We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Maroc
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Madada Mogador(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sahara(Essaouira)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Flora(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Hotel Souiri(Essaouira)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Riad Al Madina(Essaouira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Riad Alech(Essaouira)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveler rating
562
163
52
9
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
163
52
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate dining roomsroof terracebeef taginefamily suitehot water bottlessister hotelsea view suiteles jardinsnooks and cranniesberber marketdelicious lunchour honeymoonargan oilcentral courtyardperfect place to relaxsitting areaspent nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 802 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

..The Villa Maroc has the best sea view in town...our favorite thing to do whenever we have guests in town is to have dinner in one of the old firelit salons or breakfast on the highest terrace of the Villa Maroc. Old world service, the freshest food and an ambience like no other continue to make the Villa Maroc the best address in Essaouira.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ormerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Villa Maroc has a great location close to the sea wall. It's very well designed and authentic in feel. When we arrived (early evening) there was no manager in evidence. The energy from the staff was lethargic. Fires and candles weren't lit. Poor lighting in common areas. The hotel describes its food rather optimistically as 'gastronomique'. They were unable to accommodate 5 guests in their almost empty restaurant without prior notice. Sensing imminent let-down, we had a great dinner at Madada (3mins' walk away). Same at breakfast. Nobody offers you anything. You have to seek out staff. With springy management and more effort, this place could easily be outstanding. They need to create atmosphere, get a bit of voltage going on. It's just annoying to see people drop the ball and not care enough...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepoceansw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here after reading about it. We here for 3 nights, had a terrible meal across the street at L Mechaour our first day, then had 2 dinners at Maroc, both were excellent in very a cosy setting with excellent service. The Moroccan staff were very helpful, a special thanks to Ayashi. The European staff were all good as well.

I thought the breakfast was just okay for the price paid, nothing memorable, extra charge if you want an egg etc. Bar service etc was very attentive. Would have give this place 5/5, but it is in need of a coat of paint here and there, especially on the upper terrace. We also had a stained undersheet on our bed, which was quickly taken care of as well.

All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment. Your opinions keep us encouraged to improve our service in the future.
Best wishes from the entire staff of Villa Maroc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Villa Maroc is very well situated for the Medina and the coast. Our room (1/2) was nicely furnished, and comfortable although it did have a slight mustiness- something we found fairly commonly in Morocco. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

We enjoyed eating breakfast on the terrace. Dinner was served in a number of small rooms, which had a certain charm. The cook was talented but we felt we paid a lot for a meal here compared to other restaurants in Essaouira.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOPEFULLY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Villa Maroc is an amazing place to stay, combining top class service with a very laid back approach that leaves you feeling comfortable whatever your mood. The staff are what really mark it out - they are unceasingly kind and concerned that you have everything you need, without ever being intrusive. They even called us before our stay to confirm that our online booking was going to meet our requirements, unheard of in this day of call centres and automated responses! The hotel itself is beautiful, with all the little hidden corners, atmospheric lighting and log fires you would hope to find in your dream riad. The bar and dining areas are charming and relaxed, we whiled away many an hour playing backgammon and drinking decent local wine. The terrace, where you can have breakfast, sunbath, take tea or just relax with a book was perfect with great views of the sea, beach and incredible sunsets. There is a tree growing in the central courtyard which crests on to the terrace and while we were there had singing mynah birds and even its own chameleon. Calm, tranquil, it's the perfect antidote to Essaouira's medina. The location is great, near enough to the medina walls that getting out to a car is quick and easy, less than 5 minutes walk to the beach for long strolls in the sunshine and right in the medina itself for access to cafes, restaurants, shops and the souk. Having stayed in chilly riads in Essaouira twice before over christmas, this was also the first time I've ever been truly warm at night once the sun sets, helped along by the hot water bottles the staff put in your bed every night. One word of caution would be to appreciate that you are staying in an old building in an old city - if you can't live without lifts and satellite TV you might prefer to stay in a more modern build outside the medina. For me though, the atmosphere of the building, charm and old school courtesy of its staff and perfect service make Villa Maroc somewhere I would return to in a heartbeat - we've only been home a week and are already wondering when we can return! Top marks.

Room Tip: There are lots of floors and lots of stairs at the Villa Maroc as it is a merger of 4 old riads. If you have any mobility issues it would be worth discussing your needs with staff when you make your booking.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClytieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We're very looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews