We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Like No Other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Maroc
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Like No Other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We recently returned from our 12th New Year stay at the Villa Maroc. Although we have strayed to other local Riad Hotels in Essaouira..we always find our way home and leave with the feeling that we've just had an experience that will carry us through another 6 months in New York!....Constantly being manicured, evaluated and renovated by the wonderful Swiss and Moroccan couple who own it...The 4 lovingly restored medina houses are full of 1001 night surprises..no 2 guest rooms are the same..and dinner is served in private dining rooms aside lovely fires. The kitchen is the best in Essaouira using their own home grown vegetables, olive and argon oils and also serves a wonderful breakfast on the Terrace rooftop overlooking the port and magnificent beach
and mountains. The spa includes a hammam, Massage center and everything that one may need to experience Morocco in maximum comfort and hospitality. We are always eager to return to the Villa Maroc and do so at every opportunity...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ormerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    128
    39
    7
    13
See reviews for
98
289
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We've stayed here before. It still has the charm and design that made it our favourite. The rooms we had this time were even better and more comfortable. Breakfast on the roof terrace looking out to sea is a must. The restaurant is still extremely good and very cosy in front of an open fire with chandeliers of candles.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rarereviewerEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We agree with all the previous reviews, this is an amazing place but unfortunately the room we were allocated (6/7) was very disappointing, despite being in the top price bracket as it had a sea view it was small, basically furnished and overlooked a load of rubbish, it was also extremely noisy (seagulls, traffic etc). This was a real let down as we spent a lot of time reading reviews and looking on the net for a place with nice rooms before we booked. In our opinion it is much better to forgo the seaview and ask for an inner room as these are much quieter and generally larger. We were able to view all the other rooms in the hotel and all of them were better than room 6/7, the pricing category did seem strange as some rooms were huge and seemed to be of a better class, so its a bit of a luck of the draw situation! Which can be frustrating if you draw the short straw!! The staff did change our room on the second night though but they did want to charge us £180 a night for four nights in a sea view room even though we only spent one begrudging night there - they did reduce the charge after a minor conflict on departure. It would be much better to be able to specifiy your room on the web when booking through a room gallery.
Food was brilliant, authenic but with a twist and reasonably priced, brilliant location etc, would go back as long as we were able to specify a room.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann_and_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

Nice artwork. Central location next to Medina and harbor. Some rooms have views and/or fireplaces; ask for these rooms.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonardoDiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

I am confused by the mixed reviews I have seen of this place. We had no problem finding the place. It is quite close to ocean and some of the rooms have a good view of the harbour.
Our room was right at the top and kind of small but was very romantic because of the small window that overlooked the square facing harbor. White Sea Gulls flying all over. Room was quiet. Terrace is a wonderful relaxing place. In fact the whole town is a very relaxed place to take in. Dinner we had was wonderful - ambience is great, service was great.
I am not sure why others have found this place to be run-down. We stayed in many beautiful riads in Fez, Marrakech and other cities in Morocco, and we found this to be a charming place with great interior. Not the best place we stayed in Morocco but would certainly come back to this place if we come to Essaouria again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenziWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Sweet trip! Would love to see in the on season! Very peaceful and fun people in town. Everyone at the hotel was great and went out of their way to be excellent hosts.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outrageous2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Here is our opinion about the Villa Maroc.
The Villa Maroc easy to find and in the heard of the medina.
The first impression was very positive, it's a beautiful place.
The staff was very nice and made everything to make our stay as nice as possible.
The room was very spacefull, clean and well arranged.

The people in the Riad where very nice, helpfull and flexible.
We had some interresting discussions with some members of the staff. The restaurant is wonderfull, there are a lot of small corners to keep privacy.
The meat was unbelivable good, we never had eaten so good during a vacation.

We spend a wonderfull week in the Riad and could benefit 100% from our vacation.
If you want to have a nice stay in Essaouira, we would recommand you the Villa Maroc without any problem.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPKLUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
3.0 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#21 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Property: Villa Maroc
Address: 10 Rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing