We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Maya
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door of Dar Maya we were blown away by the beauty and style of the place. It has been very tastefully decorated and the rooms are the most comfortable we have found in the whole of this trip to Morocco. Gareth and his staff go out of their way to make sure that all is well. We have been thoroughly pampered and spoilt by them throughout our stay and we will be sorry to leave. I highly recommend the hamam , massage it wqs the best ever. We qre in a couple of times, Abdel is an excellent chef. We will most definitely recommend this hotel to our friends. Many thanks Gareth for your kindness and hospitality we will be back next year

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesfilolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    43
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
50
263
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This place is verything the other reviews say it is. A marvellous rebuild of an old riad, done in great style. Breakfast is modest but, crucially, it is served whenever and wherever you want it to be. Gareth is a congenial host and his staff are great too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldJohnty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I booked Riad Dar Maya because of its innovative styling and services. To that end, the riad lived up to expectations. Heated bathroom floors, clean, spacious, a warm fireplace in the room, great location. However, a two irksome simple items that seem like tablestakes for a hotel troubled my experience: (1) The bathroom shower drain did not function, even after an attendant came to address the situation (2) The room/riad carried a subtle, but insidious aroma of stale sewage. The bathroom issue would not have been bad if it were resolved prior to our departure, but after the attendant could not remediate the situation immediately, the issue was met with indifference and non-action. I do not know how to address the second situation. Perhaps it is the type of cleaner used combined with personal olfactory [dis]preference, but I did not have a good experience. Maybe it is better for others or just a seasonal issue.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the themes of your suite because each has a different flavor/specialty which you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gareth T, Owner at Dar Maya, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dar Maya welcomes feedback from all our guests and we are willing to be judged by these reviews. We believe it is important for prospective guests to know that this reviewer quietly left the hotel without paying for his room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Riad Dar Maya was absolutely wonderful - the whole place is beautiful, and our room was incredible - with a bath I could have spent days in! The food was great, and Gareth and his team were so helpful and accommodating - Gareth's recommendations in Marrakech really made the rest of our trip. The taxi that picked us up from the airport was great too - and was a great guide, teaching us some Arabic words and helping me practice my French! I couldn't recommend Dar Maya more.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvaLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Beautifully designed and furnished, romantic, candle lit.

Hammam and massage: Wow! A must! Exhilarating Hammam and the best massage ever had, in room, amazing sound track and candle lit

Food at hotel: as good as if not better than top restaurants in Essaouira, worth staying in for.... Just need to tell them a few hours in advance.

Roof terrace: great place to unwind, relax and watch the rooftops come alive, listen to sound of crashing waves.

Bedroom: super comfortable, amazing candlelit baths, best night sleep

The weather was great in November, recommend it for winter sun.

The Medina: a delightful mix of sights, sounds and smells. Very laid back, felt very safe. Very clean.

Happy smiley staff, who seem to really care about their jobs.

So much to do. Something for everyone. A total escape from normal life.

Thanks Gareth, Eddy & Nini for an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: we stayed in Tignna which apparently means SKY. Highest room closest to the roof terrace and dip poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

When travelling to Essouira we wondered if we had been optimistic in booking to stay 9 nights thinking perhaps what would you do after the first 3 or 4 days.
No problem! From the moment we stepped into Dar Maya and shook hands with with Gareth we were at home.
The riad was beautiful and had every convenience we could have wanted. Gareth and staff were anxious to make our stay in Essouira memorable and make us think about a return visit.
The riad was so central to everything and Gareth and staff had so many suggested activities that when our last night came we thought we could have easily stayed a couple more nights. (can recommend the Moroccan cooking course suggested by Gareth.) Can highly recommend Dar Maya for an extended stay - a couple of nights is definitely not enough to experience Essaouira and its wonderful culture.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

From the moment we walked through the Medina we knew we were going to love Essaouira, our four days there was made even more special by our stay at Dar Maya. From the first enquiry to our last day everything was perfect.

Gareth the owner has done an superb job creating a stylish ambience, which is only enhanced by Eddy and Nini the resident dogs. We stayed in the Laafit room, a wonderful space with balcony and the most amazing two person marble bathtub. No detail was overlooked; comfortable bed, huge towels, fluffy bathrobes and wonderful toiletries.

The riad itself is a a contemporary take on classic Moroccan with a wonderful use of local materials and crafts mixed with design classics and elegant touches. The roof terrace with plunge pool has a peak of the Atlantic and is a great place to take breakfast or relax with a cup of steaming mint tea.

All the staff were amazing and attentive, no wish was to much, we received recommendations for all our excellent dinners and reservations were made on our behalf. The riad could not be in a better location tucked within the Medina walls and walking distance from every amenity.

I would not hesitate to recommend Dar Maya as a wonderful, relaxing retreat, a home from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodies1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Chbanate
Riad Chbanate
#6 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
5.4 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#12 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#9 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maya

Property: Dar Maya
Address: 33 Rue Oujda, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Maya is a luxury boutique hotel, offering five rooms, a spa and rooftop hot tub in a chic, tranquil riad in the heart of Essaouira's historic medina. Having successfully blended a mix of understated Moroccan and contemporary European styles, Dar Maya oozes elegance, subtlety and intimacy. Our aim is to make your stay at Dar Maya as enjoyable as possible, and we offer an impeccable level of service that only a small luxury hotel can provide.With stunning ocean views from the terrace, the hotel is a few minutes walk to all the main attractions and amenities including the bustling cafes and restaurants, souks, port and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Dar Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing