team

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We escaped the suffocating red Marrakech to be lulled by the gentle white Essaouira, that we fully enjoyed by staying at the Hotel Madada Mogador. We were greeted by a staff as warm as life is sweet. Their kindness, availability and their so inspired advices on best spots for face-to-face or for a few drinks (all within a few minutes walk from the hotel) made ​​this an evening spent in Essaouira truly enchanted.
I highly recommend the room Madada that offers a wonderful view both on the ocean and the city walls. Having a sleep lulled by the sound of waves lying on the beach is an almost mystical experience and incredibly energizing.
We had breakfast on the terrace under the watchful eye of the two beautiful house cats. We absolutely enjoyed our dishes and the spectacle of boats returning to port with their train of seagulls. They even thought about draging main news of our country, on a sheet rolled up like a scroll ...

Room Tip: ask for Room Madada, and enjoy ocean energy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadadaMogador, Owner at Madada Mogador, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dearest guest,

We thank you for your nice comment, we really appreciate it.

All Madada Mogador is looking forward to welcoming you a next time in our guesthouse.

Yours sincerely

Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
652 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madada Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madada Mogador

Property: Madada Mogador
Address: 5 Rue Youssef El Fassi, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madada Mogador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the blue of the ocean, Madada Mogador is an intimate address hidden behind the ancient ramparts. The magic of our contemporary house comes from the subtle blending of oriental refinement and well appointed open spaces. The result is an ambiance of pure Zen and serenity that invites guests to truly relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madada Mogador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madada Mogador Essaouira
Madada Mogador Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing