We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food, nice view, friendly service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zahra"s Grill

Zahra"s Grill
Ranked #3 of 255 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Grilling dishes on glowing embers was at the base of all cookery, and is an art our Chef Mohammed has mastered perfectly. Here on the second floor of the Riad Zahra with an ocean view Mediterranean cuisine is to the fore. Paëllas, lobster or prawns, sea fish, shellfish, meat ... At the heart of our cuisine are the superb natural products, which give out all their savours under the embers' influence, sharing their aromas with the grills and the products cooked on them. Jofre will help you choose dishes that are just right for you and will help you choose wines to match them. There's also a wide range of wines for you to enjoy.
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, nice view, friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very nice restaurant situated at the top of Riad Zahra with great view. Restaurant run by very friendly and always smiling Jofre who can prepare for you what you want. You should try there excellent Sangria.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks Christopher for taking your time to write this review.
I'm very glad we met your expectations and I hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards.
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    64
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Córdoba, Cordoba, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food. Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The restaurant is neraby the beach with great views. The food is very good. We visited them several times and never failed. The service is awesome. Very helpfull and friendly staff

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propietario at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias Francisco por sus visitas a Zahra's Grill y su posterior comentario en esta comunidad
de viajeros.
Nos sentimos plenamente satisfechos por haber complacido sus expectativas y esperamos poder recibirlo en un proximo viaje, inchallah.
Saludos cordiales para Ud. y sus amigos
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir Province, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great service and awesome view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

First of all, the grill is managed by Jofre, which is a brilliant guy very patient and kind.
Second, the view, absolutely amazing. As soon as you walk in, you get absolutely astonished by the great view of the Essaouira bay. Especially during the sun set.
The food is great, fresh fish and fresh meat, you ask to Jofre what you want and he'll make it exactly like that. I can suggest some tapas and a nice grilled snapper.
If you are around Essaouira, the trip to Zahra's Grill is worth the time and the money, especially considering how cheap is Morocco compared to Europe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank raffaeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propriétaire at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hi Raffa,

Thanks for your time to share your experience in Zahra's Grill.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of food and service.
I hope to see you again in the future.
All the best
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“One of my favorite resturants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

One of my favorite restaurants. Back here for 2 months after a stay of 2 months in 2012. This restaurant is different and is as excellent as it was in 2012. Majority are either Moroccan or French restaurants. This one has a Spanish flavor. Try the incredible variety of tapas, all excellent. Fantastic fresh fish. Great variety of grilled meat. Was surprised at the shellfish. Fantastic lobster and seafood. Includes razor clams which I have never heard of. And this restaurant is run by Jofre, son of the owner of the Riad Zahra. His excellent hospitality and service reminds me of the fantastic hospitality at Riad Zahra. Bonus is that Zahra grill is situated in Riad Zahra and is by the beach and has a great sea and sunset view.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Propriétaire at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Brian,

Thanks a lot for your comments and we are very happy to know you are satisfied with our cooking.
I hope to see you again
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular sunset; great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is well worth the excursion down from the old town. Incredible views of the sunset over the island. And a great, Spanish-inspired menu. No fresher fish in Essaouira!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garethbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XavierEssaouira, Gérant at Zahra"s Grill, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Gareth,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your detailed review on Tripadvisor.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of food.
I hope to see you next year again.
Kind regards
Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zahra"s Grill also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Zahra"s Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing