We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food! Great view! Great people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zahra"s Grill

Zahra"s Grill
Ranked #4 of 262 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Grilling dishes on glowing embers was at the base of all cookery, and is an art our Chef Mohammed has mastered perfectly. Here on the second floor of the Riad Zahra with an ocean view Mediterranean cuisine is to the fore. Paëllas, lobster or prawns, sea fish, shellfish, meat ... At the heart of our cuisine are the superb natural products, which give out all their savours under the embers' influence, sharing their aromas with the grills and the products cooked on them. Jofre will help you choose dishes that are just right for you and will help you choose wines to match them. There's also a wide range of wines for you to enjoy.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great food! Great view! Great people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I had the pleasure of dining at Zahra's a couple of months back and it is by far one of the nicest place to grab a bite in Essaouira. The view is stunning (you get to enjoy a great ocean view without all the hustle and bustle of the medina), the ingredients are super fresh (the seafood is to die for) and their creative chef is always coming up with new and interesting food combinations which make everytime you go there a different yet equally enticing experience. The staff is really friendly, professional, and always available to give great tips about things you can do while staying in Essaouira. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Amal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review.
We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Zahra´s Grill, and look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    68
    18
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

What a place to find! One of the most amazing views of a beach sunset in Essaouira with the food to match. I had the fish of the day which was monkfish and was cooked to perfection. Will definitely be going back for our final night. Service was impeccible too. Do yourself a favour and eat at this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Ben,

Thank you for writing such a positive review of Zahra´s Grill on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of food and the sun set views.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon and thank you so much
for recommending the Zahra´s Grill.
Best regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant overlooking the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We visited Riad Zahra based on the other reviews and I highly recommend it! I had the sirloin steak and it was absolutely delicious! There is a great choice of 'fish of the day' options. We also had a table overlooking the beach watching the sun set. The service was also very attentive - will most likely go back for final night of holiday.

Helpful?
2 Thank juliedawson47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Zahra's Grill.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the service, the quality of food and the views.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Steak to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

The atmosphere when we walked into the restaurant was so warm and welcoming, we felt relaxed straight away. The view of the beach is class and Jofre the waiter was great, he had our wine poured before we knew it. The food was cooked to perfection and just the right amount, you can see and hear the food being cooked in front of you and everything is fresh. Couldn't fault anything, the staff are attentive, friendly and welcoming, the food is great and very reasonable and the atmosphere and views are exceptional. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Denise,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience in Zahra´s Grill.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the service, the quality of food, and our prices.
Our team is working hard every day to make our guest feels happy and your satisfaction is the best reward they could receive.
We hope to welcome you back to Riad Zahra in the near future.

Kind regards,
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have choosen this restaurant to have dinner in occasion of my birthday.Simply perfect place in every aspect of our stay.Cozy atmosphere,you can watch a stunning view of sunset.Excellent kitchen,all the ingredients are fresh and high quality,suprisingly good seafood dishes.The waiter and owners were very attentive,always finding advices,they really know their job.The desserts were excelent-so lovely touch-very beautifully presented by owner the birhday cace.
All in all-one of best restaurants in Essaouira,you get that real value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikisVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Customers,

Thanks for visit and for taking time to share your experiane in Zahra's Grill.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of food and service.
We hope to welcome you back to Zahra's Grill in the near futur.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zahra"s Grill also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Zahra"s Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing