We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Riad in a good location”
Review of Villa Maroc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Maroc
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Villa Maroc end of February. Our room was fairly simple (superior double room) but nice. If going there again we would probably book one of the rooms on the top floor. The inside of the hotel is very traditional and really nice. The food is also very good. They serve nice breakfasts on the roof terrace with a nice view of the sea and the beach.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the top floor with sea views or your own terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 732 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

..The Villa Maroc has the best sea view in town...our favorite thing to do whenever we have guests in town is to have dinner in one of the old firelit salons or breakfast on the highest terrace of the Villa Maroc. Old world service, the freshest food and an ambience like no other continue to make the Villa Maroc the best address in Essaouira.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ormerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Villa Maroc has a great location close to the sea wall. It's very well designed and authentic in feel. When we arrived (early evening) there was no manager in evidence. The energy from the staff was lethargic. Fires and candles weren't lit. Poor lighting in common areas. The hotel describes its food rather optimistically as 'gastronomique'. They were unable to accommodate 5 guests in their almost empty restaurant without prior notice. Sensing imminent let-down, we had a great dinner at Madada (3mins' walk away). Same at breakfast. Nobody offers you anything. You have to seek out staff. With springy management and more effort, this place could easily be outstanding. They need to create atmosphere, get a bit of voltage going on. It's just annoying to see people drop the ball and not care enough...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepoceansw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here after reading about it. We here for 3 nights, had a terrible meal across the street at L Mechaour our first day, then had 2 dinners at Maroc, both were excellent in very a cosy setting with excellent service. The Moroccan staff were very helpful, a special thanks to Ayashi. The European staff were all good as well.

I thought the breakfast was just okay for the price paid, nothing memorable, extra charge if you want an egg etc. Bar service etc was very attentive. Would have give this place 5/5, but it is in need of a coat of paint here and there, especially on the upper terrace. We also had a stained undersheet on our bed, which was quickly taken care of as well.

All in all would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment. Your opinions keep us encouraged to improve our service in the future.
Best wishes from the entire staff of Villa Maroc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Villa Maroc is very well situated for the Medina and the coast. Our room (1/2) was nicely furnished, and comfortable although it did have a slight mustiness- something we found fairly commonly in Morocco. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

We enjoyed eating breakfast on the terrace. Dinner was served in a number of small rooms, which had a certain charm. The cook was talented but we felt we paid a lot for a meal here compared to other restaurants in Essaouira.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOPEFULLY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Villa Maroc is an amazing place to stay, combining top class service with a very laid back approach that leaves you feeling comfortable whatever your mood. The staff are what really mark it out - they are unceasingly kind and concerned that you have everything you need, without ever being intrusive. They even called us before our stay to confirm that our online booking was going to meet our requirements, unheard of in this day of call centres and automated responses! The hotel itself is beautiful, with all the little hidden corners, atmospheric lighting and log fires you would hope to find in your dream riad. The bar and dining areas are charming and relaxed, we whiled away many an hour playing backgammon and drinking decent local wine. The terrace, where you can have breakfast, sunbath, take tea or just relax with a book was perfect with great views of the sea, beach and incredible sunsets. There is a tree growing in the central courtyard which crests on to the terrace and while we were there had singing mynah birds and even its own chameleon. Calm, tranquil, it's the perfect antidote to Essaouira's medina. The location is great, near enough to the medina walls that getting out to a car is quick and easy, less than 5 minutes walk to the beach for long strolls in the sunshine and right in the medina itself for access to cafes, restaurants, shops and the souk. Having stayed in chilly riads in Essaouira twice before over christmas, this was also the first time I've ever been truly warm at night once the sun sets, helped along by the hot water bottles the staff put in your bed every night. One word of caution would be to appreciate that you are staying in an old building in an old city - if you can't live without lifts and satellite TV you might prefer to stay in a more modern build outside the medina. For me though, the atmosphere of the building, charm and old school courtesy of its staff and perfect service make Villa Maroc somewhere I would return to in a heartbeat - we've only been home a week and are already wondering when we can return! Top marks.

Room Tip: There are lots of floors and lots of stairs at the Villa Maroc as it is a merger of 4 old riads. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClytieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaroc, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Maroc, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We're very looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I cannot remember when I stayed at the Villa Maroc last but each time I stay here it's like my home from home. The staff are friendly, the food is fantastic, the welcome great and the hands-on owners become friends overnight. It's just a delight to live there and I love it. It's easy to locate when you arrive and more importantly easy to find your way back. Just a few short minutes walk from both the beach and the Medina this hotel is ideally placed for everything Essaouira has to offer. The peaceful roof terrace gardens, the mini courtyards, the views of the ocean, the unique charm of an individual room in a Riad all makes a stay here magical.

In my opinion this is undoubtedly the best hotel in Essaouira. The staff are like a family and do their absolute best to help you in anyway they can, nothing seems to be too much trouble and if there is any query the Lady of the House is usually there to help in a variety of fluent languages.

Room Tip: This is a Riad with narrow stairs. The staff will always help with luggage so decide which floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
8.0 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#12 of 75 in Essaouira
269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maroc

Address: 10, rue Abdellah Ben Yassine, Essaouira, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $156 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maroc 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The leading Riad Hotel in Essaouira. Villa Maroc has everything you could dream of for an unforgettable holiday. Great location tucked inside the ramparts of the historical medina, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Villa Maroc offers you breathtaking views of the sea and port, 21 rooms with simplicity, spirituality, elegance and refinement, as well as an Oriental Spa. Just a few minutes from the sea and port. Close to both shops and beaches. Villa Maroc is famous for its regional cuisine and romantic candlelit dinners round an open fire. Villa Maroc is the meeting place for artists, actors and musicians." Good Wifi connection throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maroc Hotel Essaouira
Maroc Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing