We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and kindness in Essaouria.”
Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Maya
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We just had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the lovely Dar Maya. Gareth has created a beautiful riad in the heart of the medina, one were all the buzz of the blue alleys disappears as you enter inside. Our room was very comfortable and he provided an extra bed for our young daughters who loved playing with his dogs. The hot shower was also quite nice after a day at the beach. Garett also went above and beyond by finding and returning my daughter's sketch pad she had left at a restaurant all the way to Marrakech. Many thanks G!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 453 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

Essaouria was brilliant and Dar Maya complimented the vibe and spirit of the town. There is a fine line between being comfortable and relaxed and feeling as though you are being spoilt; staying in 5 star luxury or living in your dream home. Dar Maya does it. After staying in Marrakech for 5 days, Essaouria was a calming surprise, not as frantic and very friendly. I dont know whether it was the dogs greeting you at the door, the comfortbale lounge areas and bedrooms with beautiful furnishings, the music, the books, an available and knowledgeable host, the smiling staff..............but it was all fantastic and Dar Maya was the highlight of our stay in Morocco

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lcbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed with Gareth for 4 nights and were really sad to leave. He managed to accommodate us for an extra night last minute, and was always on hand to help with restaurant recommendations, what to wear on a camel trek (!) and other helpful information. The food suggestions he gave us were all excellent, not too expensive and we had some of our best meals in Essaouira.

We loved the modern, spacious, and comfortable Riad. It is right in the centre of town, yet is so quiet you wouldn't know. The rooms are beautiful, bathrooms spacious, and beds large and comfortable! There is a lovely roof terrace with a jaccuzi to relax in, a cool lounge to shelter from the sun and the wind and an inner courtyard with water feature where we had breakfast every morning.

The staff were so friendly, we had an amazing hammam and massage (the best we had by far during our 2 week trip to Morocco), and were always on hand to help with anything you needed.

We are now planning our return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights with our daughter and son-in-law. We loved the modern architecture and our spacious and luxuriously appointed rooms with bathrooms, balconies, and comfortable beds. The roof terrace and sitting out areas are great for relaxing in the cool and quiet. The friendly owner Gareth and his staff were very helpful and attended to all our requests (and the dogs Eddy and Nini also made friends). Gareth was a mine of information and booked a taxi transfer back to Marrakech airport for us. The ample breakfast (fruit juice, pancakes, fresh fruit, eggs, croissants, baguettes, jam and butter) was excellent, and we had amazing meals in the evenings following Gareth’s local restaurant recommendations.

We thoroughly recommend this Riad which is ideally situated if you want to be in a quiet location in the medina with easy walking distance to shops, fishing port, beach, and good eating places.

Room Tip: The riad has 4 floors (including roof terrace) without a lift. Laafit and Tignna both very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValnRichard2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Dar Maya is brilliant, and I loved Essaouira — I'm already plotting our return. We only stayed for two nights, but I'd love to stay longer and spend more days wandering the streets of the medina and lounging on Dar Maya's rooftop watching the changing skies and drinking tea. Everything was perfect.

The staff were all exceptionally friendly and helpful, and didn't laugh at me at all when I locked our cameras in our in-room safe and then couldn't get them out again. Every single surface at the hotel was lovely (I kept touching the walls, because I became a bit obsessed with how smooth the gorgeous tadelakt felt) and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was luxurious. The breakfasts were particularly yummy, and our tagines at dinner very tasty.

And, it was a delight to meet Gareth and his dogs, made Internet-famous by their TripAdvisor fans! We'd emailed Gareth before arrival to book our pick-up from Marrakech (an enjoyable journey with a very friendly driver) and a spa treatment (an amazing dreamy hammam followed by a really great in-room massage) and everything was wonderful. Thanks, Gareth!

Also, there's a little case of beautiful things you can buy in the lovely tiny lobby, and the earrings I picked up there became my staples for the rest of our honeymoon; I love them.

Room Tip: We had, I think, one of the smaller rooms (Akshood), and it was still big. We had massive cases, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJC_NW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband & I recently stayed at Dar Maya, only for one night, but our time at the riad was wonderful. When we arrived we were immediately greeted by two very lovable dogs, Eddy & Nini. We did not have the pleasure of meeting Gareth but the staff was welcoming and very helpful. The riad is spectacular in design & décor. Very romantic with a gorgeous rooftop lounge. Breakfast was delicious, one of the best we had in Morocco.

We would highly recommend Dar Maya to anyone travelling to Essaouira. We can't wait to return & stay long. We stayed in the Tignna Suite and it was beautifully decorated and a fabulous bathroom.

Room Tip: Tignna Suite is great, private & quiet but I'm sure all the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This riad is simply stunning. Every wall, fixture, candle, doorknob--every detail large and small--is impeccable. Gareth, the owner, has taken great care and thoughtfulness in creating each space within the hotel. The effect is elegant, relaxing and inviting. Lighting and contemporary color palettes are fantastic. Great beds, sheets, rugs, towels and even 'western' toilet paper. Both the larger and smaller rooms are equally lovely and the rooftop is a great place to unwind or take the sun. (I hear a hot tub is forthcoming). It was tough to leave the riad to explore Essaouira!

I also loved Gareth's restaurant recommendations. He knows good food, and good design.

More than that, I cannot say enough about the staff. We adored Youseff -- and not only for his commitment to assist us in every possible way-- and the very best smile in Essaouira surely belongs to Fusia. She and the others were a delight to wake up to each morning and were all wonderful at their jobs. Abdel too was just great -- friendly, knowledgeable and helpful..

The staff offers not only service AND hospitality, but kindness and warmth as well.
Bravo to them all.

And if you're a dog lover, two extremely lovable canines live at the riad -- Eddy and Nini! They stole our hearts an hour into our 4-night stay.

Take time to wind down in Essaouira....it's the most chilled city in Morocco that I saw. Highly recommend this modern, chic, pretty-much-perfect riad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redhead-on-the-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#2 of 75 in Essaouira
534 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#19 of 75 in Essaouira
495 reviews
5.9 mi away
Riad Baoussala
Riad Baoussala
#4 of 75 in Essaouira
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range: $117 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing