We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good food, nice interior and warm atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Table by Madada

La Table by Madada
Ranked #11 of 252 Restaurants in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Restored carefully with respect for tradition and heritage, la 'Table Madada' is a former warehouse where the Jewish traders, "the 'kings traders", stored carob. This fruit of the carob tree, a tree in the legume family which grows in the region of Essaouira, was then exported via the port towards Europe. The seeds of the carob have a strangely regular weight, which gave the name to the unit of measure 'carat'. Its seeds but also the sap of carob tree, is nowadays used in the form of a stabilizer found in sweets and ice cream. Originally a sub-Saharan slave at the service of privileged families, the dada in time became a cook, nanny and confidante. Loved and feared at the same time, she represented the guard of the home and passed on her traditional cuisine. Some of these dadas became famous for having a particular dish.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, nice interior and warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We came upon recommendation from our hotel concierge and were in no way disappointed.
La table offered good seafood at a reasonable price. All food was well inspired and nicely decorated. If anything could be improved than it would be a whole (non filet) fish. The wine list is short and not descriptive, but the waiter was helpful to find a good local white wine. Again, the prices are very reasonable.

The atmosphere was very warm and welcoming and the staff is very talented concerning languages: besides the local languages we heard perfect English and Italian is spoken by the waiters. We brought our Baby and were assigned a well suited table for our need (room for stroller, away from the live band).
Interior design is a definite plus, as the restaurant is located in a historic building which seems to be carefully modernized. Design is Moroccon inspired, but not too folkloristic.
Overall definitely a place worth going to!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel_FTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    136
    27
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A jewel in Essaouira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We enjoyed a delicious dinner in this beautiful setting. The decor mixes a historic building with an interesting and modern Moroccan decor. The menu offered a refreshing change from the usual fare we've found in most places during our travels in this country.

Live music added to the great ambiance. It's too bad we don't have another night in Essaouira or we'd come back to dine here again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jelyapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, very friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stepped into the Madada more incidentally. The place is beautifully designed, modern, yet cosy and warm, and not the usual folkloristic stuff that you find all around Morocco.
The food was excellent, varied and unusual. The waiters and the managers are super-friendly.
We went there twice during our stay in Essaouira and stayed for quite some time because we liked the atmosphere so much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlin_WS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemmel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SIMPLY EXCELLENT !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

During our long stay in Essaouira we had dinner at La Table both as a couple several times and once with another couple from Belgium. The quality of the food, the cosy and classy environment make of this restaurant probably the best in this town. Good cuisine,efficient service and a friendly boss made for excellent moments of enjoyment. Prices higher than the average but this restaurant is not in the average league! Much better than Elizir or Al Farashah for similar prices;

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jopavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Alright in a limited sort of a way for an off night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent space with dramatic interior.
Food ok, service a little better.
Food served cold, but this is a common complaint in Morocco, they don't seem to recognise the importance of heating the plate before serving.
They don't like complaints and the owner was quick to blame the customer rather than accept that the chef may have got it wrong. The did remove the offending dishes from the bill but I don't dine out for free food just quality. I like good food but here was just average. Essaouira has better.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eat4pleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Table by Madada also viewed

Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to La Table by Madada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing