We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cute, cozy restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Des Arts

Restaurant Des Arts
Ranked #54 of 255 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Find us in the center of the old medine. Ancient times the family home, the local, still retains the essence, but you will find a different and very unique decor. Live music every night, surrounded by works of local artists. Welcoming atmosphere, you are at home. The best way to enjoy the wonderful Moroccan cuisine. Marhaba !!! Welcome!!!
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“Cute, cozy restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

After suffering though some days of bad and questionable food in Essaouira, we were glad to make a break for Cafe des Arts on this leg of our evening and sitting near the window, listen beautiful music from upstairs and enjoed the food. Food was pretty good.

Restaurant has a nice ambience due to the design of the place. Cozy and just a nice place to chill.

The decor was also really cool and interesting. In addition, the staff were all really cool and a delight to chat with, particularly Abdelwahed Elhajjam.

Thank you and see you next time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmitriy_Ilyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    46
    9
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go for the experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The food was pretty blah. But the experience and music was well worth it. The band was fun and they knew how to entertain a crowd. It was a lot of fun to watch the waiter as he alternated between waiting on tables and playing the 9ra9eb (the Darija spelling of: krakeb ... the gnaouwan cymbels.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charli246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Castilla y Leon, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing atmosphere and music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

After I had dinner with some friends I decided to return to the Hostel while they went to Cafe des Arts. As soon as I arrived at the hostel I realized it was a stupid idea and when I finally got to the bar I could hear from the street the sound of the music and the claps.
When I entered the room, about 20 people were there gather around singing and dancing, while the band played. The performers played a lot, always making sure that everyone got involved. At the end they also let me and some other guys play some intruments and sing, which was pretty cool.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luca_bueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A night to remember ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Cafe des Arts is a quaint Cafe located on Istiqlal ave. (hadada street). Twenty of us from various riads/hostels got together to take in a fantastic evening of gnawa and music of the world. The performers played for hours making sure that everyone got involved with musical instruments, with our voices and by clapping our hands. The energy was fabulous and everyone had a memorable time. A great spot to meet the lovely locals as well as other fellow travellers. Many thanks to Youssef, Rachid, Hicham and the rest of the staff. Beslama ... Amagi

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amagi_Amagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Live music and great ambiance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great (small) cosi place, great food (especially the chicken lemon tajine) and great live music from Abdul, Rachid and Yossef. Greetings, Evelien & Lode

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EvelienHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Des Arts also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant Des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing