We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of a better place to stay in Essaouira”
Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Maya
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Can't think of a better place to stay in Essaouira”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at Dar Maya for two days in March 2014 which turned out to be the highlights of our Morocco trip. Credit mainly goes to Dar Maya and the team around Gareth who made us feel very welcome in their beautiful house. The entire riad could easily appear in a design magazine without being over stylish and making you feel uncomfortable. Rooms are large, airy and have the most amazing bathrooms (think of mini hammams). The roof top terrace offers great views of Essaouira and the ocean, there is stable wifi throughout the entire building (rare in Moroccan hotels), homemade breakfast is delicious - in essence it's hard to think of a nicer accomodation to spend relaxing days in the heart of Essaouira's medina. The best about this riad, however, is the helpfulness and friendliness of Gareth, his staff and his two cute dogs. We hope to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianBowery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    46
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
59
280
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Amazing place to stay. Everything runs smoothly from booking in, to transport being organised, breakfast, whatever you want is no problem. Huge rooms and bathrooms, great position, nothing to complain about at all. Relaxing lounge areas, nooks, plunge pool, roof terrace. Fantastic ambience with candles, lighting, but all the while comfortable and cosy. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at Dar Maya for a week in February (2014). From beginning to end it was a delight to have Dar Maya as the place to take one step into from the small alleys in the Medina and be in a place of real tranquillity.
Gareth (the owner) and of course Eddy and Nini (my boys had loads of fun with Gareths dogs) made our stay a week that will live on forever in our memories. The breakfast was fantastic and could be served anywhere in the Riad you'd like. The Patio, terrace, in your room... Gareths staff took really good care of us and there was not the slightest hesitation when we asked for anything.
We had dinner in the Riad three nights and that was a treat!! 3 course menu which you basically could make up yourself. Other nights we tried out some restaurants which Gareth pointed out and that was all fantastic.
The room was very spacious, with big beds and linen which made you sleep really good. The room was also quiet with the interior design well thought through.
You will find it hard to find a place like Dar Maya.
Will we come back? Yes!!
Thank you Dar Maya (Gareth, Eddy, Nini and staff)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ensamimorkret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were visiting Essaouira for my partner's birthday and had a fantastic stay at Dar Maya.

The property is a lovely riad refurbished to a very high standard by the English owner and his excellent team.

From the first email communication to the day of departure, nothing was too much trouble. Flowers and a bottle of wine in the room for my partner's birthday were a lovely welcome. The bathrooms are amazing, with a double bath in one of the rooms we stayed in (we tried out two rooms, just for the variety ;) ). A lovely balcony and excellent communal lounge made the place fabulous for relaxing. The roof top terrace is great for breakfast, and there's a small unheated pool up there that would be great to cool off in during the hotter summer months. There's also a view of the sea from the terrace.

Breakfasts are great - pastries, eggs and coffee (or English tea for my mildly homesick companion!) were all served by very friendly staff, wherever and whenever you desire (breakfast starts at 0830 and finishes whenever everyone has decided to get up and eat).

There's also a hammam on site, and the option to have dinner prepared for you too - unfortunately we didn't take advantage of either of these services.

Taxis were arranged to transport us from Marrakech and back to the airport at either end of our stay, including porter from the car to the hotel - again, first class service in a comfortable, clean car with a friendly driver.

Overall a wonderful, relaxing stay - we'll be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: The tignna room was our favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Very nice, small riad in the middle of medina.Beautiful rooms, wonderful details.Very friendly staff and owners.Like small boutique hotel!peaceful place.good breakfast.Big bathroom with nice designs.Good bed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heusden-Zolder, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Beautiful decorated riad in the heart of the medina. Very friendly and helpful host and staff. We were picked up at the airport in Marrakech by a driver, arranged by Gareth. The driver accompanied us till we arrived at the riad.
The first night we had our dinner at the riad. To recommend: the chicken tajine!
Delightful breakfast with pancakes, fresh orange juice... Cosy roof terrace.
The owner even send out someone of his staff to get us some wax for our tadelakt at home.
If we will come back to Essaouira we certainly would like to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff were excellent, the rooms were large, well appointed, and clean. The staff were an excellent source for restaurant recommendations, and for driving directions for the rest of our itinerary. Great breakfast included. The resident canines were also very friendly! It was a very restful property.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had were fantastic, large, beautiful bathrooms, very nice common sitting areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haymacVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
503 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 74 in Essaouira
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
683 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Jardin des Douars
Le Jardin des Douars
#6 of 74 in Essaouira
789 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Property: Dar Maya
Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing