We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame it doesn't go to 6 stars....!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Maya
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shame it doesn't go to 6 stars....!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We booked Dar Maya based on TripAdvisor reviews and the information available on the website. Gareth was in touch with us before we even left the UK, explaining the ways he could help from airport pickups to arranging excursions and beyond. He was there to answer any last minute queries about climate or anything on our minds before we'd even finished packing.

The transfer was seamless; we were met at the airport and driven in comfort to the medina walls, before being handed over to a porter who walked us straight to Dar Maya. It's tucked away down a quiet medina side street, and the impact of opening an understated wooden door and stepping into the absolute beauty and tranquility of the riad is utterly incredible.

We were offered a drink by Gareth as soon as we arrived, but chose to freshen up after our flight as my excited girlfriend was desperate to see the room we'd been thinking about since we booked it. We stayed in the Tignna suite on the top floor, and it was absolutely beautiful. Each suite at Dar Maya is themed and this was the more modern of the 5 rooms. There aren't words to describe how spectacular it was, especially the bathroom with underfloor heating, soft lighting, and a fantastic, round, deep bath for two. We had a lovely balcony and huge doors opening to a view of the internal courtyard and plenty of light. As the only room on that floor, we had easy access to the beautiful, large, well-appointed upstairs lounge, with comfy seating, internet access, wifi, a library, and Bose audio kit. It was even better in the evenings as it was softly lit by candles.

We were welcomed with drinks after freshening up, and Gareth provided us with a map of the medina and numerous recommendations, arranging a booking for our first dinner and giving us a few pointers of places we wouldn't want to miss. For the whole of our stay, the staff were always on hand and available to answer even the simplest of questions, and nothing was too difficult. Also part of the friendly welcome were the 2 riad dogs, Eddy and Nini, who added another homely touch to our stay (even if it did take Eddy 4 days to like me as much as he liked my girlfriend!) We were heading to Marrakech after our week in Essaouira, and Gareth arranged an extremely comfortable shuttle to take us there, and even gave us some personal recommendations of bars, restaurants and activities to try while we were there.

We had picked Dar Maya as a place to relax for a few days before heading on with our holiday, to really unwind and rest. It was so good, we extended our stay by an extra night; Gareth and the team were extremely accommodating, and we were in the Moroccan-themed suite for one night, with yet another spectacular 2-person bath to enjoy.

On our last night, we booked a treatment in the riad's hammam, which included an in-room couples full-body massage. A hammam is a must while in Morocco and it was a lovely touch to have one accessible within the riad. After being thoroughly washed, exfoliated and oiled, it was amazing to set foot back into our room to find it transformed, with soft music playing and gentle candlelight, and the 2 massage tables set up for our treatment there. That was the first massage I'd ever had and I can't believe what I've been missing out on; it was the most relaxed, contented and happy I've felt in some considerable time!

The riad also had a lovely roof terrace which would have been even better in summer. It was nicely shielded from the wind and had a plunge pool in case you were feeling too warm, but it was a beautiful place to relax and read in the sun.

While we didn't eat dinner in the riad, we did enjoy breakfast there every morning. They were flexible enough accommodate any time you wanted to eat which allowed us to take advantage of some lovely long lies in huge spectacular bed! You could eat in the internal courtyard, a lounge area downstairs, or elsewhere in the riad. Breakfast was simple but delicious home cooked food, with a selection of pastries, flatbreads and omelettes.

Writing this review makes us both wish we were back there, and we'd frankly have stayed forever if we could. It was the best stay either of us have had in a hotel anywhere in the world, comfortably the best holiday experience either of us could think of. We could add another 3000 words talking about every little detail but I think we'd test readers' patience!

An incredible, wonderful, relaxing stay, and recommended a thousand times over. We can't believe it's not easily the top ranked hotel in Essaouira. Thank you to Gareth, Abdel, the whole staff (and Eddy and Nini) for the time of our lives.

Room Tip: They're all differently themed but all excellent; we stayed in 2 of the 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKiwiCooCoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    46
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
274
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

The riad is fantastic. Our room 'tigana' was at the top of the riad in prime position and had a private balcony which was fantastic for catching some sun out of the Essaouira wind.
The owner Gareth was fantastic in meeting all our requests - such as recommending restaurants (all of which were excellent choices), organising a day trip and transfers.
The room was very luxurious. The photos on the website don't really do justice to the size. The bathroom was great with a big circular bath and shower. The whole riad was decorated in a really modern way that stil captured the essence of Morocco.
The other staff were all really friendly and always happy to help.
Breakfast was very good - eggs any way you want them, pancakes, pain au chocolat, croissants etc as well as fresh fruit, beautiful fresh orange juice and coffee/tea.

The town of Essaouira is really relaxed and fun - a big and welcome contrast to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.
We had a great time at Dar Maya and would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting the town.

Room Tip: Tigana is great for getting afternoon sun and is light and bright. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulSarahL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for 8 days in March and enjoyed every minute. Gareth has a fantastic team working with him - friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Gareth is a very nice guy and also very helpful, with two friendly dogs in constant attendance. It was really like staying in a home from home. Comfortable rooms with good beds. There are comfortable, relaxing lounges and a roof terrace with a plunge pool. Wifi is good throughout the building and there is a desktop computer available too.

Essaouira is a charming, relaxed place and the locals are very friendly. There is no pressure from shopkeepers who, of course, want to sell you something but are quite happy to chat and show their wares whilst accepting a no if you don’t want to buy. Plenty to see and places to walk and watersports - kite surfing, windsurfing, boarding - in abundance.

There are many good restaurants and the Riad also offers evening meals. Our aim was to eat somewhere different every night so only ate at the Riad once but the meal was very good. Breakfasts at the Riad are plentiful with good fresh orange juice, fresh fruit salad, eggs as you want them and an assortment of pastries.

We had an enjoyable and relaxed time and are looking forward to a return visit. We will now only consider Riad Dar Maya as the place to stay in Essaouira.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnaRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for two nights in March 2014. From the booking stage, through to departure on the last day, Gareth and his team were extremely helpful. Travel tickets were procured, restaurants recommended and lots of advice given. The Dar is stunning in a modern Moroccan style, with large well appointed bedrooms and bathrooms. It’s a really relaxing place to stay. Essaouira is a beautiful town. We have stayed there three times in different hotels or riads, and Dar Maya was our favourite place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at Dar Maya for two days in March 2014 which turned out to be the highlights of our Morocco trip. Credit mainly goes to Dar Maya and the team around Gareth who made us feel very welcome in their beautiful house. The entire riad could easily appear in a design magazine without being over stylish and making you feel uncomfortable. Rooms are large, airy and have the most amazing bathrooms (think of mini hammams). The roof top terrace offers great views of Essaouira and the ocean, there is stable wifi throughout the entire building (rare in Moroccan hotels), homemade breakfast is delicious - in essence it's hard to think of a nicer accomodation to spend relaxing days in the heart of Essaouira's medina. The best about this riad, however, is the helpfulness and friendliness of Gareth, his staff and his two cute dogs. We hope to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianBowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Amazing place to stay. Everything runs smoothly from booking in, to transport being organised, breakfast, whatever you want is no problem. Huge rooms and bathrooms, great position, nothing to complain about at all. Relaxing lounge areas, nooks, plunge pool, roof terrace. Fantastic ambience with candles, lighting, but all the while comfortable and cosy. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at Dar Maya for a week in February (2014). From beginning to end it was a delight to have Dar Maya as the place to take one step into from the small alleys in the Medina and be in a place of real tranquillity.
Gareth (the owner) and of course Eddy and Nini (my boys had loads of fun with Gareths dogs) made our stay a week that will live on forever in our memories. The breakfast was fantastic and could be served anywhere in the Riad you'd like. The Patio, terrace, in your room... Gareths staff took really good care of us and there was not the slightest hesitation when we asked for anything.
We had dinner in the Riad three nights and that was a treat!! 3 course menu which you basically could make up yourself. Other nights we tried out some restaurants which Gareth pointed out and that was all fantastic.
The room was very spacious, with big beds and linen which made you sleep really good. The room was also quiet with the interior design well thought through.
You will find it hard to find a place like Dar Maya.
Will we come back? Yes!!
Thank you Dar Maya (Gareth, Eddy, Nini and staff)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ensamimorkret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#5 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Property: Dar Maya
Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing