We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice experience”

Restaurant Des Arts
Ranked #69 of 261 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Find us in the center of the old medine. Ancient times the family home, the local, still retains the essence, but you will find a different and very unique decor. Live music every night, surrounded by works of local artists. Welcoming atmosphere, you are at home. The best way to enjoy the wonderful Moroccan cuisine. Marhaba !!! Welcome!!!
Oeiras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we decided to go in (up) and take the risk. the promise was art + music, we didn't expect much in terms of food. we found the 5 table restaurant just for us at the beginning but the house got full quickly. the young owner/host makes all efforts to make people feel at home ("my mama cooks the best couscous of town") and entertains the guests in a simple but kind way. the music show is the highlight, one specific performance of gnawa was even very impressive. recommended if you want a touristic experience not canned.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MicasOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    48
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Chilled out and friendly atmosphere with delicious home cooked food.”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Can't rate this place enough!! My girlfriend and I visited this place due in the day where we were cooked some delicious tagine and couscous by the owner who lived there. We also met one of the waiters who was so friendly and introduced us to the aritist who had drawn and painted all sorts of amazing pictures. He invited us back in the evening where he and a few other friends played live traditional Moroccan music late into the night, we drank delicious homemade mint and lemonade. I highly recommend this as a place to eat and a place to go and chill out in the evening. The people who work there are some of the nicest we met in morocco!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice stay to have impressions of african music, nice food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed our evening at the cafe des arts! the people ar so kind! We eat the best tajin in Marokko. The cokking mother cooks really whit her heart. We enjoyd the lissening to the music.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a small, intimate restaurant that serves excellent food and has the added bonus of live music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gn1982_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, cheap, tasty and friendly.”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This place is a small but quirky restaurant that is very good value for money. The staff are incredibly friendly - and alternate between waiting and playing music. Food is standard Moroccan dishes - cous cous, tagines etc, and is definitely good value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Des Arts also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing