We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backpackers paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantic Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Backpackers paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I was here for 1 night and 2 days. A really awesome place in Essaouira, near to the city center, 10-15 min to the Atlantic Ocean beach, 15 min to the bus stop. Really cool, friendly and helpful stuff! Great atmosphere with all the backpackers around the world. Bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and tidied up.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    33
    13
    10
    12
See reviews for
6
26
69
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We arrived here after a long bus journey from Taghazout near Agadir. A local lad lead us to the front door where we received a very warm welcome from the staff. After finding our booking on the computer we were given a guided tour around the two buildings which make up the hostel and shown two different rooms for us to pick out of for our stay. After dumping our belongings in our chosen room we ventured out for the rest of the day. The staff were very helpful in showing us how to get everywhere we wanted to go. We ate breakfast on the roof in the mornings and a tagine on one of the evenings was one of the best meals of our trip, well worth the wait.
All in all I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I was so happy to find Atlantic Hostel in Essaouria. The staff were immediately welcoming and I felt safe staying here as a female traveling on my own. The building is beautiful and has a great atmosphere for meeting new people. Relaxing on the roof terrace was one of the highlights of my time at Atlantic. The terrace offers panoramic views of Essaouria and a nice place to eat breakfast and get some sun before heading out for the day. I stayed in the ten bedroom dorm and found it very clean and comfortable and ended up extending my stay for four more nights. They have a locker you can use to store your belongings and other services such as laundry which I found very helpful. It's hard to leave this place! I greatly appreciated the staff's insight into Essaouria and traveling in Morocco and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 240Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimouski, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed many nights at Atlantic Hostel during my trip to Morocco. 1 word: perfect from "A" to "Z". The dormitories were clean/+confortable, the living room and terrace are really amazing places for the price you pay. In Essaouira, I dont think you can find a good accodomation like Atlantic hostel: I highly recommand this hostel! Big up for the staff(music, tips, etc)!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

If you pay 25€ for a private room with shared badroom, you can at least expect a bed. We got a dirty mattrass on the floor, disgusting unwashed sheets and no curtains. After we complained, they agreed to lower the price a little, but it was still way too much.

Tip: Stay away! And if you decide to go either way, don't agree before you checked the room yourself, don't forget your sleeping bag and demand a room in the main building, like the website suggests.

Room Tip: Stay away! And if you decide to go either way, don't agree before you checked the room yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jolien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Me and 3 friends were looking for a comfortable accomodation to spend our last night in morocco after two weeks travelling around. Because of the good reviews we decided to make a reservation in the atlantic hostel. Worst decision ever. We went to all the same.stuff as someone else described allready.

At first we had to pay before seeing the rooms (we did because we had no doubts the rooms were gonna be okay). Then we were brought to the other building across the street were we saw the most horrible rooms ever. We booked two double private rooms with shared bathroom. To shorten the story: matrass on the ground, dirty sheets, dirty curtains, hair on the ground and in the pillows, no toiletpaper and disgusting toilet and shower. Then we had to ask for keys ourselves to close up the rooms since they are not responsible for any losses...

Because it was allready late and we had to leave early we decided to stay but to go ask for another arrangment cause we payed waaaaaaay to much (we stayed in a beautiful ryad before for a lower price than we payed here). They finally agreed to give us a reduction of 3 euros pppn and breakfast at 7am for free. During the negotiations the big boss and the guy we saw at first talked the whole time in arabic so we could not understand what they were saying. We asked to talked to us directly and they told us the boss did not speak english or french. After the negotiations were finished the boss started to talk to me about my umbrella and everything in english. So another lie.

When we knocked on the door for breakfast the next morning the guy was still sleeping and nothing was ready. He was freaking out at first cause we took place at another table then he told us (there were 2 very smelly full ashtreys on the table he gave us). After 15 minutes waiting (had to catch our plain) he came with some old bread, a cup of tea and a little confiture. Nothing more (they promised omelettes and everything). When we left the guy who served breakfast asked how breakfast and our stay was. We told honestly that the rooms and bathrooms were disgusting, breakfast was late and poor. He laughed and just said: 'maybe next time'. I don't think there will be a next time. We were very disappointed to end up our beautiful trip in morocco this way. Please avoid this hostel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Bieke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great relaxed hostel with very friendly and chilled out staff. There are no worries in this place, the location is great, right in the Medina and the hostel itself has a very relaxed, safe and friendly vibe. The staff had no problem with us keeping our private room even though we didn't know how long we intended to stay. It's a very creative big place, which is brilliant if you enjoy painting/drawing/writing etc.every staff is singin! because they have guitar, jembe and gnaoua, we all guest enjoyed music together. it was really nice moment. and they serve to me very good meal and tea! i like the concept of this hostel. i was impressed by their free imagination. for sure i want to come back here because only one night is not enough!!! i was inspired very much. thank you Atlantic Hostel and Woodstockl!!!

Room Tip: rooms upstairs are so nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 741Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#36 of 77 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 77 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sahara
Hotel Sahara
#72 of 77 in Essaouira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Cloud Nine
Hostel Cloud Nine
#5 of 53 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hostel

Property: Atlantic Hostel
Address: Derb Lebbana, 34, Essaouira 65400, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing